We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Troulos & Astoria Hotel!”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Troulos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Exceptional Troulos & Astoria Hotel!”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We finally made it this year to Skiathos after numerous recommendations from friends & couples we have met on other Greek islands. We were certainly not disappointed by either the Island or the hotel/resort we selected – The Astoria in Troulos.

The Astoria is set back off the road so benefits from a lovely rural location. It is a short walk from bus stop 20, which means that you have the whole south of the island available to you for 2 Euros fare! We were amazed by the number of high quality restaurants on the island & via the bus route there is access to all of them! Please note – this bus does get very crowded at peak times 9am to 10.30am (going to the beach), 6pm to 9pm (coming back from the beach/going into Skiathos Town) & 10.30pm onwards (Coming back from Skiathos Town after night out). However to us this was part of the fun/way of chatting to people finding out the best places to go!

The hotel itself is relatively small & very friendly and the staff keep it very clean indeed. This hotel I would say is more suitable for mature people/couples or young couples that like a quiet resort. Personally I appreciated the lack of “Euro pop” being pumped out at the pool which is a terrible feature of other Greek Hotels.
The rooms at the Astoria are relatively small (usual for Greece) but are of a high spec (unusual). The balconies are nice especially if you get a view looking out on to the beautiful garden.
The Bar is very well run by the hard working Harry with excellent cocktails & lunch time snacks. The pool is a good size & well maintained, although there may not be enough sun beds during peak times – although with numerous beaches on the island (8 Euros for the day for 2 beds & umbrella) this is not a problem.
If you enjoy being active on holiday we can certainly recommend going to the Skiathos Dog Shelter (www.skiathosdogshelter.com) in the hills above Troulos. The People there do a wonderful job helping & relocating dogs (& cats) to good homes in the UK. Congratulations & a big thank you to all who help out there and to contributing a fun part to our holiday!

The main plus point with Skiathos for us was the number & quality of the restaurants on the island which as I mentioned are accessible via the great bus route. Our top 5 (& why, because the variety of eating establishments means that they each have a niche or particular strong point) are:

1. The Windmill (Skiathos Town) Stunning views! Food & Wine equally stunning and well worth the extra Euros – Congratulations to Karen & her staff for their wonderful achievements!
2. Agnadio – Skiathos Town – Great Views & Food.
3. Nector & Ambrosia – Troulos – Very reasonably priced, good food & views
4. Alexandros – in Old Port, Skiathos Town – Excellent Greek Traditional food set in the streets & under an olive tree – traditional Greek Music & great atmosphere
5. El Greco – Skiathos Town opposite Ferry docking area – High quality food with great views of the sea front

The Best of our fortnight:

Our Best Beach: Eleni - Great Sunset!
Our Best Night Out: Open Air Cinema in Skiathos Town – 8 Euros entry
Our Best Trip: Mamma Mia Boat Trip on the Kalypso (From Skiathos Town (New Port) – See Ian on the port side.
Our Best Restaurant – The Windmill in Skiathos Town – Pricey, but food, wine & the views are totally fabulous!!
Our Best Experience: Walking the dogs from the Skiathos Dog Shelter (Near Pagagia Kounistra Monastery) on a number of mornings in the beautiful hills around the Monastery – So much fun & very rewarding!

Room Tip: Garden View was Good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank DavidKaren23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    70
    19
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
228
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Me and my partner stayed at the hotel in June and we have no complaints. The room was modern and cleaned every day. Breakfast was nice with a variety of cereal, greek yoghurt, toast, tea, cakes, eggs, bacon, etc. The hotel is located near the lovely Troulos beach (5 mins walk), and there is also a supermarket on the main road. There is a good bus service running through the south coast of the island (€2 to Skiathos town each way), but sometimes taxi drivers will charge you almost the same as the bus when you are waiting at the bus stop. The people there are very honest and polite and the weather was great, reaching 38 °C. We visited different beaches of which were all lovely, but our favourites were Kanapitsa, very small and quiet and Kastro which you can only access by car, bike, boat (North Coast of the island). We hired a Jeep, and we loved driving through the North Coast of the Island. The food was amazing everywhere we went to, and the portions were really big, we spent €35/€40 per meal for both of us. We only had breakfast at the hotel as we were out all day. The pool area was really lovely, but me and my partner just generally prefer going to the beach. There seems to be watersports on every beach, but prices are much higher at the most popular beaches, so I would recommend going to the smaller ones for watersports. It was €40 for 10 mins of jet skiing at the very busy Banana Beach, but we paid €25 at another smaller beach. Skiathos town is lovely, loads of tavernas and shops, perfect place to relax. We really enjoyed our time in Skiathos and wish we booked it for 2 weeks instead of 1 week. Most couples that we've met there go back to Skiathos every year because they love the place, and we are definitely going back next year. We can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nat_kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I first visited this hotel at the age of 8 and have loved it ever since. I feel like i'm home when I arrived and never want to go home. The hotels owners and their sons are so friendly and it was so nice to see them all again after 8 years. Of course I couldn't write a review without mentioning Harry the amazing barman! He makes the most fabulous cocktails and is a pleasure to be around.
The hotel has changed a lot in recent years and has had a massive refurbishment, the rooms are very modern and everything is looking clean and new. The bar has a shelter for those chilly evenings and compared to most accommodation in Greece is an extremely high standard.
The hotel is located in a peaceful location in Troulos and is very conveniently close to the beach and the bus stop where you can get a cheap and regular bus to Skiathos town, Koukounaries and many of the other beaches, all of them beautiful.
The breakfast is good with a variety of different options such as fried eggs, bacon, cereal, toast, fruit etc. If you get peckish in the daytime, try one of Harry's toasties or a salad from the hotels bar menu- delicious.
Skiathos town has a lovely atmosphere both in the day and at night with some lovely restaurants including Maria's Pizza and Scuna ( both highly recommended).
All in all another amazing trip to this beautiful island and I am missing it so much already! See you soon Skiathos!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank laurz1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Myself and my partner have just returned from our first trip to Skiathos and can highly recommend The Astoria Hotel, the location in handy for the beach and bus stop and the rooms were made up to a high standard, by far the best greek hotel i have stayed in.
The only negative i have is that we were allocated a small room over the hotel bar #714 and even with us being in our mid 20's the music was far too loud and on too late so we requetsed another room which we were given within 24hours. The room we were then given was much lager and on the ground floor (#508) you couldnt hear the bar at all from here and there were beautiful rose bushes in our outdoor space.
The breakfast was to a high standard also but can be a little hectic between 8.30-9.30 as there is no proper queueing system in place. i would recommend either going to breakfast for 8 or after 9.30 if you can wait.
Bus stop 20 is very close to the hotel and you can easily get round the island from there.
I would also recommend going on a boat trip from Skaithos Old Port around the island, this departed at 10am and arrived back in at 5.30 and was well worth the 20 euros each.
Please note the average age at this hotel is mid 40's couples, which is fine but would perhaps recommend staying in the town if your a younger couple. Also the bar prices at the hotel are very expensive if your drinking spirits to pehaps skip the hotel drink before heading out and go to one of the many cocktail bars at the old port that all run happy hours from 5-9!!

Room Tip: ask to stay away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank melissajayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craven Arms
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

This was our third trip to Troulos in 7 years and our first holiday staying at the Astoria. Everything about the hotel was beyond our expectations. The room was modern with the best lighting we have ever had in any accommodation in the Greek islands, it was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff never seem to stop working 7 days a week! The breakfast was more than ample with the food being constantly topped up. We will be going back to Troulos at some time in the future and there is no doubt as to where we will be staying. Very good evening meals to be had at Victoria's and the Sunrise Taverna, large portions and lovely friendly staff at both places. To say we enjoyed our recent week in Troulos is an understatement, everything was perfection including the glorious weather

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eleni39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We booked this holiday just one week before departure, so was unsure what to expect? This was our second visit to the island and the first to Troulos. On arrival at the Hotel our first impression was how modern it was compared to other hotels we have stayed at in Greece. Our Room was not large but big enough for our needs. The bathroom was very modern with a great shower and had hot water 24/7 and didn't get flooded out like a lot of bathrooms in Greece when you had a shower, even though it was a 'wet' room. A big thank you has to go to the cleaners, especially Eleni who cleaned our room every day, not only did she do a great job but also put some fresh flowers in the room from the garden which was a nice touch and one day after a trip to the beach my wife had left her muddy sandals on the balcony. When we returned later found that Eleni had cleaned them for her (Bless her!). The breakfast was good with a wide variety to choose from including a cooked selection every morning which alternated from bacon and eggs to sausages, mushrooms and scrambled eggs together cereals, yogurt etc. The girls who do the cleaning also prepare the breakfast and are constantly topping up the breakfast bar to keep everything fresh and hot. The cleaners may seem a little quiet or shy but if you make the effort to at least say Good morning - καλημέρα (Kalimera), you will get a glowing response and a lovely smile every morning. The Hotel is very clean and bright and the pool area has plenty of proper wooden loungers and was never over crowded. The week before we arrived they had a massive storm that flooded the whole place out, but you would not have known has they did a very quick clean up operation. Nikos who owns the hotel is a really nice man, if a little quiet, but make an effort to talk to him and you will find that he is really charming.
Last but by no means least is Harry who runs the bar and mentioned loads of times on other reviews, This man works from 10am until the last guest has gone to bed usually around 2.30am (4am in the height of season), 7 days a week, without so much as a siesta in the afternoon. Harry is really proud of his bar which is modern and stylish and very comfortable you can sit outside on the veranda and relax as the bar has an open feel to it. A lot of guests come from other hotels at night for a drink or 3 in Harrys bar. The man likes his football very much and a game is always on the telly in the corner of the bar which in no way feels intrusive as he keeps the sound down. The cocktails Harry makes are some of the best we have every had. Many people have commented on his great mohijto but his pina coladas and cappuchinos hit the spot too!
When you arrive at this hotel, you are impressed at how pretty it is but after a few days you realise this is no ordinary hotel, it is a home from home. Everyone who works there has been there for years and cannot do enough for you. They are quietly in the background and the minute you need anything they appear. If you like the kind of holiday where you need relaxation in a lovely family atmosphere, this is the hotel for you.
A restaurant to try for a 'special' night out is the 'View' at the Hotel Magic.This is opposite the Skiathos Princess hotel. Not suitable for people with walking difficulties as there are alot of steps up to it but it is a lovely evening out with great food and as the name suggests, a beautiful view. The 'Green Meadow' is basic but nice and inland turning left out of the entrance to the Astoria and walk down the path to the 'Sunrise'. A warm welcome there with a variety of dishes. (You need a torch). A trip on the bus brings you to stop 24 and the 'Muses' taverna - very nice. I could go on writing, but to sum up we have already booked for next year at the Astoria which is a testimonial in its self.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wanderer056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahe
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Had a lovely holiday in Skiathos, beautiful island. Gorgeous sandy beaches all round.

Astoria very nice, good size room, clean, very trendy, ok balcony but not much of a view. Hairdryer pathetic. Good location for getting about either by car or very good reliable bus.
Supermarket 2mins away across the road, beach 4mins away not to busy begining of June.
Sun lounger rental 6euros for 2 with brollie. Prices much the same as england. Nice relaxing bar area with TV. Pool small but not crowded and very relaxing. Breakfast ok the usual cereal, bread, always scrabbled egg, bacon, german sausage, yogurt, etc.

Skaithos Town very quaint. Booked round the island boat trip, good but they stopped at shingly beaches only accessible by boat, killed your feet, snorkelling ok.
Windmill Restaurant a MUST, bit of a hike, make sure you book (+30 24270 24550) fine cuisine and lovely wine.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oakleyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troulos
0.8 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#6 of 84 in Skiathos
955 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
731 reviews
0.9 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
469 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
0.9 mi away
Magic Hotel
Magic Hotel
#3 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: Troulos Beach, Troulos 370 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Troulos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Troulos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Astoria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Skiathos/Troulos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing