We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not the best”
Review of Kritiko Restaurant

Kritiko Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 34 Restaurants in Kalyves
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good but not the best”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We visited this restaurant once while on holiday in Kalyves. We waited almost 45 minutes before we got a drink many people were walking out sick of waiting. Bread and water automaticaly put on the table which you pay for even if you request not to have it, the food when it finally arrived was good but beware the meat portions are very large. My husband asked for a pork chop he got 2 very large ones, myself I had chicken in wine and honey sauce which was delicious.
All in all we had a good meal a bit more expensive than other restaurants in Kalyves but hey ho we are on holiday.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dozm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    47
    19
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Crete”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Pleasant and peaceful beachfront setting, and excellent food. The service was unusually quick for Crete, and our food choices (lamb shank and swordfish) were excellent. I'd definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ukpwat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

restaurant on the beach, with pretty gardens and outsize chess set. Good selection of food, and good service (English spoken!)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PatF190730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dine by the moonlit sea”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have been going to Kritikos as a group for many years now. A warm welcome, a stunning location and as much local cooking as you can devour in one sitting always prevail. This restaurant has a fine cook leading the way in the kitchen and - unlike other reviewers - we have been furnished with the finest typically Cretian food, whether it be mouthwatering salads, crispy yet succulent wood fired pork, fish stews, and some very welcome ice cold beers. This is not fine dining as it is Kalyves, Crete. But this is fine cooking using local ingredients at a reasonable price. Service can be "local" in its speed but why rush. You can always partake in a game of chess whilst you wait for desert. Personally I would recommend this to anyone visiting Kalyves. Maybe if you pop in during the day, chat to Kristos, discover the speciality of the night, and then return that evening you may have a warm welcome and a great dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok, but not brilliant”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Nice setting, well cooked and presented food. Limited menu. Mussels excellent. Service slow. As previous review, water and bread not ordered but on table and charged for (€5). Overall ok but not as good as Piperia or as good value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trish1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kritiko Restaurant also viewed

Kalyves, Apokoronas
Kalyves, Apokoronas
 
Kalyves, Apokoronas
Kalyves, Apokoronas
 

Been to Kritiko Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing