We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow what a great holiday didnt want to leave”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alykanas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alykanas Village Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Alykanas
Reviewed August 30, 2009

well what a great place alykanas village its faultless. had a fantastic time there would recommend it to anyone. there were four adult, four children and i baby in our party we had three rooms and on the day of check out we got one of our rooms extended for 30 euros, which was fantastic as we were not due to leave until 5pm so had another day there. entertainment staff were fantastic kept us all entertained all day. rooms were spotless cleaned everyday and towels and bedding changed every other day. lovely beach. pools cleaned regularly. thompson staff very helpful, so were hotel staff. food in beach side restaurant excellant but shut too early. weather brilliant.all in all a brilliant time was had by all. will be going back. locals very friendly always welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charmain11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,004 - 1,010 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2009

Just returned after 2 weeks at these apartments. The rooms were kept spotless by the hard working cleaning staff although some of the exterior areas need some attention.
Lots of uneven tiles for the unsuspecting child (or adult) to cut their feet on. Kids went to kids club and had a great time. The ents staff kept all the family entertained all day and worked really hard in the evening to entertain everyone. Felt they were let down by the venue which lacked atmosphere (a bit like a large rec hall!!!). Downside to the "entertainment" were the cabaret acts flown in from the UK.
Did a trip to Olympia which was well worth the money (although a very long day) advise to take lots of frozen water with you as does get hot whilst looking around the site. Avoid the Thomson's Greek night. Not very good and not wotrth the money spent. Would advise instead the Friday night Greek Night at the Mill Bar. Unfortunately only discovered this gem on the last night.
Favourite restuarants were the Nerada, the lemon tree, The Apollo and the one beginning with P on the road to Alykes!!!!
Went to wine tasting festival in Alykes which was fab. You even get the chance to trample some grapes.
All in all a great holiday. Enjoyed so much we have already booked for next year!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillyMillom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

This is a good hotel and value for money. The Manager, Gloria was lovely and could not be more helpful.
It is interesting to read about others having same problem re checkout. Thomsons reps keen to book tours and take your money-but not one of them mentioned checkout time. It cost me 50Euros to keep the room until 3am departure. Thomsons are not interested. I wrote a complaint and they replied that the information is in their brochure. IT IS SO NOT!!!!!When I replied to ask them exactly where in their brochure I could find this information pertaining to my holiday I was not even given the courtesy of a reply. I see from another review that they are even denying that there have been other complaints.
Don't let it stop you going but have departure time from hotel confirmed at time of booking.
0/10 Thomsons

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lani17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Had a wonderful stay in the 200 block. Very hot in august so it was nice to have a choice of three lovely pools and the beach only 50 metres away. Lots of nice restaurants and bars. If you want good english food, I can highly recommend the 'Cosy Corner' , just outside the appartment complex. The 'Lemon Tree' restaurant provide a horse and cart ride from the appartments for 5 euros. On the down side - check your booking out times. We had to leave our room at 10 o clock in the morning and our coach was due to pick us up at 0230 the following morning ( over 16 hrs. ) We were offered another room in block 800 but had to pay another 50 Euros and suffer loud music up to about 1 o clock !! Overall excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Galaxyman999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Alykanas Village proved to be an excellent complex. The apartments were ideal for our group of 8 (three generations). The Thomson Themed Rooms were a great bonus, and the kids (aged 4, 7 and 10) had a great time at their activities, giving parents and grandparents hours of peace!
Excellent pools, but the sea was best, as it was cooler. Very safe, even on the windy days, when we had great fun in the waves.
Cleaning of the apartments was faultless, and all the staff were really friendly. The Thomsons Reps worked really hard.
Alykanas and Alykes have lots of nice places to eat. The Lemon Tree Garden became a favourite, perhaps because of the Horse & Carriage trip to get there. We love Greek food, and had no problems finding it at its best.
Our one concern was the shortage of sunbeds and sunshades round the pool - even going down at 7.30 am there were few beds left, some mornings.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike_Dunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Just read the review dated 4th August and interested to see that people are still being misled about check out times. Mid morning departures are expected to vacate their rooms some 20 hours prior to flight time. They are not being properly informed that their first day's accommodation begins at 1000hrs the day prior to their arrival. I was one of several people to complain about this in May at the beginning of the season. Thomson's position is that it is clearly stated in booking documentation. I have retained my booking information - nothing! Thomson staff at the resort also had the opportunity to advise holidaymakers properly and they did nothing. Still complaining and still being stonewalled. Bad ending to an otherwise good holiday. Not surprised that Alykanas Village is now slipping in the ratings. Wake up Thomson and sort it out!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

I agree with Charlotte from Nuneaton below!
We got back late Monday - rain and 15 degrees. This place is not 4 star, but who cares. We had a great holiday - one of our best ever from a family point of view. Took our 2 year old and 10 year old. There is so much to do for all that the 10 nights that we had were just not enough. Pools, beach, rooms, bar. local restaurants, people....all just fine. Weather stunning.
Bit of a surprise to have to pay for air con and the cost of safety deposit box but only the cost of 2 beers per day. Had read all the TripAdviser notes before going so had Lemon Tree, Alyconosis, Cosy Corner and Dilema Bar near the hotel had all been recommended - all great especially Lemon Tree for the kids as you get to go by horse and cart! We would add Vagis, Letsos Hotel cocktail bar on the walk home (2.50 euros per go cant be bad). Loved Amos beach bar just along from the hotel - bit more caribbean than Zante but great. Oasis bar a bit further along also good. The Nerdida (spelt wrong I am sure - but had had a lot of wine) is the beach taverna along from the hotel at the end of the beach was excellent and well worth a trip. Great view and really good food - also cant beat a walk back to the hotel along the beach.
We have used TripAdviser many times and just found it to work for us. Thought it was time we gave some notes back. All in all this is an excellent place and can see why many families that we spoke to have gone back and back. You are bound to get so grumpy reviews about odd things that people dont like (Gloris is fine really and very helpful) - any family going will have a great holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulfmould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.2 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#3 of 8 in Alykanas
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#6 of 8 in Alykanas
442 reviews
8.9 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#14 of 73 in Laganas
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Eco Resort Zefyros
Eco Resort Zefyros
#1 of 1 in Agios Kirikos
247 reviews
5.9 mi away
Petros Hotel
Petros Hotel
#21 of 51 in Tsilivi
404 reviews
3.3 mi away
Arkadia Hotel
Arkadia Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kypseli
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alykanas Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alykanas Village Hotel

Address: Alikanas, Alykanas 290 90, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Alykanas
Price Range: $12 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 216
Also Known As:
Alykanas Village Hotel Zakynthos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing