We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel of two sides”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Letsos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Letsos
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hotel of two sides”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Up on arrival was handed over key to room number 1 which is located above the bar this room is a disgrace and should not be given to animals never lone humans. After complaining was moved to room number 9 where the toilet flooded and smelt like sewage. After complaining some more we were finally moved to room number A5 which is basic but satisfactory, although for a self catering holiday no kettle was provided or enough cups for a family of four. although we don't cook on holed if you do their is no possible was to do this as it takes 3 hours to boil some water! Equipment is poor. You will only get new towels ever 4-5 days and on one occasion our 'clean' towels were filthy and had clearly been used. After bringing this to the owner of the hotel he did not apologise and infect was rude which did not surprise us as only cares about himself and money.
If you have booked this hotel try to make sure you are in the main hotel which is a lot cleaner. Luckily all other hotels and some bars have pool's which are open to all.
Alykanas is a lovely location with many positive features but do your best not to book the Letsos.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Val C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    120
    95
    86
    239
See reviews for
213
260
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Spent two weeks at the Letsos Hotel. Don't expect anything special, the rooms are very basic with very poor self catering facilities. Air con costs 50 euros a week and they claim that the units do not need a remote to use! I don't understand how you are then expected to actually change the temperature! After some moaning at reception we were finally given a remote!

Upon arrival the fridge was leaking due to it being unplugged but still full of ice! Kitchen utensils included only two bread knifes making it difficult to prepare any food. Did not even attempt to use the 'hobs'!!

The air conditioning units do have a habit of leaking but this can easily be fixed by emptying the bottle of water outside, which you sometimes have to do yourself.

They will ask you not to buy drinks and food from elsewhere when sat around the pool however their pricing is ridiculous. They charge 3 euros for a large bottle of water when you can buy 6 large bottles for 1 euro 60 at the local supermarket.

As previously stated, there seems a definite difference in the quality of rooms depending on wether you are placed in the new or old part of the hotel. Try to stay in the main hotel and avoid the rooms over the pool bar.

It didn't spoil our holiday as the area of Alykanas is fantastic, would recommend Bonkers Bar and The Mill (near the beach). Both of which have free pools open to all and owners that are extremely accommodating. Try the Mill Bar for an evening meal of meze on their beautiful sun terrace.

Worst comes to worst Letsos will be ok to stay if you are desperate, me and my girlfriend read all the reviews before we went and we were worried to say the least but used it just as a base to get our heads down and spent very limited time at the pool, preferring to go to the other places mentioned above.

Good luck!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank butlerad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alykanas hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

we stayed at the letsnot last year and we have holidayed in greece for the last 12 years so we dont expect luxury and know its allways basic. but this place is the pits. the owner is a misserable git who needs to go to the hills and stay their out the way.the rooms are the worst in greece. its a shame because this place gives lovely alakanas a bad name. even the locals dislike the letsos.claim your compensation from the holiday companies because they wont do anything. theyre allright to take your money though.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clive b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

we spent our ruby anniversary here first impression looked nice then first hand shake with the owner nice smile and a greeting then when i refused to pay 100 euros for air con face changed 90 he replied no i said we will see how we get on with out it. Greek Greek he said like he dont understand english the wife turned up saaid very hot you need air con so my hubby said ok 90 he was then marched over to the shop (which they owe as well) to pay the owner didnt speak the whole of the time i stood there waiting for hubby. We met lovely couples there and shared horror stories about the owner. 5 euros a day for a cot, 165.00 euros to move you if room was not suitable (ours was ok but wouldnt cook in it a bit dirty) bar area filthy, 60 e for taxi to airport (should be up to 27 e) charged lady extra 50e (150) for air con in her kids bedroom when remote would turn them all on anyway and my one turned on nxt doors. some people bought fans from shops (not he's) a lot cheeper from 20e. we didnt stay round letsos we went to nxt town and had a wonderfull time greek people are fantastic except the owner of letsos

Room Tip: rooms at the back over looking fields with goats and a cow very peacefull
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I always find the more objective reviews on here most helpful, so will do my best to stay with the facts.

Letsos is very close to the beach and local amenities, although some rooms must suffer slightly from their close proximity to the pool bar/ closest taverna. The pool is clean and suitable for cooling off and children playing. We stayed in a 1st floor self-catering studio in the main hotel, room was clean, quiet, and met our needs. It’s worth mentioning that your cooking facilities amount to a fridge, sink and 2 ring electric hob, no kettle or toaster but the pans and utensils provided make it easy to work around this. There's no denying the room had small imperfections, the exposed wires in the shower, the missing bits on furniture. However, the beds and bathroom were clean, as was the cooking area, (maid cleaned 4 times during our week stay) I guess it’s down to the individual what's seen as important. Aircon comes in at 50 euros a week, while a safety deposit was 15, of the two I would say most people should treat the aircon as an essential. It’s also worth mentioning that many travel companies don’t have much of a rep presence in these resorts due to size.

Now the less objective..

Our experience of Letsos was largely positive, however there was no escaping the fact that other peoples was less so. When we checked in I was chatting to the owner, during which time he switched our room assignment with another waiting party, stating something about room size. We bumped into the family during the week and learned about a multitude of issues including dodgey aircon, a flooded sink and blocked toilet (there was a definite feeling of a bullet dodged). Our rep, on asking about our room, seemed surprised when I was happy and went on to tell me that he was forever having to deal with room issues in the property and that we were "lucky to end up where you have". By the end of the holiday it had become a trend that other guests would ask 'how are you finding the hotel?' and proceed to reveal their own gripes, some trivial but some rather worrying.

We loved Alakanes and found our room in Letsos a good base to adventure out from. However, the evidence suggests ours was not the general experience. Were we happy enough with our room, yes. Would we go back to that room, probably. But if it fell to having to be 'lucky' just to avoid an unpleasant room, no I'd pass.

Room Tip: The main hotel seems to have the lions share of better rooms. I got the impression those off the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Just got back from a 10 day stay at Hotel Letsos and this is our (two adults and two teenagers) honest opinion! First impressions lovely, a bit concerned that it is situated on a (main-ish) road but pool, bar and reception area all good. Greeted by the lovely Melanie (who is unfailingly cheerful, helpful, patient and appears to do and know everything...if she ever leaves Letsos will be finished - Thanks so much Mel for all your help during our stay.x) who gave us keys to Room 1, above the bar. I had specifically asked not to be put above the bar when I booked but thought I would see the room and make my own mind up.....to be frank the room was appalling - no proper window coverings, not what I would call clean, damp marks on the walls and very cramped for four adults and I was horrified. Straight back to reception and asked Mel nicely if there was another room free and explained I had booked a maisonette/2 bed apartment for 4, not a small studio which was what we had been given. She shuffled things on her system and gave us another room..this one was a two room self catering apartment in another block much further down the road towards the beach. We were okay with the 2nd room and even though it was far from perfect it was okay. Clean enough with fresh towels and sheets but still small for 4 adults - we had a very small sofa bed that should sleep 2 but only big enough for one and a single bed in the lounge/kitchen/diner/bedroom part and a separate double bedroom. Nowhere to sit and relax though and I certainly wouldn't call it comfortable but it was okay as all we wanted it for was to sleep and shower in. Kitchen facilities made us smile - two rings and that was that! Didn't bother us as none of us had any intention of cooking anything but if you do cook on holiday you may want to bear this in mind. We had no kettle and when we asked for one we were told it was 2 Euros a day to hire!!!! My husband pointed out that surely as self catering we needed and deserved a kettle but no joy....so we used the only saucepan to boil water for coffee in! The kitchen sink had no draining board which also made us smile. The maid came in every day and emptied the bins and made the beds and that was about it unless she left us clean towels or changed our sheets. Bathroom floor was mopped every day as it flooded when you showered (as does every Greek room I have ever stayed in!!) but other floors were not mopped in the 10 days we were there and they weren't swept very well either. Bathroom and kitchen sink weren't cleaned either. I did have to ask for clean towels and for our sheets to be changed as I don't think they would have been done if I hadn't but I asked Mel if it was possible and she sorted it for me, no problem. We had 3 lots of towels and 2 sheet changes in 10 days which was okay by us. The air-con was hugely expensive (70 euros per unit per day so 140 Euros for a two room apartment for 10 days) but impossible to sleep without it but again its personal choice whether you pay it or not. Even though our room overlooked the street and we had two bars and a taverna within spitting distance, I can truly say all four slept well every night, in fact we all commented on how quiet the place is at night! We refused to let any of the bad irritating niggles spoil our holiday but if I'd spent time moaning and groaning about it all it would have annoyed me a great deal. On the positive side Alykanas is a lovely small resort that tries to retain its Greek roots whilst catering for all nationalities of tourists! Beach is lovely and very safe if you have little children with two nice places for snacks and drinks right on the beach. Watersports on beach in front of Alykanas Village hotel were the cheapest and sunbeds were 5 euro for two with an umbrella all day. Go to Cozy Corner for breakfast - very reasonably priced and so friendly too. Best restaurant in town is by far La Caretta - great fresh food with a real Greek family feel - perfect! We liked DNA bar best to sit in the evenings - nice atmospehere and friendly too. We had a lovely holiday in Alykanas in spite of Letsos not because of it. We had far far superior accommodation in Corfu last year with much cheaper air con, for a lot less money than we paid for Letsos. I would go back to Zante in a heartbeat and will definitely go back to Alykanas one day but would not stay at Letsos again.

Room Tip: Ask Melanie politely what else is free if you aren't happy - she will be helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cullies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

we had 2 weeks in the letsos hotel at the end of july 12 and as the other reviews mention this is a badly run hotel! i dont mind paying an extra 100 euros for airconditioning if it worked properly but it didn't, especially the second week when the hotel was busier.(and on no occassion did it cool the upstairs bedroom, where the children were meant to sleep, therefore we ended up having 4 of us sharing 2 beds downstairs - the owners would have been totally aware of this when they gave us this room!!!!) we did mention to reception the first day that the airconditioning unit leaked water down over the sockets, but they did nothing about it and we awoke the next morning to the room being flooded and our belongings all wet!! when we complained again to the chap in the bar he came up and fixed it for us.
Having travelled to greece numerous times over the past 20 years, this has to be the worst accomodation that we have ever stayed in, the grating in the bathroom floor was broken and very dangerous expecially for children, one of the beds had nails sticking out of the side of it, and the sockets were all in a very bad condition - all in all you really needed to have your wits about you when staying in this hotel. It also became clear after our first time mentioning our concerns to reception that they were not interested, and after speaking to other locals the hotel was well known in the resort for not looking after its guests very well and having power cuts when no where else was having this problem ?!
However having said all that, the hotel is located very well, 5 mins walk to the beach and 1 min walk to the restaurants and bars of Alykanas. The pool is a good size and there was always sunloungers available so my basic advise is this is not the hotel to come to for a relaxing family holiday, but if you have your wits about you and you dont mind roughing it for a week or two then Hotel Letsos is an option if you can get a good deal.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the car park looked ok and this side of the hotel is in a better condition, rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Irish_JudithC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.3 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#4 of 7 in Alykanas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#5 of 7 in Alykanas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
4.5 mi away
Eco Resort Zefyros
Eco Resort Zefyros
#3 of 5 in Tragaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Savvas Hotel
Savvas Hotel
#63 of 77 in Laganas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ikaros Hotel
Ikaros Hotel
#57 of 77 in Laganas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
4.6 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Letsos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Letsos

Property: Hotel Letsos
Address: Alykanas PC 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Letsos 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Letsos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Letsos Hotel Alykanas
Hotel Letsos Zakynthos/Alykanas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing