We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Troulos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Rosa Apartments
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troulos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

How do you write an objective review of somewhere you love...I shall try. So Villa Rosa apartments are classed as two star plus which I think is fair, the studios themselves are typically Greek, so everything you need but the usual basic bathrooms etc.. Nice balconies some semi shared with views either of the pool or garden area depending on which apartments you are in.
The garden view apartments are probably slightly quieter in the evenings. Air con is payable locally ( about 6 euros per night) we have never needed it but tend to go late May early June so benefit from slightly cooler temperatures.
The studios grounds are full of flowers and fruit trees and are kept very clean and pretty. The pool is good size and has very comfy sun beds, it tends to be blissfully quiet during the day. The beach at Troulos is a 10 min walk away, sun beds there are 8 euros for 2 and the beach has some nice lunch time taverna options.
Just across the road from Villa Rosa is a small supermarket so you don't have to go far for essentials. If you want to venture further you can wander down to the bus stop and head for Skiathos town or some of the other beaches for 2 euros per person. If you are lucky you may well be scooped up by a passing taxi for just a couple of euros more, although a taxi is dearer if booked or taken from rank in Skiathos town.
Villa Rosa has a wonderful taverna with really good food and a fabulous friendly atmosphere. We have made some lovely friends here, and many people return year after year, not least because of Markos' cooking. Markos is the owner of the apartments and a complete superstar and his wife Rania and brother in law George are fab too.
So if you want a welcoming atmosphere, good food, relaxing days and peaceful evenings then this could be the place for you. Have fun if you do go!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank rydpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 131 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

Fourth visit to Villa Rosa in four years. That tells you something. We cannot fault it. The family have become friends and welcomr us with hugs and kissed. They will do anything for you if you ask politely. The rooms are basic but nice and Margerita, who cleans the rooms is one of the hardest working people I know, keeping everything spotless.
Ranya, Marcus, George and all the family have a wonderful sense of humour and will join in the fun when they have time During the moring Marcus is busy preparing all the fresh ingredients for the evening meals. He is also now doing a limited lunch menu. Try the Pitta Chicken and the Greek Salad, made with his own olives and olice oil. He dos take a rest at 3pm but the bar is left open so you can get a beer or soft drink. Just tell them later. The family never go to bed before the last guest has retired, which is normally gone midnight, well it is when we are there.
The majority of people who stay there are of like minds. The villa Rosa is a place for people who like excellent food, Clean surroundings and above all else the companionship of a truely wonderful Greek family and making new friends who stay friends for ever.
WE WILL BE BACK NEXXT YEAR

Room Tip: Only 14 rooms most of which overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janet p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

After reading all the excellant reviews on T.A. we booked the Villa Rosa for our 1st holiday in Skiathos. We were shown to our room by George who is a nice and helpful lad, our room was faultless and was cleaned 12 days out of 14, air con is a must at 6 euros a day do not sleep with the doors ajar you will get eaten alive by the mossies. We went down to the bar for a drink - a large and small mythos was 7 euro 50 elsewhere 2 large mythos average 5 euros. The pool is small but adequate, the sunbeds are very comfy and if you want absolute peace and quiet this is the place to be - interacting between staff and guests is virtually non existant during the day and no soft background music just complete silence. At Christakis next door we found it was better value for a drink and was treated like old friends. We got the feeling the Villa Rosa's priorities were for the evening restaurant rather than the day time pool scene. The legendary bus route is a godsend as it means you can visit all the great beaches like Koukounaries which is the best, Troulos beach is also nice but the sand is coarser, both have taverners on them. There are some lovely restaurants for that evening meal in Troulos including Nectar & Ambrosia being the best, then Sunrise taverna, Captain Nikos, Villa Rosa and Ratatouille. Salt & Pepper is a bit more upmarket and more expensive and you have to book but the meal is no better than elsewhere. Skiathos town is great to walk round with the harbour and the little streets and loads of places to eat and drink. The Old Port House, run by an English couple is a great place to start and has a great atmosphere - 2 euros for a large mythos before 9pm 2.50 euros after. We went on two boat trips one around the island and one to Skopelos on the Poseidon which were excellent. On your last day at the Villa Rosa you have to vacate your room at 10am and cannot keep your room on and there is no showering facilities which is a pain if you have a late flight home. We could have used showering facilities at Christakis but we used the Villa Maria just up the road. Everyone we met said they had been to Skiathos six or seven times and I can see why we will definately be back sooner or later but doubt it will stay at the Villa Rosa again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mysunnyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just returned from 11 nights at the villa rosa. Excellent apartments great owners and spotlessly clean. Marcos cooks the best garlic mushrooms ever and all his other food is delicious. Went to Skiathos town and found a great little English bar called The Old Port house great little meeting place. Had a few meals one place stood out called 1901 food was best i have ever tasted.also went to Palouki next to 1901 great value mixed grill for 2 with Greek salad starter only 22Euro for 2 already booked again for next year .

Room Tip: We had room 13 which was a pool view no complaints great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra195723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Villa Rosa. We were greeted on arrival and showed to our room immediately. The hotel itself is really quiet and peaceful - you could actually hear a pin drop when everyone was sat around the pool. I didn't dare speak! We are in our late 20's/early 30's and were the youngest by far. However, it was nice and relaxing and the place is so pretty with lots of fresh lemon trees and colourful flowers.
Markos the chef was very good and we ate there 3 times out of 7! George the waiter made our holiday - he was so friendly (think he was pleased to see some other young people!) and was telling us all about his upcoming wedding and how Greek weddings are celebrated etc. He loves to talk about England - just ask him about Primark!
The room was clean and comfortable, no air con needed. The one complaint I have is the shower being cold a few times, but we figured out it's due to the solar power - so wait til the sun has been blazing a couple of hours and you will be fine.

Tips: The red light outside your door is activated when you put the key in the slot inside, it's to indicate to the maid that you are in so she won't enter! So if one of you goes out, leave the key in the slot if the other is still inside.
The beach is very close and the bus is so easy to use - 2 euros a ticket. Go to Koukanaris beach and Skiathos town - and do a boat trip. There is an excursions office on the front where we booked a day trip, 15 euros each for all day (compared to the Thomson one at 32 it's a no brainer!).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hotelbuff_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The number of people who return to the Villa Rosa are evidence of the special place that this is. Guests can expect a warm welcome from Markos and his family. The small complex is well maintained with comfortable, clean rooms (thanks to Magdalena) set around the pool and gardens.
The taverna is superb, with meals prepared and cooked by Markos from family recipes. Rania and George keep the front of house running smoothly. With father(Apostolis) keeping the pool and gardens clean and tidy this really is a family concern.
We always meet some lovely people staying in this small friendly complex and are already planning the next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trichrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

After spending 10 days at this hotel, for the first time in my life I will go back to the same place! Markos and Rania are two of the most welcoming hosts you could meet. Together with George there is nothing they wont do for you. The accommodation is spotless and the pool area and bar are stunning. None of the rooms are too far away from the pool so you get a beautiful view each time you wake up. The food in the restaurant is gorgeous and Markos's recipes stand out from the rest of the area - you will get food here that you wont get anywhere on the island. It is authentic greek cooking with a twist. I can honestly say that my friend and I had one of the best holidays we have had in a little bit of paradise. Thank you Villa Rosa for giving us some lovely memories with some wonderful people. We were also lucky enough to meet some really lovely people also staying there which gave the whole holiday an extra feeling to it. Laugher rings out from the hotel at all time due to the small nature of the accommodation. Big hotels - never again.

Room Tip: No room is too far from the pool area so perfect morning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikNik18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troulos
0.9 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#2 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
974 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
513 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Korali
Hotel Korali
#35 of 84 in Skiathos
91 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rosa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa Apartments

Address: Troulos 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Troulos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troulos
Number of rooms: 261
Also Known As:
Villa Rosa Apartments Hotel Troulos
Hotel Rosa Apartments
Villa Rosa Apartments Skiathos/Troulos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing