We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing holiday”
Review of GK Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalyves
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
GK Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have just returned from a holiday in Crete, staying at GK Beach Hotel. This is the second time we have visited GK Beach this year because we just love the peaceful, quite location and the friendly staff at the Hotel. We have stayed in 6M and 7M which are both lovely but 7M (Kolatsos suite) is the one we prefer. The beds are very comfortable and GK Beach is one of the few Hotels where we don’t suffer from backache by the third day.
GK Beach is small family run Hotel and all the staff really tried to make our stay comfortable, from providing pashminas for the ladies when it gets colder at night, sharing local knowledge and providing advice on places to visit.
Breakfast is provided and there was always a great selection to choose from including fresh coffee, fruit, a hot selection and the owners own local yoghurt and honey and home made sweets.
The sandy beach is quiet with sunbeds and shades reserved for guests it feels more like a private beach but this was in September and not sure if this would be the case in August.
Kalyves is a small town with a great choice of tavernas (about a 15 min walk from GK Beach) and an ideal location for visiting other places in Western Crete.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 128 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

We came back to GK Beach with Simpson for a 2nd year after having such a lovely time last year. Nice family run hotel where everyone tries to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We arrived late but where met a one am and shown to our room. Nice evening drink introduction to owners. Simple Greek breakfast is superb with lots of local produce. Quite almost private beach with dedicated loungers. Clean well decorated rooms have a simple sense of style. You always feel well looked after and able to relax.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mikem0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised. Had a nightmare getting there with Monarch so if you have another option, take it! Hotel put a gorgeous salad and a bottle of wine in everyone's rooms as we only got there late in the evening.Great service, great location. Pics don't do it justice.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PipForbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Having just come back from this hotel, I re-read the one complaining review. We were in 2M and could see the back of the restaurant - but no bins, just a view of the sea and the gardens. The bathroom was a good size, and spotless. There was certainly light from the outside, which made it easier to find the loo in the night, but if it had bothered us we would have asked for a curtain. The little kitchen was ideal for preparing bread and cheese and fruit for lunch on the balcony, and the provision of coffee etc for the morning drink in bed was ideal. I personally don't like a fridge in the bedroom - the on/off noise is irritating when trying to sleep, but it is common in Crete and unless you put it in the bathroom, what can you do? A fridge is necessary to keep cold drinks etc. I will certainly be going back - a 5 minute stroll to the supermarket, 15 minutes slow potter to Kalyves (rural road partway, but not unpleasant), English speaking taxis (we carried one driver's card with us, so we could ring him), buses to Chania - who needs a car? And so quiet, right on the beach, even a little river to dip into. Wow!

Room Tip: Some rooms on the ground floor near the pool would be lovely with children. if you like it quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PatF190730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

GK Beach hotel was a lovely hotel, now run under the Simpsons' brand, which is all about quality, but good value. We loved the location - small hotel, well presented bedrooms with lounge area and air-conditioning, then a view over the gardens to the pool and restaurant, then finally the sandy beach, where allocated sun loungers meant no battle in the morning!
The staff were all excellent, particular reference to Harvey, Ray, Anne and Sarah... all very attentive but not intrusive. The local town of Kalyves provided a good range of tavernas, within walking distance, altho' beware the road at night.... but as always take care, be sensible, no problem! A really great spot for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms had a view to the sea.... ground floor were generally good for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rwarri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

A lovely restful hotel, with no traffic noise. Its right on the beach with good food, great hospitality and a lovely pool. Kalyves nearby is a working Cretan village with plenty of tavernas to choose between.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

there's a lot of contradictions with this hotel. The pool area is very nice, as is the beach very nearby. The lunchtime food is totally acceptable.
The staff are delightful. But...
The rooms are very poor for the money. Tiny bathroom that you cannot fit two people in. A rickety shower cubicle that is so small it must have been designed with for people of Gandhi's physique. I thought the used toilet paper in a box went away in the 1980's. A tiny wardrobe.
Whilst the waiters were charming, there were simply not enough of them so service is very poor on some days.
I guess the problem is that you arrive in anticipation of The Hilton only to find Premier Inn.

Room Tip: Enquire if some have larger bathrooms than others. Take the larger bathroom - Trust me, you'll b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matthewshreeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalyves hotels
1.1 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kalyves
693 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunrise Suites
Sunrise Suites
#3 of 6 in Kalyves
191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dimitra Studios
Dimitra Studios
#1 of 27 in Kalyves
150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Christi Apartments
Christi Apartments
#4 of 6 in Kalyves
23 reviews
0.8 mi away
Koulouris Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GK Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GK Beach Hotel

Address: Apokoronas, Crete, Greece (Formerly Galazio-Kyma Villas)
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Kalyves
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Kalyves
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly known as the Galazio Kima Apartments, GK is now a small, intimate hotel and its friendly owners take great pleasure in ensuring that guests experience the very best of Cretan hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
GK Beach Hotel Kalyves, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing