We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“" Another need to comment "” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Troulos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“" Another need to comment "”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just got back from another 2 week stay at the Astoria ( been staying there since 1993 ) and I have to say that I found the comments from carling45ever bizarre to say the least.
Whilst everyone is entitled to their opinion,to say that there were " to ( sic ) many southerners and older people " is bordering on the offensive. I remember this person and seem to recall that she didn't exactly appear to mix with other people at the hotel, which of course is the right of all of us, so what difference does it make where the other guests come from or their age group ?
As for the remarks about the food, firstly the sausages weren't bad, just different. As far as the eggs are concerned, I doubt there is an hotel in the World that doesn't doesn't serve eggs for breakfast in some form or other but you aren't actually forced to have them every day are you ? you do have a choice !
As a suggestion for your future holidays bearing in mind your apparent aversion to southerners and older people, I understand that Club 18 to 30 do some nice holidays in Alaska so perhaps you could try one of those if it's far enough North for you ! !
Of course everyone is entitled to their opinion but very often the hotels themselves are reluctant to make any comments about their guests, despite some of the their strange behaviour. Would you believe that some guests even manage to damage the furniture in their room but aren't honest enough to own up to it ! ! ! !
Anyway, enough of all the negative stuff. Thank's again to all the staff at the Astoria ( hello Harri, how's the football ? ! ) and special thank's to you Helen for the " World Class " soup you made for us last week, it was delicious, and don't forget our rendevous on Halloween ! !
Enjoy your holidays.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room for what ever reason, be polite and the hotel will do their best to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulReed_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    68
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
223
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit to the island , the first time we stayed at Astoria. The hotel is very clean, staff and owners lovely. Very near to beach and bus stop all on the flat so great for anyone with walking difficulties. Ok on the down side, the rooms are very small ( but then you only use it to sleep and get showered) the breakfast is very chaotic . We only used the pool once and came out Blue looking like smurfs from the paint that had been used to paint the inside if the pool. The problem with this hotel is we didn't feel like we belonged due to some of the repeat guests who are more mature and like routine eg ; same sunbeds , same table for breakfast, same places round bar area etc etc ! Also as already said by someone else very quite at night , everyone had gone to bed and bar was empty most nights by 11.00- 11.30 pm ( not a problem to us as we made friends and used Frog bar across the road ( which was also cheaper) . Would I return ... Not to this hotel, but will be returning to the lovely island of skiathos next your hopefully .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boccie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We first booked this hotel in 1999 and have been going back twice every year since, the paltry 2 *'s are just not enough.

Everything is spotlessly clean, everyone associated with the hotel are really friendly and can't do enough for you.

In answer to carling45ever Harry will talk about anything not just football, and he makes a mean gin fizz & its the only place you can get an Elderflower cocktail on the Island. We love him.

We are really glad that you are not going to Skiathos again It will be far more pleasant without you. I didn't eat bad sausages once, there is quite an extensive breakfast menu fresh fruit, yoghurt, bacon etc, etc. As for pushing for food that must be a Northern thing, us Southerners are far to polite to do a thing like that.

We have already booked for next year. Twice.

Super holiday Elena & Family can't wait for June.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fatheobald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

returned last week from astoria lovely hotel and the maid service is fantastic .Harry the bar man is lovely and very laid back if you like football you are fine otherwise forget it.x.breakfast was ok at first but 2 weeks later i never want to eat egg again and sausages are bad .and its not nice pushing for your food just not set out well.we will not be going to skiathos again to many southerners and older people for us but each to there own .beautifull island but if you want fun day or night it wont happen sorry ................watch your luggage weights we got charged 90 euros for over weight luggage when we got home we weighed our cases and we was under weight .big scam going on in greece major problem thomas cook told us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carling45ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just returned from two weeks at astoria , lovely clean, friendly hotel , unfortunately broke my wrist when I tripped during a boat trip to skopelos, the other guests couldnt have been nicer asking how I was each day thanks guys I am on the mend now , if you are booking this lovely hotel through thomson and anything happens to you dont expect any help from the rep , we were left to sort my medical problem out on our own , scary when you are in a strange country .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minniemouse066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We've never visited Skiathos before but so pleased we found this hotel. The hotel is kept beautifully clean and the rooms are modern - recently refurbished. The breakfast is superb - for a Greek hotel! - with a wide range of food to choose from. There are cereals, bread, jams, ham, cheeses, fruit as well as bacon, egg, sausage. What a choice!!
The bar area is also a highlight - a different 'cocktail of the day' every day, and Harry plays a wide range of music that is never intrusive. However one of the things that makes this hotel is the atmosphere - people talk to each other, and great banter takes place amongst the guests. It is very easy to just chill out and chat to whoever is there - wonderful.
Another great thing is that there was never - even in August - the stupid nonsense of people putting towels on sunloungers and then disappearing for the day, only to return at 1600Hrs to use 'their' sunlounger for half an hour or so, rendering it unavailable for anyone else. Common Sense at long last!!
Thank you Astoria.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Second time visit and did not want to leave. Went to Skopelos again, excellent boat trip. We love this island and especially Astoria, thank you for another great holiday. And to grumpypete a previous reviewer, wash your own glasses and stay in Redcar.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anitat61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troulos
0.8 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#7 of 88 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.9 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Luna Hotel
La Luna Hotel
#2 of 9 in Troulos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: Troulos Beach, Troulos 370 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Troulos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Troulos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Astoria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Skiathos/Troulos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing