We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of Danny's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Danny's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Certificate of Excellence
blackpool
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Well what can i say this place is amazing all the other reviews on here cant all be wrong can they.We arrived two weeks ago and we were checked in and in our room within 5 minutes unpacked and in the pool within ten.There are two pools to chose from the main pool near the pool bar or the quite pool which we prefered most days.The family who run Dannys are by far the most amazing people i have ever met they will go out of there way to please you Yannis is crazy his mum and dad work so hard they are all amazing and the bannter between Yannis and Charlotte is great.The pool snack bar food is outstanding and the full English is the best i have ever had abroad you can get burgers pizzas toasties all for a very competitive price.The rooms are very good for Greece and the supermarket on site is also cheap.The town is Brill loads of good places to eat and drink.All in all a very good holiday we met loads of nice people and would go back tomorrow if we could but will have to wait until next year,

Room Tip: We had 124 very nice and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisblackpool41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    72
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
219
241
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Hatherleigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Second time at Danny's & we loved it. As last year we spent most of our days around one of the 2 beautiful pools they have on offer. Pools, rooms, bar, snack bar, shop etc all kept really clean & tidy. Beach a leisurely 15 min walk away from the hotel.

The food in the snack bar served during the day is of excellent quality & value for money & Yannis & his new assistant Charlotte who front the pool & snack bar could not be more friendly & attentive. They both kept us entertained every day, unfortunately for Charlotte she was so often on the receiving end of the joke & seemed to end up being thrown in the pool on a daily basis.

I was more than a little impressed when we entered the bar having just got out of the taxi & Jason who worked in the bar last year actually remembered that I drank Campari & Orange, what a memory & such a nice lad ! but everyone else in the bar Stelios, Rula & Joanna very friendly & attentive.

Shop well stocked and Dana & Dennis always have a friendly welcome & smile for you.

We do not have any negatives about this hotel at all, it was our second visit & we knew so many people from last year even though we were there a couple of weeks later than we were before. We fully understand why so many other customers keep going back year after year. We will definitely revisit ourselves & would highly recommend to others.

Nothing was too much trouble for anyone...

A special thank you to Yannis, Joanna, Charlotte, Dennis, Dana, Jason, Joanna, Stelios, Rula, Chef 'Sorry didn't get his name again this year' & Costas to name a few, sorry if I have missed anyone off... A special hello to the newest member of the team Yannis & Joanna's lovely daughter Adrianna.

Do not change anything Yannis - You don't need to !!

Love .... Kevin & Sheila xxx

Room Tip: Top floor room with balcony facing pool & snack bar would be our choice first choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WattsofDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at Danny's Hotel and had a great time. The rooms are clean and spacious and the outside area includes 2 swimming pools, jacuzzi, pool bar which serves food during the day, another bar where evening entertainment takes place and supermarket. There are plenty of sunbeds. The complex is kept clean to a high standard and the rooms are cleaned every day. There are restaurants, shops and bars nearby and the beach is a 10 min walk. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful..
In terms of suggestions for improvements, I can only think of a couple of minor things - the curtain in our room should be replaced, some of the towels could be replaced and mattresses could be softer. Other than that, I cannot find fault in anything major with the complex.
We had an excellent time and would recommend this complex to all ages. We also recommend the restaurant across the road, Vrisaki, the ice cream shop and trips to Kefalonia and to see the turtles.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeborahMulvihill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Just returned from a great stay here at Danny's and my wife and I can honestly say that is the most welcome we have ever felt in all of the places we have stayed. From the moment Yannis shook our hands when we arrived to the time that he helped us with our cases when we left. What a fabulous person.
Our check in was so quick, we were met off the bus by Yannis and offered a choice of ground or first floor and helped to our room by Costas. The room was spotlessly clean but basic, which was fine by us as we only use it for sleeping and washing and breakfast now and again. Beds were quite comfy for being abroad and a nice little balcony which had the sun on it to enjoy a cold one while my wife was getting ready to go out.
The pool area was brilliant and this is where we spent most of the day not because it was an amazing pool but the people who worked here and made sure that your holiday was a special one, Yannis and his wonderful family, Charlotte and the helpers and lastly the Chefs. The snacks that they made here were really nice, reasonably priced and ample portions. Washed down with an ice cold Mythos served in a frosted glass. Where else can you get 2 quarter pounders in a bap with bacon and cheese served with chips and coleslaw for 4 Euros. I had to question the bill at the end of it because I thought Charlotte had undercharged us.
It has a great little shop which will meet all your needs run by Yannis' parents, lovely people. And I'm sure if they haven't got it they'll get it for you.
It also has a great bar which we called in most nights great Karaoke nights here, The Greek Night is a must at only 8 Euros for a lovely BBQ and all the staff get involved, great dancers, but you've just got to get involved. Great staff here again.
Alykanas is also a great place with so many restaurants and bars. I won't tell you which are the best restaurants, because they are all equally good. We didn't have a bad meal in 11 nights. Our favourite watering holes after food were Busters and Zeus Bar. Great staff and music in both. There are great walks around here as well with great views.
This is by far the most enjoyable holiday that my we have had in Europe, we are already looking to go back next year maybe with my brother, his wife and 2 kids. As we told Yannis when we left, Don't change anything here, this place is perfect. We can see why so many people want to return here year after year. Once again Thanks to Yannis and his wonderful family and staff. Already miss you witty banter. Rylan and Sian xxxx

Room Tip: If you like the sun in the evening, ask for room 205
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cwrcyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

have just returned from a 1 week stay at ioannis& dannys hotel. yanni and staff were excellent
rooms second to none, good entertainment at night,bar staff very friendly.wonderful and relaxing holiday. would recommend a stay

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevor j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at Danny's and had to write a review.

Upon arrival we were all very happy with how clean the rooms were and they smelt very clean too (we were a party of 7 so had 4 rooms). 1 of our party members had to wait for his room as it wasn't ready when we arrived, but Yanni kindly gave him a free Mythos (bottle of local Beer) as an apology, which was a lovely gesture, and was enjoyed whilst soaking up some Greek Sunshine.

As we had a very young baby with us and we had booked as a group it wasn't stated which room needed a travel cot so one was put in each room to ensure the baby had somewhere to sleep. The family room was a fantastic size with plenty of room for us to bring the pram inside and still lots of room to move around.

1 of the party members had a slight issue with the cleaner, but this was promptly rectified once Yanni was informed.

Both pools and surrounding areas/grounds were very clean and very well maintained, the bushes and flowers were very well kept and made the surroundings very pleasant.

The pool bar was also very clean, food and service were completely faultless and the prices for food and drinks were fantastic value, it's a shame the food isn't served slightly later as we would have enjoyed a meal there as the food was so lovely, we all think Yanni is missing a trick here, especially as there are quite a few young families there, would be very handy to get your evening meal at the hotel. We would highly recommend the cocktails and fruit smoothies. The customer service is also fab, and certainly nothing is too much trouble when it comes to Yanni, he really is fantastic and genuinely wants his guests to have an enjoyable holiday. Also Charlotte is an asset to the poolside bar.

Although we didn't use the evening bar very much, when we did use it we had a very enjoyable evening, we can highly recommend the Greek Night. The bar staff were so friendly, even if we weren't using the bar, each time we walked past in the evenings they would always speak to us and come and see the baby.

The shop was well stocked with all the conveniences that you would need. We also experienced fab customer service from the gentleman in the shop as he helped us with buying bottled water that was suitable for using to mix our baby's formula milk.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday at Danny's, yes we did hear the noise from the bar at night times, but this is only to be expected when on holiday. We would all recommend staying at Danny's. If we decide to visit Zante again in the future, we wouldn't hesitate at going to stay at Danny's again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Returned today from a fantastic two weeks at Ioannis & Danny's Hotel .First impressions, attractive apartments surrounding a beautiful pool with a pretty terrace area to enjoy a drink or a meal. A warm welcome from Ioannis who genuinely wishes his guests to have a lovely holiday. He reminded us that anything we need, to see him. Our studio,room 308, on the third floor was very spacious. Even though it was just the two of us,the room could have easily slept four.There were ample utensils for preparing food,a decent size fridge,toaster,kettle and two ring hob,which even though we ate out for the majority of the time was very useful to have.The studios are kept very clean by the cheerful cleaning ladies and everyone there is very friendly.The whole place had a great atmosphere and was very relaxing. There was a variety of entertainment such as the evening quiz,pool tournament,karaoke and Greek night. You could spend your whole holiday here if you wanted as there was also a good choice of meals available at a very reasonable cost and its pleasant to eat your food on the terrace overlooking the swimming pool. Another thing,there are in fact two pools here,the other more quieter one is next door at Kali Pigi,plus plenty of comfy sunbeds around both pools Our favourite beach area was near the Ammos Bar which was about a 15 minute stroll. A couple of helpful tips are to take a hair dryer if you need one and also a travel line and pegs to hang out your "smalls".Really can't wait to go back here and enjoy the family's hospitality again.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have better views of the pool area.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank swanseajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.4 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#3 of 7 in Alykanas
219 reviews
9.1 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#5 of 7 in Alykanas
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 51 in Tsilivi
433 reviews
4.6 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grapevines Hotel
Grapevines Hotel
#6 of 7 in Alykanas
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danny's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danny's Hotel

Property: Danny's Hotel
Address: Alykanas 29090, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danny's hotel is set in an excellent location making it ideal for a relaxing stay, but it is very close to the centre of Alykanas - so all that you will need is within easy reach. Danny's hotel is comprised of three attractive buildings set in landscaped gardens. We are a family run business and we aim to please all our customers; many of whom return year after year. We look forward to welcoming you to Danny's Hotel and the beautiful island of Zakynthos, as well as helping you to have a wonderful holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Danny's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danny's Hotel Zakynthos/Alykanas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing