We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definately return !”
Review of Boudouriani House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Troulos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boudouriani House
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Troulos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We have just returned from a 2wk stay and it has been the most relaxing holiday we have had. We cannot find anything to complain about for the price we paid - the resort itself is perfect, with plenty of places to eat, the apartments are not far from the beach but we found the poolside more appealing and comfortable - plus the food from the bar was much nicer than the tavernas at the beach. Every evening, we felt like we were 'coming home' and would sit at the bar for hours chatting - you could not ask for friendlier or nicer people to run a complex. Yes, it is situated on a main road, but the traffic is not constant and you certainly do not 'run a gauntlet' every time you go out!! We would highly recommend these apartments - the best greek salad in Troulous, a relaxing and friendly atmosphere - we will be returning in a couple of years without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherry1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 209 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

We have just returned from a family holiday here. Having read the reviews we expected great things..yes, the pool area was lovely, yes, the family owners are very friendly and the food in the bar was great during the day, but the complex is right by the road, and at peak season it's busy. There's no getting away from it, and there are no pavements, so as soon as you step out of the entrance you have to run the gauntlet of jeeps, buses, coaches, mopeds, locals, hire cars....just to get the the bus stop, the beach or the supermarket. Not ideal with a young family in tow. You're constantly aware of it when you're sat by the pool - not my idea of a relaxing away from it all location. Having wandered around the area there are certanily many places that seem to offer the same warm welcome and good facilities found here, but in much more secluded and quiet locations.

Room Tip: Air conditioning is a must - apart from anything else it drowns out the traffic noise at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spanglesabt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We have just returned from the trip of a life to Skiathos. The Boudouriani is one of the best apartments i have stayed in, very basic but then i do wonder what people who complain about this want from an apartment in Greece that is 3*. We stayed in room 17, lovely size room basic but as expected. Shower couldnt be hooked up but have experienced this in Zante and Kos, and it is only two weeks. Rooms cleaned nearly every day. Aircon available for 8euro a night.
The pool was a nice size and kept clean, usually enough sunbeds for everyone and there were extras if all the "comfy" ones were taken. Never had such comfy sunbeds.with out being charged for them. Food available at the bar and the drinks and ice creams very reasonable.
Troulos itself very quiet and peaceful a few shops and restaurants, our favorites being ratotouile and ambroise and nector (the puddings there are divine).
We did two trips that Thomson offered the Sproades sunshine cruise, this is the "Mamma Mia" trip, this was 42 euro trip and was lots of fun, we were told that we could get a mini bus when we got to Skepolos to the place of the wedding for an extra 12 euros each, a bit unexpected when paying so much for the trip. the dinner they offered was not that nice though but all in all a brill day.
We also did the simply skiathos trip, this was a brilliant trip and not many people did it which was a shame, you got to see bits of the island that are hard to get to.
The bus service is brilliant however we were there last week in july first of august and it was packed but the bus drivers still tried to stop for you bless them.
You can go to the open air cinema there and watch mamma mia 8 euros each which may seem a bit extreme for a film thats on dvd but believe me its well worth the money!
all in all Boudouriani is a fab place to stay, if asked if i would go again 100% yes!

Jess and Mike

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Chose Boudouriani based on the excellent reviews from previous guests and overall we really enjoyed our holiday (with 2 kids under 7). The pool area and bar are very nice, well kept, clean, and there's enough sunbeds for everyone. However, we stayed in one of the 2-bed appartments which i now understad to be not as nice as the studios. Upon arrival the room was not partciularly clean, and you don't get a seating area / sofa - it's 2 double beds, a toilet / shower room, and a small kitchenette where you get a very small dining table and 4 stools - that's your lounge! The patio door didn't shut properly which was a concern being on the ground floor at the back of the complex. There was no shower hook so you had to hold the shower head the whole time, and there were some cavernous gaps around the windows and the kitchen unit base that gave free passage to creepy crawlies. None of these things spoil a holiday, but they do make you feel the place has been neglected a little. The family owners are very nice and were very helpful (ok the old guy was a bit grumpy, but his wife and son are lovelly), and the location is great (10 mins to troulos beach, and some nice restaurants within 5 min walk), just a shame the appartment was not up to standard.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank notamamadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

having read all the reviews previously listed we knew we must be in for a good time. nothing was too much trouble ,the hub of the hotel is definately the bar area great at night for a drink before going out for a meal (with lots of places to choose from all within walking distance) to returning for a night cap .Illias is just the perfect host he remembers everyones name and what your drink is he is a credit to Christos and Sophia (mum & dad) dont hesitate to book on the bar-b-q nite its simply delicious Sophia certainly knows how to cook! excellent value at 9euro.
the other guests who checked in with us all helped to make our holiday special ,all swapping stories of our escapades of the day! we will certainlly return to Boudouriani House. it was fab thankyou!! a good tip - order a sandwich from Sophia to take with you on the return to the airport she makes them up fresh -not like the "bricks" you buy in the airport lounge at a ridiculous price!

Room Tip: all the rooms over look the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flyguys030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Hi – Bear with me as this is quite a long review but hopefully will help if you are looking for information.

This was our first visit to Skiathos having previously visited the Greek islands of Rhodes (twice), Zante, Crete and Corfu. Our intention was to find somewhere peaceful and relaxing as this was our first holiday for 30 Years without the children.
I spent a lot of time on this site looking for our ideal holiday and after seeing the reviews for Skiathos/Troulos and the Boudouriani House I knew we would be happy there. (How right I was!!!)
The landing at Skiathos airport was fine and the views as you approached were amazing as you could actually see diners in the restaurants lining the port – The transfer was also good taking perhaps 50 minutes from landing to collecting our luggage and arriving at the Boudouriani House.
There were 4 couples on the same flight also staying there, of which one couple had stayed previously for the last 7 Years! – They were greeted personally by the owner Christos as long lost friends (apparently this is the norm with guests returning year after year)
The accommodation itself is very similar to that of other Greek apartments (We stayed in a studio) consisting of an entrance into the well stocked kitchen which had everything we needed(including a toaster), opposite was the bathroom which had a superb shower and was always hot regardless of the time of day. There were two very comfortable single beds (and a fold up bed if needed), A double wardrobe with drawers, a dressing table and two side dressers – Plenty of storage space for all my wife’s clothes, shoes handbags etc…..
The balcony overlooked the pool (as did all the other rooms) and had nice comfortable rattan furniture. There were outside shutters and inner glass doors with netting which kept the room dark and quiet – Air conditioning was available but we managed without it.
The pool area is spotless (in fact everywhere was) with very comfortable sun beds and a bar adjacent serving a good selection of snacks and drinks – During the day this is staffed by Christos, his wife Sophia and sometimes their daughter Paris – All lovely people who were always happy to help if you required food, drinks or a spot of advice. (Drinks always came with a small bowl of snacks!! – Large glass/bottle of Mythos/Amstel was €2.50)
There was a BBQ on Monday nights which was superb value at €9 and beautifully cooked and served by the whole family.
The evening (and sometimes through to the early morning) sees their son Illias take over the bar – He couldn’t have been more helpful and his drinks measures are huge!!! – We would generally pop into the bar for a glass of wine before going for our evening meal and ended up back at the bar later (as did most other guests and a number of non-guests) Illias was spot on and always cheerful regardless of the time – Some nights went on quite late but never got rowdy or loud enough to disturb other guests.
All in all there was nothing we could fault the Boudouriani house for – We shall definitely return and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it.
PS – There is also free WiFi available which Thomson’s don’t mention.

We found Skiathos to be a beautiful island and very easy to get around – As you step out of the Boudouriani turn left to bus stop 19 or right to bus stop 18 – From here you can get the bus either to Skiathos town or the other end of the island Koukanaries – This costs just €2 and is great value – however beware the buses can get quite busy at certain times of the day!

The area of Troulos we stayed in (Right from the beach road) consisted of a number of tavernas, hotels, apartments and 5 supermarkets all well spaced out (there isn’t a town centre as such) There are enough tavernas to eat somewhere different every night and we didn’t have one bad meal – The price including drinks and starters ranged from €26 - €32 – our favourites were Ambrosia & Nectar (more of a restaurant) Captain Nikos (Don’t be put off by the “fast food” look – I had the best meal of the holiday here!), Ratatouille, Villa Rosa and Varellis – There is also a slightly more “upmarket” restaurant called Salt & Pepper which served very good food and was no more expensive than others.

Troulos beach can be found by turning left out of Boudouriani House and walking 10 minutes, turn left again at the supermarket/Frog Bar and 2 minutes to the beach. The beach is a nice size and 2 beds/Parasol cost €8 – We hired a boat from the beach for €80/all day (9 Hours) We were able to go right around the island and stop off at beaches which weren’t otherwise accessible – sometimes we hade a beach to ourselves – We also had lunch at a beautiful beach taverna on another island – We enjoyed this so much we hired the boat again the 2nd week (Be aware however that fuel is extra – This cost us a further €30 but as my wife said perhaps I could have gone a little slower!!)

Skiathos Town was lovely (If you’ve been to Rhodes think Lindos but less “tacky”) – We visited a number of times and found something new each time – We ate on the port front, down the main shopping road and in amongst the narrow streets and each time had good food which was no more expensive than elsewhere – We climbed up to the clock tower (made famous in Mama Mia) which gave great views of the town and port.

One last thing – I must mention Lesley our Rep – She was very informative and helpful and a credit to Thomson’s

If you’re not sure about Skiathos, Troulos or Boudouriani House all I can say is ….GO FOR IT ……. You won’t regret it!!!

Neil & Jill

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Donpipez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

This was our first time in Skiathos and staying at the Boudouriani, but we will certainly be coming back.
From the first moment we got there, greeted by Christos to when we left being seen off by Sophia it was like a home from home. The apartments are typical basic Greek, but are kept clean by Stefan & Krema, and the sheets and towels are changed regularly. The apartments are set in lovely grounds with great sunbeds around a decent size pool, with lovely furniture as well as a nice bar and eating area which is kept spotless by Sophia and her daughter Paris. The food is lovely, especially the Yoghurts and Pizzas.

In the evening the bar is run by Ilias (Christos & Sophia's son) who is very personable and makes you feel welcome, and is always in a good mood, even when he's had a late night.

We were lucky to be there with a great group of people (Hi Chris & Janet) and spent many happy times drinking with everyone.

A lovely place to stay run by a great family, and we will definitely be going back there.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the pool bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank collyp181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troulos
0.6 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
795 reviews
0.7 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
975 reviews
1.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#2 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#3 of 12 in Koukounaries
389 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
513 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#1 of 1 in Katsarou
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boudouriani House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boudouriani House

Address: Troulos, Troulos 370 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Troulos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Troulos
Number of rooms: 97
Also Known As:
Boudouriani House Hotel Troulos
Boudouriani Apartments Skiathos
Boudouriani House Skiathos/Troulos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing