We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From Kirsty, Darren and Jack”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Troulos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thanos Studios & Apartments
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Troulos
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“From Kirsty, Darren and Jack”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We (myself, partner and six year old son) have just returned from a week here.
Yes we walked through a meadow to get there but it has a path and wasn't what we thought after reading other reviews.
Don't be alarmed by what happens to your luggage when it is left behind at the airport and arrives at your accommodation an hour later. This is normal for Skiathos and we actually found the basic way of doing things there works better than the modern way (especially after someone Gatwick forgot to book in our plane to be unloaded and we waited 90 minutes for out bags).
You quickly adjust to the slow pace and the term "Greek Maybe Time" used by another reviewer sums it up perfectly. Thanos was so quiet and relaxing all the time, and was just what we wanted. We saw the staff working really hard though and their hard work paid off. The grounds were immaculate, the rooms and pool spotless (apart from the kamikaze wasps, crickets and flies taking a swim) and well cared for.
All the staff were so friendly and helpful always. It is clear they run a tight ship but everyone is happy.
This place is budget in price but actually is fairly upmarket for Skiathos. The wifi at the bar and restaurant works, there was plenty of hot water, the beds, cooking facilities and storage were adequate. Yes, you pay extra for TV, air con and safe, but we used none of these. The place is super safe so didn't need to use the safe, we had no desire to watch TV and air con wasn't required at this time of year. Given how much the holiday cost, I would be happy to pay for air con even at 45€ a week. Rooms are cleaned every day except Sunday.
We spent most days around the pool, hopping to different loungers when we wanted shade and this suited us perfectly.
We ate breakfast at the on site taverna every morning although the shop is very well stocked if you want to make your own. Prices are reasonable in the shop but toilet roll is VERY expensive 3.40€ for two rolls of cheap stuff, so take your own if you have space.
The taverna food was fresh and wonderfully cooked. The prices were about the same as other places on the island, but you are very well looked after, especially children. Nothing is too much trouble. We ate here twice but after eating elsewhere we came to the bar every evening for a quick drink while our son played with the other kids in the park (which you can see from the bar). It is clear children are very safe and the staff even chip in with entertaining them sometimes. We took drinks back to our studio from the bar too when it was bed time for our son.
Troulos beach is ten minutes walk at most where you can hire two loungers and a parasol for 8€ (pay at the restaurant on the beach).
Skiathos town is 2€ each on the bus that runs every 30 minutes until around midnight. Kids under a certain age go free but I didn't find out what the age is. 11 year olds go free, so the limit is high. The buses do get rammed in the evening. We used taxis a few times and paid no more than 12€ but you had to agree a price before you got in.
Be warned, mosquitos are rife due to the greenery of Troulos. Despite our best efforts we were bitten quite a lot outside. Lather on the repellent and cover up as much as possible after dark (as we ended up doing and it worked). Take a relief spray/cream just in case.
We had a wonderful holiday at Thanos and would like to go back next year. Everything we needed was close by and we loved the chilled out feel there. We were well looked after. A big BIG thank you to Stavros, Niko, Nicki (who deserves a pay rise ;-) ) and Ria (plus others we didn't learn the names of), for making the holiday unforgettable. We hope to see you again soon.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Simplydivine05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    31
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
43
58
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week with my wife and had a really enjoyable stay. It is clean, staff are very friendly and location is ideal for the beach, tavernas and away from any traffic. Onsite there is a taverna (serving good food at reasonable prices) and a small supermarket. My only real criticism would be that as the weather gets hotter air/con is available but only after paying an extra 45€ per week! Overall Thanos studios are a small and friendly place to stay to discover the beautiful island of Skiathos.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Cycleperry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Travelled with the wife between the 16th-23rd may and was very impressed with the accomodation and place itself etc..very clean and nothing too much trouble for stavros and his family..lovely restaurant and supermarket on site.5 minutes walk to a stunnning beach and some great bars/restaurants..if you fancy skiathos go to thanos its brilliant and easily accesible from bus stop 18/19

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Another excellent holiday at Thanos. Ideal location, short walk to beach, bus stops etc. small supermarket on site. Very good restaurant on site which can get busy at night.
Groom Therapy at next hotel - a superb band playing, blues & rock, excellent musicians.
Next time we come to Skiathos, we will book Thanos again.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank TheCelticCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sompting, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have just returned after a wonderful two week holiday at Troulos.We were made very welcome by Stavros and his staff. We stayed in studio 1,and found our accommodation to be of excellent standard .Their Sunrise Taverna served wonderful food ,with great service from Niki(sweetie)&Andrew. Only a ten minute walk to beautiful Troulos beach with a choice of tavernas. The only minus was 8 euros for two sun beds &an umbrella,a higher price than the many other Greek islands we have visited. We would not hesitate to recommend Thanos to anyone who would like a peaceful relaxing holiday .

Room Tip: All rooms very central & quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our first visit to Skiathos - and it won't be our last!

Having trawled through various options with both Thomson and Thomas Cook we plumped for Thanos Studios & Apartments in Troulos with Thomas Cook (Manos). What a great choice!

Stavros and his staff made us feel really welcome from the first minute and the facilities were excellent with a good pool, small shop - which sold everything! - and a brilliant taverna - Sunrise.

We checked out other places we had considered inc. Beltsios, Morphia and Green Meadows and have to say that Thanos was better than all of them.

Our favourite beach was Maratha (bus stop 22) but we also liked our local beach at Troulos Bay.

A special thank you to Nicki who made our stay very special. We will return in the future,

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room go for no's 12-17 - further away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RobertandDiana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were a bit surprised to have to hand our suitcases to 2 guys with a lorry when we arrived at Skiathos airport and then be told to walk across a field from the main road when the coach dropped us off saying our bags would be delivered to the apartments in an hour or two !! True to their word the cases arrived with no problem .
Stayed here for 1 week at the end of August , we had apartment 12 it was cleaned daily and we had everything we needed. The pool had plenty of of loungers and was a very relaxed environment. Everyone on the property was friendly and helpful and the whole place is so chilled out that you can`t help but relax. The location is excellent just a 10 minute stroll to the lovely beach of Troulos plenty of sun beds and umbrellas to rent for the day and places to eat and get refreshments. The local buses are excellent and a cheap way to travel there is only 26 bus stops up and down the island and its worth getting the bus into Skiathos town to see the traditional Greek Buildings and little streets . As for good eating you can`t beat the Sunrise Taverna on the site Stavros and his staff and family are really welcoming and the food is fantastic . You need a healthy appetite because the meals are generous to say the least !!
So finally Chill out ..relax ... get into GMT time ..( Greek maybe time !! ) and enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ValB766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troulos
0.7 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#1 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,045 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
763 reviews
0.9 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
488 reviews
2.4 mi away
Skiathos Club Hotel Suites
Skiathos Club Hotel Suites
#35 of 83 in Skiathos
93 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#1 of 1 in Katsarou
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanos Studios & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanos Studios & Apartments

Property: Thanos Studios & Apartments
Address: Troulos | Skiathos, Troulos 240 01, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Troulos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Troulos
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanos Studios & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Also Known As:
Thanos Studios & Apartments Hotel Troulos
Thanos Studios And Apartments
Thanos Studios & Apartments Skiathos/Troulos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing