We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to come home!!”
Review of La Luna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Luna Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Troulos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed a La Luna first week of September with hubby and had the best time. La Luna is good standard self catering, the pool and pool area clean, the bar and bar food were all you could ask for, not too pricey. Yes, La Luna is up a steep drive (or steps) but the view, particularly in the morning whilst having a coffee on the balcony, is stunning. Welcome breeze around the pool as it is so high up.

We made some great friends and met some truly lovely people, the music duo at La Luna one evening were good, didn't go to the bbq. It was lovely to meet such nice people (all be it some Welsh, haha, love you Alan and Liz!!) everyone staying at La Luna seemed happy and friendly. All the staff were polite and friendly, especially Desi.

We used the buses to get around, no problem, 2 Euro each. Some lovely places to eat in Skiathos town. The beach at Troulos, opposite La Luna was all we needed, 8 Euro for 2 beds and a brolly. Supermarket right there for supplies on way back up to La Luna. Alternated between beach and pool.

Weather was perfect, sunny and warm but not too hot. Didn't need air con in studio as evenings were cooler and we slept well.

Booked a boat trip in Harbour on a yacht, not sure it was worth the extra money = 50 Euros each person, ('help yourself to the drinks' didn't happen) lunch in a pre arranged Taverna in Skopelos cost another 24 Euro, should have just taken the larger boat trip for less than half the price. Lots to choose from.

Skiathos is a beautiful Island and we will return, back to La Luna, hopefully same time next year but for 10 days, a week was just not quite long enough, we had just got used to the hill!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sallax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 324 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at La Luna for 2 weeks (last week of August and first week of September) and had a wonderful time. La Luna studios are a good standard of accommodation, we had a TV in the main room and even had a shower which was fixed to the wall (detachable) in the bathroom. Views are lovely and are worth the extra effort of walking up the hill. We didn’t feel the need for air conditioning as the rooms are in the shade most of the day and stay fairly cool. Note: Do not use the post box at La Luna as we posted postcards on our second day and they were not collected until 12 days later, probably better off using the yellow post boxes along the road instead. Troulos is a fairly quiet, traditional, resort with tavernas, bars and restaurants dotted around as opposed to all being in one main area. Restaurants we visited were Nectar & Amvrosia, Troulos Bay Hotel, Zorbas, Ratatouille, Golden Meadow Hotel, Captain Nikos, all serving nice food, so it’s worth trying them all out. Troulos beach is lovely and is approx a 10 minute walk away and can be accessed via the Zaharo snack bar on the opposite side of the road from La Luna. We went into Skiathos town on alternate evenings. We got on and off the bus at bus stop 21 - we found getting on at 21 better than 20 as you had more chance of getting a seat plus there was more of a path area for walking on (it seems 20 is recommended because it’s down the hill). Skiathos town is busy, buzzy and feels continental and has lots of shops, bars and restaurants, plus a nice harbour area however the drinks around here are more expensive than in the main town area. We also got the bus to bus stop 16 a couple of evenings which has a few nice bars and restaurants. We took Euro travellers cheques with us and were able to exchange these at the supermarket next to the Victoria Complex and also the supermarket next to the Frog Bar. Due to the fact that La Luna is on a hill with a bendy road and no paths, luggage is taken separately from the airport to the accommodation in a luggage truck, which seemed to work OK and our luggage turned up approx. half an hour after we did. On the return journey to the airport luggage is collected approx. one hour before the coach collects you and apparently the luggage is dropped off outside the airport taverna which you go and collect when you arrive at the airport. As me and my husband preferred to travel back to the airport with our luggage we got a taxi to the airport for €23 which Sergios at the hotel was happy to book for us the day before. All in all an excellent holiday and we will definitely return to Skiathos and stay at La Luna again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Poppyminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

3rd time at la luna, only a week this time. there is a quite steep short bank to get to accomodation, only a problem if you have walking/mobility problems but the views when you get there are worth it! getting up every morning to have breakfast on the balcony, you could never get sick of the view. accomodation clean and tidy, we had an apartment (as per most greek accomodation, never going to be 4/5 star, however good value for money) towels/sheets changed 3 times in our week, cleaners/staff work very hard. lovely pool/bar area which serves snacks,burgers,greek salad etc and reasonably priced, property well maintained. only niggle was we had to pay 80 euro for the week for air conditioning and in august you definitely need it(50 euros for the studios)we hired a car for 4 days(booked it at home) initially we were told to collect from skiathos town, however they delivered it to our accomodation for no extra charge- auto europe were the company, we booked the insurance prior to going, however on delivery the staff member recommended paying 8 euro/day to have no excess on any claims(600 euro excess normally) we paid this. this money obviously goes straight into the staffs own pockets as when we returned the vehicle, they didnt check we had left fuel in it, or the condition of the vehicle!!
theres a regular bus service on the island- 2 euro gets you from skiathos town to the far end, at koukanaries beach which is stop 26. for la luna, its best to catch it to stop 21 and walk 2 minutes down the hill, rather than stop 20 and walk the hill that a lot of people moan about.
lots of places to eat locally - troulos bay hotel, excellent, right on the beach
victorias, 15/20mins stroll downhill
salt n pepper, " " "
meals for 3 of us with a litre of house wine, averaged 40/50 euros
lovely clean beach at troulos within 5/10 mins walk, with watersports etc
beautiful island which is better appreciated by using bus/car.
boat trip from skiathos town centre port, we used the boat kassandra from the mamma mia film - 15 euro each for a full day visiting alonissos (pay extra 4 euros for bus trip to top of island), skopelos and a stop of at the church on the outcrop where mamma mia had scenes, you could take a dinghy across or dive from the boat and swim, really good. we were out for 9 1/2hrs and included in the price was a sandwich,glass of wine and a shot of ouzo, couldnt recommend highly enough. a similar trip booked through the rep was double the price.
la luna is great for a relaxed break with stunning views, beach and there are far more positives than negatives. would definitely go back.

Room Tip: only the studios dont have much of a view, the rest all look over troulos bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank balrog44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at the La Luna apartments in August 2012 and were delighted with pretty much everything we experienced.  This is a small complex with only about 30 apartments, all of which have a stunning view of Troulos Bay, one of Skiathos' prettiest beaches that we came across whilst on the island.
The complex has a small family feel about it, with very friendly staff who multi-task all day, helping to ensure you have everything you need for your stay. The check in was simple, you have the option of paying for a safety deposit box (20 euro) and air conditioning (50 euro or 80 euro for 2 bed apartments) which we were expecting as it noted it in the Thomson's brochure. We were glad we chose it as the temperatures were in the 40's at the start of the week and it would have been very uncomfortable, but the rooms keep fairly cool anyway, so if the temperatures are in the low 30's I imagine you can cope without.
The rooms are simply furnished with plenty of wardrobe space and drawers for storage, a dressing table and a small kitchenette with a sink, 2 rings and a kettle and toaster, so enough for breakfast but a struggle to do much more than that.  Beds were comfortable, we had a proper double unusually and even with the child's bed in, didn't feel cramped at all.
The maids attended every day to clean the bins, towels as you needed and linen once in the week and did a general tidy around,  so rooms were kept nice and clean and although you get the inevitable patch of mold on the tiles in the bathroom, these are probably the best apartments we have stayed in for many years.
There is a snack bar by the pool, which is efficient and friendly - Strato always smiling and available to offer advice about the island, things to see and places to eat.  It has a limited menu of pizza, salads, burgers etc but cheap and everything we had was very enjoyable.  Bar offering good with local and international drinks readily available and bottled water for your room at the usual set price of 1 euro for a big bottle.  They do a couple of special nights with a Barbeque night on a Wednesday a bargain at 10 euro each and live music on a Sunday which was good, particularly with the singing Zombie dog who howled away when the lady played the harmonica.
Pool was great, 3m deep at one end so great for diving and lots of sun beds, so no need to rush down at 7am with the towels :-) very clean and tidy.
My only real negative about this hotel is it's location. View is stunning (see pic) but at the expense of pretty steep climbs and somewhat dangerous walking to local shops and bars. No problem at all for 95% of people, but if you do struggle at all with walking, this will be a problem for you, unless you use taxi's to get around all the time. There are no real pavements to be found, so you are walking at the roadside all the time, which at night is a little uncomfortable and probably worth brining a torch with you to give you a bit of assurance whilst walking home.
The beach can be accessed by a steep dirt track right opposite the complex entrance and it is a very pleasant beach, just a few metres wide with plenty of sun beds and parasols to hire  (8.50 euros for the day for 2 beds and a parasol) plenty of bars and Taverna's and a great watersports area offering everything from water skiing and banana boating to motor boat and sailing dinghy hire.
The hotel is very well serviced by bars and Tavernas, with the nearest supermarket about 200 yards away at the bottom of the road. Some lovely family restaurants with great Greek food on offer in quaint garden settings (try Ratattouie) through to very professional, a la carte food at Salt 'n Pepper all within about a 10 minute walk of the apartments.
Public transport is great with buses running about every 15 mins from stop 21 just to the right of the hotel. They go from one end of the island to the other in a continuos ring, so you can use them to get to most beaches or into Skiathos town for just 2 euros which is great for a 30 minute bus ride I think.  Taxis are reasonable too, particularly if they stop and offer you a fare from one of the bus stops - expect to pay about 3 euros per person into Skiathos town, but be aware they do try to fill the cab up on the trip so be prepared to make some new friends on the way!  Buses can get very busy, particularly around 7-8pm and you can end up standing or even the bus passing if it is too full.
Heading into Skiathos town of an evening is a great option, buses run through to after midnight so easy to get back and we found some great restaurants in the town, some offering fast food Greek style (kebabs) and others amazing dining experiences overlooking the bay from great heights or next to the waters edge.  The vast majority offered very good value for money too, expect to pay around 15 euros per head with wine sitting down to eat or about 7 euros for a decent Kebab feast!
Skiathos town is also your place to take a look at all the trips that are on offer.  I would suggest you book nothing with your rep until you have seen what's on offer down in the town as we paid less than half the price direct than Thomson's were offering.  Can highly recommend the Around Skopelos trip on the Poseidon which we paid just 15 euros for a whole day out on a great boat, touring the Mama Mia filming locations, swimming and sunbathing.  Out at 10am and back at 7pm, a great day and suitable for everyone as you can find shade on the boat if you need it and it actually beaches to let passengers off on a ramp, rather than making you swim to shore as these trips sometimes do.
In summary, I can highly recommend Skiathos - I believe it is on a par with the Caribbean for beauty, beaches, crystal waters and value for money and I can definitely recommend the La Luna apartments providing you are relatively fit and can cope with the walking you will need to do.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gino71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

advertised as hilly 2 people before us bookink in were mountain goats really anyone with walking difficulties avoid. place was really clean no complaints ther and view was good. loved skiathos will go again but not there. also barman sometimes likes really lates nights after 5 one morning when finally got some sleep.agrre with the prices for air conditioning we only used i bedroom but no discount allowed bit of arip off.

Room Tip: take ropes to get there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank paul e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Fantastic view from La Luna, makes the hike up worth it!!
Our apt was on top floor, view was fantastic from our balcony overlooking Troulos Bay.
Thompson brochure was correct in its description. The rooms were clean and had comfortable beds, we took our sons 17 and 24 and it makes a change that they had proper beds and not camp beds.
Showers are a bit naff - we managed to wedge a shower head in rail, so not too bad.
The bus is 2 euro's each way, but at peak times sardine standing room only! A taxi for the four of us was 10 Euro's, but beware if the taxi isn't filled they will stop to pick up more passengers.
Maid service - bed linen was changed every two days. Beds were made everyday, towels were changed every day and rubbish was collected daily.
Wouldn't bother with the safe as a thief would probably steal the whole thing, it was a wooden box about the size of a shoe box!
Air con was pricey but worth it.
Troulos beach seemed ok but 2 sunbeds and an umbrella was 7 Euros. We found a small secluded beach just past bus stop 21.- Just up from the apt.

We tried several restaurants, 'Salt and Pepper', 'Ratatouille' 'Lynari' which were highly rated on trip TripAdvisor but our favourite which we went to 10 out of our 14 night stay was 'Victoria Taverna' in Troulos - next to petrol station.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Upon arrival we were faced with a bill of 70 euros for air conditioning and 30 euros for the safe! Not what we expected, but what you've got to pay if you want comfortable nights and your stuff kept safe! This is a lot of money, before you even start your holiday.
It was 5 days before we got clean towels and we slept the whole 10 nights on the same sheets. We asked the rep about it, but nothing was done.
We thought the food at the bar was poor, but the service was friendly. Drinks expensive, but that's general - 2 bacardi and cokes around 12 euros.
Our room was very tired - decor old and cobwebs hanging from ceiling. Bathroom tiles covered in mold, but shower good and powerful. Kitchen cooker filthy and wouldn't cook anything on that even if I wanted to cook. Bed comfy except as mentioned earlier; no clean sheets which I think is unacceptable for a 10 day stay. Toilet seat fell off the side of toilet every time we sat on it.
The sun beds are poor quality and a good few of them have wheels coming off. They are all taken up very early by people putting their towels on. Certainly by 8am there are no beds left. This was worse for the first week and improved later.
The location is high up above Troulos and therefore the views are stunning, but the climb up from the beach or in the evening after a night out is horrendous! It's shattering and not a place for very young children (toddlers in need of pushchairs) or unfit adults! We're reasonably fit 40 something and 50 something people, but we were absolutely shattered! The only holiday Ive lost weight on!
We wouldn't come back to LaLuna again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sukimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troulos
0.6 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#2 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,159 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
797 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#3 of 12 in Koukounaries
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
512 reviews
1.1 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
977 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Luna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Luna Hotel

Address: Troulos 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Troulos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Troulos
Price Range: $61 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Luna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just next to the shores of an Aegean Island famous for its vivid and green atmosphere, lies La Luna hotel, tucked into a wooded hill above the soothing beach of Troulos. In our hotel you will find airy and comfortable rooms which can create an idyllic and romantic atmosphere to a couple while a cozy and pleasant experience to a family. All rooms provide balcony or terrace with view to the Aegean Sea that will make you forget the urban monotony the minute you walk through the door. As a family-run hotel, we are working like a determined team, ready to create for you a pleasant and memorable holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your La Luna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Luna Apartments Hotel Troulos
La Luna Hotel Skiathos/Troulos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing