We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite beach of the trip.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Falassarna Beach

Falassarna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our favorite beach of the trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent our first day here and enjoyed it so much that after 8 hours I could have stayed longer but the family was ready to go. There is nice sand at this beach and lovely rock formations to climb and take photos. We were on the right side of the main beach the first day. There is a steep incline to the water but it's all sand that can be played in and our friends with young children didn't have any problem. The next day we went to Elafonissi which was a disappointment in comparison. Maybe it was a bad day but we had high expectations after driving an hour to get there. So the third day, we went back to Falassarna beach and went further to the right of the main beach where you could have a bit smaller of a beach area but wonderful sand (and pink sand) and beautiful rock formations to explore. Not much to see in the way of snorkeling and the water was a bit warmer. The water was very cold the first day we were there. We found two great toilet areas behind the taverna on the main beach which was so nice as opposed to the outhouse that I had to pay to use in Elafonissi. Great beach days indeed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank o2blikehim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,206
    510
    106
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An afternoon on the beach....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

If you have the chance to make it out to the Falasarna beach - please do so. We spent the afternoon here and we had a great time - the water is clear and there was a slight breeze which caused waves and made swimming fun. Please stay and watch the sunset - it is truly spectacular!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Markhamfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The water is clear as it gets, it is also warm. A lot of space to swim and calm water.
You can choose to pay for a lounge chair and sun umbrella.
Another vantage is that this beach is not so crowed as other.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Trigueiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We drove under an hour from Xania to here. Was easy to get to and the view once you're driving down to the water is incredible. Clear turquoise waters, clean sand, and you can walk along to find even smaller stretches of sand if the organized beach is not for you. I walked north and found some tranquil and stunning spots to swim and gaze. Drive up to one of the taverns on the mountainside around sunset, so worth the day out here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank iamsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Long stretch of soft white sand beach, beautiful crystal-clear blue sea and the sunset is magnificent! It didn't feel crowded or touristy even in the middle of June. Sunbeds and umbrellas can be rented for 3 euro each, and there are several good tavernas or snack bars nearby. We had dinner at Adam taverna just up the road: beautiful view of the sea from their patio and the food was fresh and delicious!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lam1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Falassarna Beach also viewed

Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 
Akrotiri, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Falassarna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing