We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was very good, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kalyves
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our room was excellent, nicely decorated and spacious. The sea near the hotel was very nice and awarded with a blue flag, and the ducks were fun to watch.
I really liked the hotel, everything was fine, but the WiFi connection really got into my nerves. The hotel had free WiFi all over, but that meant that for every 2 minutes connected, there was half an hour disconnected, and my antivirus also gave me a warning about the safety of the network.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewClearTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalyvesBeach, Manager at Kalyves Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent review of Kalyves Beach Hotel.
Please note that your comments are very valuable for us in order to improve on quality and service.
Would like to inform, that we have updated the Wi Fi facilities so in all common areas plus rooms, there will be good speed free Wi Fi.
We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again at our hotel.

Best regards,
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
There are newer reviews for Kalyves Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 615 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have been to Crete many times, but I didn't know there was such a lovely place near Chania. Kalyves is a small village with a few shops and tavernas. Anywhere you go the food is excellent and quite cheap. Try Mitsios grill. The hotel's location is perfect for families or for people they want peace and quiet.It is right on the beach!! You can even order your drinks from the hotel's bar on the beach. The beach is beautiful with lovely clean waters. I was amazed by the fact that the river flows into the sea.They gave us a renovated room on the side sea view which it was nice and spacious. There was a kettle and tea in the room which is very convenient if you have small kids or a baby to make their milk. The staff was really friendly. Hello Anna!! Anything you asked, you had it. The bus to Chania passes just outside the hotel. The best thing was the scenery..the mountains around, the trees on the beach...the nature. These five days with my family couldn't be better! Thank you all there! I will be back soon!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Supertamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalyvesBeach, Manager at Kalyves Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent review of Kalyves Beach Hotel.

Thanks for your feedback and the reviews of many others, we here at Kalyves Beach Hotel are able to constantly monitor our services and amenities in order to provide the best quality holiday experience for all our gests.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your pleasant stay in our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in Summer Season 2014 in Kalyves Beach Hotel.

Best Regards,
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The location of this hotel is spot-on, the breakfast is really great, but that's about it. You are in the center of the village, right on the beach, and a stone's throw from numerous tavernas and restaurants, shops and galleries.

The rooms are pretty small for what you pay. We didn't manage to figure out how to control the air-conditioning. We had a room in the wing across the road from the main building where reception is located. The decor was a bit tired (and I hate plastic flowers), but everything was clean. There were problems with the WI-FI internet in our rooms, and we mostly had to go to the public areas of the hotel to get good reception.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the sea or the river.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dvoireh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalyvesBeach, Manager at Kalyves Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent review of Kalyves Beach Hotel.
Please note that your comments are very valuable for us in order to improve on quality and service.
Please note that all the hotel is fully renovated for season 2014 and rooms are updated.
Also we have updated the Wi Fi facilities so in common areas plus rooms, there will be good speed free Wi Fi.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in Kalyves Beach Hotel.

Best Regards,
The managment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel several times, always friendly, kind and welcoming to the family. We got a great updated room with a lovely view. The staff here are really exceptionally helpful, and try their very best to ensure a great stay. Hopefully they will upgrade the whole hotel over time so the standard of rooms is fabulous everywhere .
The pools are great and the facilities good, beachfront location is wonderful.
The food is simple but there is usually something Greek and this is always the best choice!
We would come every year if we could get the right sort of flights!

Room Tip: Front or side sea view are the nicest , on the river side have a tendency to be mosquito ish!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalyvesBeach, Manager at Kalyves Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent review of Kalyves Beach Hotel.

Thanks for your feedback and the reviews of many others, we here at Kalyves Beach Hotel are able to constantly monitor our services and amenities in order to provide the best quality holiday experience for all our gests.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your pleasant stay in our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in Summer Season 2014 in Kalyves Beach Hotel.

Best Regards,
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a great holiday in kalyves beach hotel.It has great location right next to the beach in the center of kalyves.Breakfast was exellent,rooms were cleaned every day,staff was very friendly.we truly rekommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Volvom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very nice hotell and very nice small, small village. Several very good restaurants along the seaside.
Nice breakfast at the hotell and very friendly and heltpull staff there. Everything was clean all the time ,- also toilets during the day.
This is the perfect stay for realaxing,swimming and enjoy holiday. If you need more sound,- just 15-20 min with a taxi to Chania centrum. The sunbeds are also free witch is great !
I absolutely recomand this place and this hotel.
The furniture are abit 80`th :-)

Room Tip: The suits are large and sunny. Partly seawiew is very nice...you will not have the sun directly
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ingeborgStavanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalyvesBeach, Manager at Kalyves Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your feedback and the reviews of many others, we here at Kalyves Beach Hotel are able to constantly monitor our services and amenities in order to provide the best quality holiday experience for all our gests.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your pleasant stay in our hotel.
Please note that all the hotel is fully renovated for season 2014 and rooms are updated.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in Summer Season 2014 in Kalyves Beach Hotel.

Best Regards,
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

On tour by car in the western part of Crete we stayed at the Kalyves Beach Hotel at the beginning of June for two nights. We've been there a year before for only one night and as we've been very satisfied there we came back again at this wonderful resort for our next short stay in this area. We were allocated in a new and comfortable Blue Room with very nice sea view, a/c, tea & coffee making facilities and so we felt very well there. We had have a bed & halfboard arrangement and we've been also very pleased and satisfied with food and beverage and of course with the friendly and courteos staff, also at reception. If one time we would came back to western Crete we'll not hesitate to come back to Kalyves Beach Hotel and so we can really recommend this nice and charming resort to everybody!

Room Tip: The socalled Blue Room is very nice
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stucki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalyves
9.5 mi away
Erodios Apartments
Erodios Apartments
#4 of 6 in Kalyves
33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Suites
Sunrise Suites
#2 of 6 in Kalyves
184 reviews
21.8 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive
0.6 mi away
Christi Apartments
Christi Apartments
#5 of 6 in Kalyves
17 reviews
1.4 mi away
Langley Resort Almirida Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalyves Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalyves Beach Hotel

Address: Apokoronas, Crete 73003, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Kalyves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kalyves
Price Range: $75 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalyves Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalyves Beach Hotel is located by the beach, next to the river "Xydas" in the heart of Kalyves, a traditional village in Chania. Our location combines the crystal clear waters of our award winning blue flag beach, with the green beauty of surrounding Greek nature. Our hotel is the ideal starting point for a wide range of surrounding destinations, from archaeological sites, to traditional villages, nearby beaches or shopping areas. Start your day with our buffet breakfast on our veranda just a stone’s throw from the water. In the evening, enjoy a romantic candlelight dinner with wine at our open-air Buffet Restaurant, with a spectacular view of the Cretan Sea.During the day, let your children splash in the shallow sea water or pool, while you sunbathe and surf our free WiFi, and in the afternoon enjoy memorable sunsets with a cocktail in hand. The unique location, its decor, together with the impeccable service of our staff create a warm atmosphere throughout. Make your dream vacations come true at Kalyves Beach Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kalyves Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalives Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing