We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views”
Review of La Luna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Luna Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Troulos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic views”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have just returned from 2 weeks at la Luna and had a fantastic stay. Could not believe the views from the room sea views straight ahead and lush green hills to the left and right.
Newly refurbished pool area and lifts from the road side to pool area and the from pool area to reception.
Ideally placed for getting the bus into Skiathos town turn right out of the hotel and within a few minutes you are at bus stop 21 or left to bus stop 20.
A 20 -30 minute stroll depending on your walking pace will find you at
Koukanaries beach and 5-10 minutes Troulos beach.
Despite the Rooms being a bit dated they are by far the best we have stayed in in Greece
To catch the last bit of sun you can always take your chairs out the back of your apartment, peaceful and sheltered
Plenty of restaurants with in walking distance had lovely meals at Ratatouie, Salt & Pepper and Villa Rosa.
A big thank you to Strados and Anita for there hospitality

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    91
    19
    8
    0
See reviews for
90
145
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived it was breath taking from the stunning views, and from the fantastic newly renovated pool area. I don't normally write reviews but this is a must you wont be disappointed. The only down fall is that is further then you think from the town car hire is a must, but there is a bus that runs every 20mins. Rooms are very clean and all staff make you feel very welcome. I would most defiantly be returning. If you hire a car like we did ensure you have a map from reception, there are loads of fabulous beaches to visit. Don't miss out on this one folks.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Kieran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent 2 weeks in September at La Luna & loved the place. Yes it is up a fairly steep hill but the views from the pool area and your balcony make it all worth it. The apartment we had was on two floors and is a little dated but was clean with comfortable beds. There was adequete cooking facilities for light meals and plenty of wardrobe space. There is a large balcony with up market table & chairs a perfect place to sit enjoying a chilled glass of wine. The pool area was kept very clean and we never had trouble getting a sun bed. Stratos & Anita kept the pool bar going they were always friendly & helpful serving up good food & ice cold beer. The weekly BBQ is a must excellent value at 10 euros. Troulos beach is a 10 minute walk away use the path for the Zahora apartments its quicker. Sunbeds are 8 euros for 2 including an umbrella. The sea is crystal clear and full of fish. We recommend the Zahora beach bar excellent food, friendly service and reasonably priced. Food around the resort was mostly very good our favorites were Salt & Pepper & Ratatouille. The walk out to them was a bit hair raising as there are no pavements which would be more of a problem if you had small children. The bus service is excellent so trips in to Skiathos town are very easy.We spent a day sailing from the town with Captain George & his wife on the Argo II. It was the highlight of the holiday we sailed around Skopelos Had a wonderful lunch on board & found dolphins who obliged by playing around the boat. Would also recommend hiring a Jeep and going off the main roads you will find some stunning beaches and breathtaking views with Tavernas tucked away in amazing locations serving excellent Greek food.
We really loved Skiathos and will definately return. We would stay at the La Luna again but would hope that the place gets a spruce up so that next time we could give it an excellent...

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here in September, location isn't good if you have children as the nearest supermarket is down hill so coming back up laden with shopping is hard work.
Views are nice but the smell of the septic tank on the balcony meant we couldn't sit out. Also one of the bathrooms smelt of mould so we couldn't use it as we had to keep the door shut at all times.
Lots of dust, and cobwebs the lumpiest pillow i have ever come across and everything just seemed grimy.
The mood in the hotel was dull, the staff were on a countdown to the end of season which isn't what i want to hear when i'm trying to have a relaxing holiday and the bar was out of stock of most things. I can understand that they are running things down but at the end of the day i paid full whack for my holiday so things should be plentiful to the end !
Troulos was also running out of things, lots of places closed so again unfair to us holiday makers who were still trying to enjoy ourselves.
i have been to Skiathos many times and this was the first time I couldn't wait for the flight home.
Came back more depressed then i went !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at La Luna for 10 nights in September. The location is between bus stops 20 and 21 and is about a 10 minute walk to the centre of Troulos (to the other hotels, tavernas and supermarket).
The apartment we stayed in was a good size but was very dated. There was a lot of dust on the furniture and hairs on the floor, but the cleaners were good at changing the bed linen often.
The bathrooms (there were two in our apartment) were adequate but you have to hold the shower head which is something we found fiddly. Also one of the toilet seats were broken and the other toilet kept breaking, but we made do as didn't spend that much time in the apartment anyway.
In our apartment we had two single beds as you walked in and a double bed on the first floor, which means the apartment is perfect for a family of four (the single beds were small).
The pool area is very nice and clean and we were able to get a lounger easily on the one day we stayed around the pool. The bar food is average, big portions with lots of chips so not great if you want to eat more healthily.
We'd recommend the BBQ on Wednesdays, very good value for money and good quality food. We went twice during our stay.

The biggest gripe I have with La Luna is the air conditioning price. As we were in an apartment with two floors (2 air con units) we paid around 140 euros for air conditioning and a safe for 10 nights. I am not sure how they can justify these prices as the air conditioning unit downstairs was very old and rusting.

The best thing about the place is the views over Troulos bay. Every morning we would have breakfast looking out at the beach, which was the perfect start to each day.

The location is good for views but a bit of a walk to the beach and restaurants. The hill up to the apartments is steep but you do get used to it the more you walk up and down it.
We loved Skiathos, there are great beaches (we loved Troulos beach and the sea is full of fish so great for snorkelling) and lots of lovely trips and walks, but we won't be returning to La Luna and I wouldn't recommend it due to it needing a lot of updating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SL601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have just returned from our holiday booked at la luna as the pictures and reviews were very good, it was our 4th visit to the island which we absolutely love, but unfortunately we found the hotel very disappointing, the only good points for us was the very tasty bar food and the stunning views, There was no reception, we found our studio to be dark, very tired and there were cobwebs on the lights, we even had to hold the shower for eachother to get a half decent one ( fond memories of Greece but from over 20 years ago!).. our room was really stuck in a timewarp , there`s rustic , which we love but this was tired and unloved . We felt we couldn`t stay for the whole week , Thompson were helpful and tried to move us to a better room for later in the week, but we actually ended up moving to another hotel after 2 days as we wanted to relax and enjoy our surroundings for as much of the week as we could, so we had no choice but to actually pay for a different hotel for 5 days , which really stretched us but we just wanted to be happy and enjoy our holiday as we always do when were on the island. Maybe our expectations were too high , but we do feel the hotel was oversold on the thompson website and left us very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Verity S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

stayed here for 11 nights & have to say great apartments with great views ,nice pool ,nice owners !! good band on a sunday night and a bbq night on a wednesday which is great value at 10 euros per head !!! read all the reviews about the terrible hill , but have to say that it wasn,t that bad !! remember you can have a couple more beers and then walk them off up the hill !!! would definately return !!

Room Tip: top tip - theres a little dirt track opposite the hotel which will get you on the beach in 3 minutes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank talcy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troulos
0.6 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#6 of 84 in Skiathos
955 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
730 reviews
1.2 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
4.1 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
469 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Koukounaries
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Luna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Luna Hotel

Property: La Luna Hotel
Address: Troulos 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Troulos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Troulos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Luna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just next to the shores of an Aegean Island famous for its vivid and green atmosphere, lies La Luna hotel, tucked into a wooded hill above the soothing beach of Troulos. In our hotel you will find airy and comfortable rooms which can create an idyllic and romantic atmosphere to a couple while a cozy and pleasant experience to a family. All rooms provide balcony or terrace with view to the Aegean Sea that will make you forget the urban monotony the minute you walk through the door. As a family-run hotel, we are working like a determined team, ready to create for you a pleasant and memorable holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your La Luna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Luna Apartments Hotel Troulos
La Luna Hotel Skiathos/Troulos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing