We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience”
Review of Koumos

Koumos
Ranked #4 of 34 Restaurants in Kalyves
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: An original museum from stone that started being built in 1990 using bulk stones from th Lefka Ori. A harmonius union of nature and traditions of Crete,of yesterday and today. Share important moments of your life(Weddings,Christenings,Engagements,Birthdays) with your friends and loved ones and only tradiotional and contemporary dishes.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What an experience”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

You must not go to Kalyves without visiting this man made village designed just like a traditional village and made out or stones, roots, gourds and all sorts of other material. it is free to walk around but they ask that you buy a drink there, This is a small price to pay. we have been back several times and always see something different. I understand it was made by the olive farmer whose land it is on. It is up the hillside just outside Kalyves and is within walking distance if you are fit and do not head of at the hottest part of the day. he has built the most beautiful small chapel where services are held. I have seen nothing quite like it,
We have never eaten there although we have seen parties of Local people eating there.
Views to die for,

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank KCHx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    47
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We were staying in Kalyves for two weeks in the summer. We stumbled across this beautiful little taverna whilst walking through the olive groves near to our villa in Kalyves and we were amazed with what we found.
Tucked away, submerged in olive groves is this beautiful, traditional Greek taverna. As well as being a restaurant serving all Greek food, it is also a sort of museum which was very interesting to take a look around. Wonderful atmosphere in the evenings. We spent almost every evening in this extraordinary place.
Would deffinatly recommend if you are a lover of Greek cuisine and eccentric attractions.

Helpful?
3 Thank 20Finny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Area made of small stonens by one man!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Amazing place! Go and be amazed!!!! Restaurant and accomodation in an unique surroundings. This place is nesr Kalyves, easy to go there by car.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ninza1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A museum with souvlaki”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

It was almost a year since our visit to Koumos which is Greek for a small stone hut built as a refuge for shepherds many years ago. It is situated on high ground from where one can admire the surrounding views. The grounds are full of reminders of the local agricultural past with many interesting exhibits to attract the customers. The food was standard type Cretan fare nourishing but not exceptionally attractive. One might think it is a 'tourist trap' however there was a large number of locals enjoying themselves.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Iraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Traditional Cretan place to eat”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I really like traditional cretan plates, so I enjoy this place. The decoration and the whole atmosphere reminds you from a life in a cretan village.
I totaly recommend it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivianne_Strataki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koumos also viewed

Kalyves, Apokoronas
Kalyves, Apokoronas
 
Kalyves, Apokoronas
 
Kalyves, Apokoronas
 

Been to Koumos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing