We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, friendly staff”
Review of The Tao Bali

The Tao Bali
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The TAO Bali is the first authentic Asian cuisine restaurant in the Tanjung Benoa area. It was designed to take guests through an exotic journey from the moment one enters. At The TAO Bali, we specialize in authentic Thai cuisine, however the influence of various nations can be detected. The fiery flavors of Vietnam, unique rice dishes of Indonesia and some traditional dishes from Malaysia all have a place of choice on TAO's eclectic menu. Experience the TAO and experience a world that is designed to indulge all of your senses.
australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Lovely location, friendly staff”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Great location overlooking the beach, very friendly staff, fresh tasty Thai food. Well priced only criticism would be smallish portions.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ascAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    60
    15
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nice Ambiance”
Reviewed June 14, 2011

What a lovely restaurant openning out onto the beach with nice service and reasonable food.
We visited this restaurant due to reviews on here and it was a pleasant experience.
The food was served in small proportions and was OK.
I wouldnt rush back but the atmosphere was great. We were there for dinner and the hotel arranged pickup and drop off through the restaurant for a group of 8 which was much appreciated.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank perthguy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Go for Dinner not during the day”
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Spent Easter Sunday lunch there, it is a very nice setting and the entrees were very nice but for a place that is over looking the ocean the flies were terrible as the main course arrived our food was just getting covered by the flies and it could not be eaten. I believe that if you go there after dark it would be worth while as the food and wine was good.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding.....”
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Situated in Tanjung Benoa/Nusa Dua, a beautiful and sophisticated restaurant serving some of the best Thai food I have enjoyed outside of Thailand.

This restaurant has a beautiful ambience, is exquisitely decorated, with white linen tablecloths, a ceiling to gaze at, and stunning flower arrangements.

The wait staff are extraordinarily helpful, offering all sorts of suggestions for the meals our children might enjoy, to the extent of suggesting the pad thai maybe more appealing for the children if cooked with soy sauce rather than fish sauce.

A winner! Needless to say in our 16 night vacation we dined here three times.
All the dishes we had here were superb. Full of the flavours of fresh Thai food, and the presentation they do so beautifully. This is all very reasonably priced, and by Australian standards this was a cheap night out for such magnificent food in such a beautiful restaurant.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KATALAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the hype ... don't waste your time or your money”
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We had an absolutely atrocious evening at the restaurant. Service was extraordinarily slow, the staff was extremely rude, unapologetic and unattentive. Half the items we ordered were not available, including iced tea and chicken satay. How do you run out of iced tea? Food was not authentic Thai food either - it is catered to tourist tastes. So, don't waste your time or your money at this place. Bumbu Bali down the road has phenomenal local cusine (and they will pick you up for free).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoya1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tao Bali also viewed

Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to The Tao Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing