We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accommodation great...But...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Troulos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Rosa Apartments
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Troulos
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Accommodation great...But...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

Accommodation is lovely, great location for beach, tavernas, bus etc. The lady who cleans works tirelessly. But, the family often make you feel in the way of them, and are not big on customer service. The pool bar, advertised as open 8 am - 4pm is closed, we did not know this before we booked. Often there is a family member around, and although they help themselves to drinks, they refuse to serve guests. Early evening brings more family to the closed bar, where an elderly man puts the tv on pretty much full blast with sport/news, and sits watching this, then along comes the chef, and puts his music into competition with the tv. The result is a very noisy unwelcoming pool bar area with no thought for the paying guests. The Villa Rosa was full, so were many other establishments, so this really should not be classed as low season, and all services run down. Very poor. Would go here again, if a family who were interested in guest service took over.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rosies21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    35
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
85
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

Great location,freindly and clean.pool was great and the staff were brill.
Possibilly too quiet for some people ie the very young(teens).
Food good ,beware the pesky mosquitos!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing Sussex
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

My Wife and I stayed for 2 weeks at the Villa Rosa with Thomson. We had read previous reviews and it sounded just what we like- I disregarded some of the negatives. We are both mid 50's- maybe gives a clue as to what we want on holiday.
I have to say the owner Marcos and his family are extremely friendly and lovely people- nothing is too much trouble and Marcos cooking is superb.
I must agree with some of the comments regarding the spacious room but in respect of the showers - they are the worst we have experienced in Greece both in respect of any head of power or the reliability of getting hot water.
We had a couple of cloudy mornings so simply forget the likelihood of the water being more than 'off cold' - when the sun shone no problem- but do turn on the tap about 3-4 minutes before you want to get the water arriving hot! Clearly the supply pipes and header pressure are very small/low, you would get more power out of a watering can!The bedding was also disappointingly changed only once during a 2 week stay. That is probably sufficient at home but when you are getting hot/sandy/sun lotioned- I would like to see at least an interim change each week as was the case for the towels, though not the tea towel. The cleaner who maintained all the apartments and pool area works hard but she does not dust/wipe anything if there are items left on it. Our shower room vanity shelf was not wiped down once, even where there was nothing on it. The swimming pool is a good size and well maintained by Papa. There are plenty of sun beds which are comfortable and with plenty of shade from the lemon trees and brollies.
Please dont be put off however- its peaceful, well located away from the main coast road convenient for Troulos Beach and Bus Stop 18. Such that we would use the Villa Rosa again if we revisted Skiathos due to the positives far outweighing the negatives.
The buses have to be the most reliable anywhere in Greece. Eu1.80 to town. If the bus is full there is sure to be a taxi sweeping up- just behind and if you share its about Eu8 total for the taxi for all passengers.
If you hire a car, as we did, make it a 4x4, our first time and the right decision on this island- its small but there is much to see that you simply cannot do in a car. If we went back it would be at a similar time of year just for one week for simple rest and relaxation and some beautiful beaches and people. The island is small and there are no other villages or towns other than Skiathos town, lovely as that is night and day, you dont have any other options available and for 2 weeks we found that a shame though we were well aware before we went and really wanted a good rest and nice beaches and we got them.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sussexmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

As with most Greek self-catering apartments, they are reasonably basic but clean and homely enough. The pool was always clean and not too crowded. We liked the fact that flights to Skiathos are great times of day, so we arrived by lunchtime and were straight in the pool for the rest of the afternoon on the 1st day!

The apartments are family run and staff were excellent! Really friendly & helpful and the restaurant attached to the apartments has a great reputation..... I can vouch that it lives up to it too. Lovely food. We love trying different restaurents every night but found the food here to be one of the best we tried...... even compared to some on the harbour front in Skiathos town. (Can't remember names now, but just choose wisely in the main town).

Troulos beach is also gorgeous and is about 15 min walk from the apts, which doesn't bother us at all. Plenty of gorgeous beaches to choose from in Skiathos. You can't go wrong. We left our kids with Nanny & Grandad for this hol but we loved it and would return with the kids any day..... (a little too expensive this year!)

Only negative is, the apts may be too boring for children.... I think there was only 1 child there when we visited and no children's pool.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghostlybride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

Excellant restaurant, Markos usually does well, we felt the menu needs to be changed a bit, although there are usually two specials added each night.
The only down side we found was the accomodation was too close to the the eatery and if an early night was wanted there was usually some bar noise to be heard.
Yes, this is Greece, hot water, loo paper etc, but a little updating would not amiss as the upper floor had hot water whereas the bottom rarely did.

Helpful?
1 Thank keith47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

Just came back from 2 weeks at Villa Rosa, it was fantastic the food was so good we ate there for the majority of the stay, the rooms were nice and clean, met some great people around the pool too, George was lovely and made great cocktails ( which were very strong)!! The island is amazing the beaches were stunning especially the sunsets if you want a relaxing stay this is the place for you, its just a short bus ride away from skiathos town for those of you who want more faster pace. I am already booking to go back to villa rosa next year. Amazing

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helcat83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

having been going to skiathos every year for the last 15 years and experienced many accomodations, i think we are in an ideal position to to make a objective comment on vila rosa.
1/ rooms very clean, but 3 or4 ground floor rooms right on top of the pool with no privacey at all and noisey at night with the bar, brochure does not show this.These need to be allocated to the right people who will not mind this.
2/ food very good
3/ showers the poorest we have ever had. the tanks are on the ground and have no pump, so pressure is non existant. It is even difficult to get the soap out of your hair.
4/ with a little effort these could be improved, and I cannot understand why there has been no comment on this as they are appaling. Most tanks in greece are on the roof giving a good head of water and a reasonable shower
sorry villa rosa but we are telling it how it is

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woody35Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troulos
0.7 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.9 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#6 of 88 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel
1.1 mi away
Theodora Studios
Theodora Studios
#2 of 6 in Kolios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#1 of 1 in Katsarou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rosa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa Apartments

Property: Villa Rosa Apartments
Address: Troulos 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Troulos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Troulos
Number of rooms: 261
Also Known As:
Villa Rosa Apartments Hotel Troulos
Hotel Rosa Apartments
Villa Rosa Apartments Skiathos/Troulos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing