We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb mini-break”
Review of GK Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalyves
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
GK Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We bid for a two-night break at a charity auction and were fortunate to be the winning bid. We live here in Crete. We had to rearrange the dates at the last minute which was not a problem for the office staff. The hotel offered first-class accommodation with perhaps the best bed we have ever slept in. Shame we could not take it home with us. Above all, the service received from all the staff could not have been bettered. Breakfast was great and just what the doctor ordered after a late night at the bar. We took advantage of the spa with a massage each which were fantastic, particularly liking the hot stones, which we had not tried before. On our subsquent visits they still remember us and make us feel very welcome. We would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: 5M was good for us with a great view of the sand and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 128 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic week at the GK hotel. The location, scenery, service and food at the hotel were excellent.We had a top floor suite with wonderful views of the sea and hills.
It is a very peaceful place,the grounds well maintained with beautiful plants and flowers. All the staff were so helpful and friendly. Special mention for hotel manager Harvey who made sure everything ran smoothly, was even spotted cleaning the sun loungers first thing one morning and was a fantastic help when we had our bag stolen from our car at Aptera.
Also a very nice gesture was the bottle of champagne on our arrival wishing us a happy anniversary. We have returned very relaxed and would have no hesitation going back to this hotel or booking another holiday with Simpson Travel.
Gina and Jim. Hertfordshire.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

As other reviewers have put this hotel totally meets expectations and the photos on their site are completely accurate. What a wonderful place.

We visited in early September with our young daughter and had a fantastic holiday. We stayed in a ground floor suite which was ideal for for a small family. There is a bedroom of very reasonable size, with fantastic wardrobe space and storage, easily accommodating a zed bed or a cot, with blackout blinds, an en suite bathroom, with more storage (very helpful) and a living room with a comfy settee and a small kitchen area which was very handy, fridge, sink and a plug in hob, all the crockery and cuttlery you would need. We were provided with a high chair and baby bath both in good condition. We were so impressed because on our booking we asked for both a cot and a zed bed as we didn't know which she would sleep in (she's 3, quite tall and quite opinionated!) Our flight was delayed and we got there very late, both items were in the room, she selected the cot (continental travel cots are far larger than UK ones FYI) we went for dinner and when we returned the zed bed was gone and the room was pristine again!! This was the level of service that continued throughout the holiday. Exemplary. The staff of both GK beach and Simpsons were all helpful, polite, friendly and committed to giving us a great holiday. It's been a long time since I could genuinely say that everybody working in a place were all brilliant. The house keeping was brilliant, in the room and around the resort. The food was lovely, massive portions, good quality. The buffet breakfast was outstanding, easily the best we've had anywhere.

The hotel is located on a very nice beach and the pool is lovely. The hotel was completely full but the common areas never felt full or crowded, always enough beds on the beach or around the pool so there was no stress, you could do what you like and drift between the two. The gardens are fantastic, beautifully maintained and really add to the ambience.

I had a massage in the spa which was excellent. Really nice atmosphere and a good massage to boot! Full body for £40 so good value too. Thank-you Stelios!

The hotel is five mins walk from a good supermarket and a couple of Tavernas and twenty mins from Kalyves centre. We ate in Kritiko which was nice, good location, child friendly but a little pricey. The the next night we ate at Provlita. Never ate anywhere else!! Fabulous food, great warm welcome, wonderful family run Taverna, so reasonably priced it was amazing!

A great hotel for relaxation and having family fun. Almost want to keep it a secret. Planning to go back next year.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea, all are quiet. We enjoyed the ground floor as we weren't worried about t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReviewerII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

First holiday on our own for years without children and outside the school holidays. We went the day the UK schools went back in September. We asked for sun, sea, sand, comfort, peace, quiet, good food and relaxation...and we got all of it and more.

I can also imagine it being a brilliant place to take the kids. It's safe, clean and very friendly.

We cannot recommend this highly enough and the tour operators, Simpson Travel, who looked after us every inch of the way from enquiry to follow up once we were home. Excellent service from an exceptional company in a wonderful location. Sorry it's a bit gushy but it's my first relaxing holiday in years and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: First floor suites give a great view of the beach and sea and sitting on the balcony reading is a jo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We decided to book one week in a luxury hotel anywhere in Europe. In the end it was a choice between 4 / 5 * hotels or something a little more 'tasteful' - hence the choice of GK beach. This is the only place I ever been to where the photographs do not do it justice. There was obviously so much focus on detail, right down to Hotels monogram in pillow cases. It was clean, quiet and so friendly - staff wanted to help ...you never felt that they were just 'doing their job'.

We hired a car and drove through the Amari Valley from West to East - this drive gives you a true perspective of Crete.

Of course it is on our list of places to return to ....

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea - we chose a higher room which was great to see the changining morning and ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

You have only to read all the reviews to know this is a top spot .Perfect location, very comfortable rooms, charming and very helpful staff and a chef who produces excellent food. We had 2 weeks here with our teenage boys and we all gave it 10/10. Kalives is less than half an hour from Chania and 45 minutes from Rethymno both of which are quite special. Although very vibrant in the evenings they have a magic about them in the mornings before the rush starts. Its also a good base for other exploring. Impossible to fault!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jezza8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Thank you very much for our lovely holidays, excellent location and breakfast, best bed I have slept in Greece!! Harvey was so helpful, would recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank eirianbetws-y-coed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalyves hotels
1.1 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kalyves
692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive
0.5 mi away
Christi Apartments
Christi Apartments
#4 of 6 in Kalyves
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Koulouris Studios & Apartments
0 mi away
Kalyves Bay Seaside Apartments
0.9 mi away
Erodios Apartments
Erodios Apartments
#5 of 6 in Kalyves
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GK Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GK Beach Hotel

Address: Apokoronas, Crete, Greece (Formerly Galazio-Kyma Villas)
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Kalyves
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Kalyves
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly known as the Galazio Kima Apartments, GK is now a small, intimate hotel and its friendly owners take great pleasure in ensuring that guests experience the very best of Cretan hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
GK Beach Hotel Kalyves, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing