We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the views!”
Review of La Luna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Luna Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Troulos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just got back from a week in Skiathos and would return tomorrow if I could! La Luna apartments offer you everything a holiday on a Greek Island should. Typical Greek accommodation where you immediately feel relaxed. Lovely pool area where you can easily stroll up to the pool bar for a snack and a beer served in an iced glass - perfect! House keepers were fantastic and the apartment was kept spotless even though us three girls had a huge amount of toiletries and make up spread about the place. The view is absolutely stunning and makes the walk up the hill from the restaurants, bars and beach worth it. Yes the hill was quite a talking point around the pool, our way of looking at it was if we walked up it twice a day we could eat and drink as much as we liked! Fabulous island, fabulous apartments with fabulous staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lozznozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 325 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here in May 2013, we were shocked to find it was a two story apartment, however this became a bonus as we have a 3 year old and he could be put to bed so we could have a drink on the balcony without disturbing him. The balcony was huge and the views were stunning. The staff were pleasant enough, but we aren't the kind of people who need to know them inside out so for us they were available when needed. The steep drive was an issue, if you are relatively fit it's ok but with a pushchair it's a bit of a trek, we caught a taxi home most days and every night...we just couldn't face that hill after a couple of drinks and a meal! The location is ok if you only want to go to the beach over the road every day, although that is also a 5-10 minute walk on road with no pavement, the corners being especially worrying with a small child in a pushchair, and other than the beach, there is little else to do here. We caught the bus everywhere because to see any other part of the resort is a bus trip away. We would not stay in Troulos again but we would stay nearer Skiathos town because that is where we went every day anyway....it is much busier and has everything you could need, supermarkets, restaurants and some lovely bars. We have been to Skiathos twice before but would only consider returning to the Town next time. The weather was dodgy but then it was May so no real surprise there. Overall we have a nice holiday and the apartments were nice with fabulous sunset views...almost worth the trek up that hill! I would recommend this hotel but not the resort as we found it a bit uneventful. However, if you want a real 'get away from it all' holiday this resort is for you!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gilby71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Had a great holiday at La Luna. Apartments were very clean, tidy and had everything we could have wanted. Didn't need airconditioning as slept with patio door open - very quiet. Maid service was excellent. Very pretty well kept grounds. Great pool, reception area with wide variety of seating around. Free pool table and some other games for children (draughts, dominoes etc). Pool side bar served simple food, pizza, burgers, chips, greek salad etc very popular was the club sandwich with chips at 5.50 euro which served as lunch for me, my husband and daughter!. Drinks (coffee, soft drinks) and icecream a bit pricey at 2-2.50 euros. Small supermarket down the hill stocked everything we wanted. Yes there is a hill, which good for a bit of exercise, but not for those who have mobility difficulties. Bus ride to Skiathos town very easy 2 euros for adults each way, get off at bus stop 4 and walk through old town, on return get on at bus stop 1 to get a seat - the bus can get very busy and they do cram you on. Skiathos is beautiful, though as someone said before no pavements can make it a bit tricky when walking about with children.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have stayed here for the past 2 yrs and what it lacks in customer service it more than makes up for in location and views. It is very clean although our bathroom this year was quite mouldy ( the tiles and shower curtain ) But the maid service is excellent . The first year we stayed we had a late gatwick flight and Stratos would not even try to give us a room for a few hours even though he did it for another party !!! This year he did offer us our room but it was right at the last min when we had packed so not really helpful.It has a lovely laid back atmosphere and the staff are very friendly . The air con is VERY expensive !!! When we arrived this year our safety deposit box wouldn't work but was fixed almost straight away.Your luggage is collected by cart and dropped at hotel normally after you arrive .The first year we came here there was a delay and our luggage didn't arrive for a couple of hours so it is worth packing shorts & t shirt in your hand baggage . The frog bar and Salt and pepper are a must and Zorbas is a no no not unless you are brave as not nice .Skiathos town is fab and only approx 10 euros by cab readily available from frog bar as are the buses .We came back and tried to book for next year but unfortunately is no longer available thru tour operators in the uk . Independently to book a fortnight here next July/ aug is £1700 without your flights etc which makes it an expensive holiday and although it has stunning views the apartments do not warrent these prices !!! considering we paid £1200 for june this year this is a huge increase .It is also worth mentioning the hill up to the hotel it is very steep and also there are no pavements so if you have young children be careful as some of the drivers do come a bit close .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was our first time at la luna on arrival we were dropped off at the side of the road and walked round to the entrance, the walk up to the apartments is quite steep but a stop off at the bar was well worth it to get your breath back. Everywhere we went was kept very clean,the pool area was good with very friendly staff and the food was very good and plenty of it. The apartment was how we expected clean, spacious, but we were very disappointed on the cost of air con I have to say WHAT A RIP OFF 80 euro per week for the larger apartments as there is two units in there I think this is the dearest charge anywhere. We hired a car for the two weeks we were there so got to go everywhere around the island, seeing some amazing scenery and watching the planes come in and out is a must.if you have a car do your shopping in the Carrefour on the skiathos ring road much much more cheaper than the little supermarkets. Met some lovely people at la luna who were all very good to our grandson Riley.Would defiantly recommend if you don't mind a bit of muscle ache

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank luciriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Room - Having stayed in many Greek apartments over the years we found the Double and Twin Bed Room at the La Luna had plenty of space for clothing and enough cutlery etc for our needs. The room was cleaned every day except Tues and Fri when only the bins were emptied which were turn over days so to be expected. The standard of cleanliness was excellent. The mezzanine room was exceptionally hot as it was under the roof and only had small windows. The en-suite in this room had a blocked drain and stunk of sewerage and although 2 attempts had been made to clear it by a plumber it didnt stop the smell. Fortunately we were able to shut the room off and sleep in the twin beds downstairs. The safety deposit box costs 30 Euros and the air-con 80 Euros for this type of room which we thought was too expensive, nevertheless we had to use the air-con as the temperature was at 35 degrees everyday of our stay, as we couldnt use the whole apartment we got a reduction on the air con price.

The Bar and Pool Area - This was really clean, the wooden sunbeds had a padded cushion on them so were very comfortable. We never found that we couldnt get a sunbed when we wanted one and there were plenty of umbrellas too. The bar prices we thought were reasonable as we had paid more for drinks and food on other islands the last 2 years. The food was basic and if you only wanted a snack or didnt want to walk down the hill in the evening very adequate, the usual Greek salads, tzatziki, chips, burgers etc. Stratos who ran the bar was very convivial, and also very helpful, we enjoyed his company. Anita who did the cooking and also served behind the bar was a "sweetie". There is also a pool table which is free to use and a lounge room with comfy seats if you need them. The BBQ which Stratos arranged for 10 Euros ahead was really good value and the food delicious. We wished we had stayed long enough to enjoy this again. The Music Night which is free is also very good, a young couple playing guitars and singing a mixture of old and new songs and their dog joins in sometimes. Excellent!!

The Garden Areas, Beach and the Hill - The garden areas are really well maintained with a beautiful mix of fragrant shrubs and climbers and a few lemon trees. There were butterflies in abundance on some plants. The pot plants were beautiful, full of geraniums, oregano and tagetes. THE HILL we knew was very steep and so are the steps leading up to the bar and rooms but what they do not tell you is that once you make it down to the road is that it is quite a way down hill to the beach. We found the best way was to cut through past the Zahoro Rooms and Taverna which really takes a chunk off of the route as the other way, instead of going all the way round past the supermarket is a really steep incline which is OK going down but hell walking up. The beach is lovely and plenty of sunbeds although quite close together. There are small fish in the sea. The best taverna on the beach is the Zaharo for lunch and serves lovely food especially the Giant Beans. Unfortunately the Zaharo is not open in the evening. The Troulos Hotel is good too.

Car Hire - We hired a Jimnyfor 9 days but haggled the price down from 350 Euros to 280 Euros which is still dear but well worth it to see the rest of the island. Many people walk along the main road in the evening to get to the tavernas, the nearest one is about a mile away, but the road is very dangerous and we found we couldnt always see the people walking along once the night came down. Once off the main road the tracks leading to the other beaches are very rough. We liked Mandraki beach very much and the taverna did the best fried potatoes we have ever tasted and there was always a queue waiting for these. The countryside is very beautiful. Skiathos Town is OK and the Old Port Area interesting. Parking in the town can be a bit of a nightmare. A popular place to go is watching the planes landing on the runway and also going to Xomenos Beach as they take off over you.

Mark - The Rep from Thomsons was really helpful, informative and friendly,we thought about the best one we have ever met! We booked an Island Hopper boat excursion through Thomsons and although a long day trip and I suffer from sea sickness, it proved to be a great day and Skopelos and Alonnissos unspoilt islands. There were even dolphins in front of the boat!

Buses - we never used the buses but we could see they provided a very good service but looked as if they had crammed the people on in the evening.

Down Points - Some areas around La Luna and Skiathos Town smell very drainy. The long walk back uphill from the Supermarket and the Tavernas. The holidaymakers in the La Luna who didnt support the BBQ and Music Nights but just walked past back to their rooms, so unsociable when the Bar Staff had put in so much effort.

Up Points - We met some great people from Bristol and Manchester and it was lovely some evenings to chat with them about the events of our day's. My husband was likened to Murray Walker several times which we thought was comical.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mejil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed 31st May to 14th June. Jeanette and Peter
Just had yet another great holiday at La Luna. We were so pleased to see Stratos was there to greet us.
For those who have never stayed there before the rooms are basic but adequate and very clean. The maids came in every day and the towels and bedding were changed very other day.
There's been a few nice changes from last year, there is a hair dryer in the room and some soft seating around the pool.
It would be ashame if you didn't try the food from the pool bar as it is very tasty and good value for money (large portions), don't leave it to the end of your holiday to find out like alot of guest did while we were there, and they regreted it.
BBQ night again the food was excellent and plenty to go around.
There's already lots of comments about the hill, all i can say is the views are well worth it and compared to some other accommodations we have seen La Luna's hill isn't that bad.
We are well travelled and like to try new places but this is one of our favourite's and we will return next year.

Room Tip: There are two blocks, both have great views. One block is above the pool the other bolck is to the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterandJeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troulos
0.6 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#1 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Korali
Hotel Korali
#29 of 84 in Skiathos
96 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#3 of 12 in Koukounaries
393 reviews
3 mi away
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel
1.1 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Luna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Luna Hotel

Address: Troulos 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Troulos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Troulos
Price Range: $77 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Luna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just next to the shores of an Aegean Island famous for its vivid and green atmosphere, lies La Luna hotel, tucked into a wooded hill above the soothing beach of Troulos. In our hotel you will find airy and comfortable rooms which can create an idyllic and romantic atmosphere to a couple while a cozy and pleasant experience to a family. All rooms provide balcony or terrace with view to the Aegean Sea that will make you forget the urban monotony the minute you walk through the door. As a family-run hotel, we are working like a determined team, ready to create for you a pleasant and memorable holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your La Luna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Luna Apartments Hotel Troulos
La Luna Hotel Skiathos/Troulos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing