We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for kids and parents” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alykanas Village Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alykanas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alykanas Village Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for kids and parents”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2009

Booked the Alykanas Village largely as a result of the good reviews on tripadvisor and the abundance of pools on the Thomson website pictures. Very glad we did, we loved Alykanas and will definitely return.

We travelled with a 4-year old and 1-year old and have just returned from a fantastic weeks stay at the hotel.

The rooms are fine, we hardly spent any time in them at all but when we did we had everything we needed. The pools are a major feature of this hotel and our kids loved them. It isn;t what you would call a quiet hotel but that was fine for us.

The location is superb, directly overlooking the beach. The brochures describe the beach as a thin sliver of sand, but walk literally 2 minutes and there is a decent expanse in a very picturesque spot overlooking a small shipwreck. We spent a great deal of our holiday in this spot on the beach, including going back at sunset to watch the sun go down against a glorious backdrop.

The brochures describe Alykanas as a very small resort. This is true, but there is more than enough in the way of restaurants/tavernas, shops and bars if you are with a family. We found a couple of really good restaurants which we would recommend to anybody, namely the Mantalena and the Paradosiako. The Paradosiako in particular was first rate and sits on the main road between Alykanas and Alykes.
http://www.mantalena.com/taverna_en_index.php
http://www.paradosiako.com.gr/en_index.php

The kids reps looked great, although our kids preferred to stay with mum and dad, and the daily visit of Thomson the Dog was eagerly anticipated by all!

Things to do:
- Get a horse drawn carriage (taxi) with the kids to Alykes, ours loved it
- Head down to the beach near the shipwreck
- Visit the Mill Bar adjacent to the beach, very nice atmosphere during the day and the cold beers are a welcome relief from the heat
- Visit the restaurants mentioned above
- Take the trianiaki trip - a small train journey from the resort at 12.5 euros each per adult. Great fun, 2.5 hours of sightseeing and wine

To note:
- Zante airport is hopeless and on our return trip there was no food available whatsoever except for chocolate in the duty free shop. This was compounded by the Thomson flight having zero food available (except for chocolate). Hence some very wired kids aboard our flight! Take your own provisions for the return journey.
- The reps welcome meeting wasn't great - why don't they tell us what we actually want to know such as best supermarkets etc rather than try to flog overpriced excursions? By the way the excursions are all available at 50% of the price in the resort itself
- The food at the hotel itself is very pricey!
- Make sure you pre-book and pay for your cot for the room. We were assured by Portland that we had but on arrival were stung for extra money

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank MRD31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    349
    168
    44
    27
See reviews for
757
127
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2009

We have just arrived back from a really lovely week at the Alykanas Village :-( depression has set in already lol. We (couple in late 20's) took out 3 year old daughter.
The brochure / Thompson site pics really dont do it justice. We were lucky enough to have a sea/pool/mountain view room, the view is STUNNING! I was over the moon. If you can try and reserve rooms go for 102/103/104 or 105, ground floors rooms with seaview.The island is beautiful and the people are so friendly. I rate all as following:

Location - as above, stunning. Quiet, a family resort, but it was the start of the season and I think things get a little livlier as the summer begins. The hotel is set right on the beach / v calm waters, ideal for the kids.

Hotel - Fab location, rooms are little more basic than I would like but the location makes up for this I think. We had a studio with kitchenette, which was really useful, we self catered on a couple of occasions, nice eating lunch with that view! Minor niggly things - crap pillows, no decent TV channels (BBC Worldwide) MTV in German with occasional american dubbed feature! A kids hotel should have some kids channels, you are not likely to be out raving it up all night when you have little ones so a few decent channels would be a real bonus. V loud bathroon aircon - basically if someone gt up in the night for the loo you could hear their bathroom aircon for miles, this woke me up on occasion.

Staff - Super, all friendly, approachable etc,

Best restaurants/ bars -
Nerada, gorgeous Greek restaurant on the beach, come down to the beach, turn right and walk to the v end of the beach, just pass the new "shipwreck"
Cosy Corner - ideal for breakfasts and the odd english dinner. Not a very exciting menu but suits those Brits who are not so adventerous! has a bouncy castle in the evenings to keep the kids happy
Dionosis - very freindly, good Greek food and play area for kids
The Windmill Bar - We went the Greek night / BBQ they hols every Friday night. EXCELLENT! Was the best night of our holiday, so much fun and dancing and the food was great too.
Dilemma - v freindLy couple run this, great play area for the kids and they do a mean Pina Colada!
The Pool bar on the village was great for snacks, we had tasty toasties for lunch most days, kept the costs down.

Trips = dont book through Thompson, sadly they do rip people off, why??? We booked our trips with Tony at Pelargus? (or similar) tours. He is located past the big/main supermarket in Alykanas, massive water park sign there. We did the water park - Water Village, excellent, I am not usually a big fan and prefer to sunbathe but I was up and down those slides like a yoyo, they were REALLY good! Lots for small kids as has seperate, water chutes / slides for kids and lots of other bits.
We also did a cruise around the island and saw shipwreck cove (beautiful) and swan at the blue caves, def worth doing.

And last but not least, the Kids Clubs. What can we say, they were fab, and we only used them a couple of times! You can drop your little ones off for a 2 hour slot every morning / afternoon depending on age and then on Mon/Wed/Fri you can book them into an evening session from 6.30-8.30pm, to allow you to go and have a nice romantic QUIET! dinner, it was soo nice. The reps were amazing and so good with the kids. The evening entertainment / disco every night was really nice for the kids (if a little tedious for the adults!) but those guys do a sterling job.
and the big bonus - Thompson The Dog. lol. My daughter is still talking about him.
Overall, a smashing holiay and we will def be returning and/or using another Thompson family resort. Very well done.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank kezlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2009

We have just returned from a wonderful week in the Alykanas Village Apartments. The representatives were very professional and kept the children entertained from morning until night. The accommodation whilst basic, was clean and comfortable. We were delighted to discover four single beds in studio accommodation instead of the usual sofa bed. The location was excellent and we enjoyed the walk along the beach to Alikes, stopping off at Jimmy's Snack Bar (a mind of information) just over the river into Alikes. The restuarants and food within the area was superb. We tended to concentrate on traditional Greek tavernas and this proved a hit with adults and children. The Greek welcome was fantastic and friendly. A walk to Katastari town proved a little tiresome for the children and on enquiring about taxi services in one taverna, we were immediately offered a lift by the owner's father, who would not accept payment - this really restored our faith in people! I would not hesitate to return to the area. One word of warning - we were the first plane to arrive at the start of the season - not all places had opened and first impressions were that we had arrived at a ghost town. It did slowly come to life but on leaving 7 days later, there were still only about 50% of shops and restaurants open. So if you like lots of choice, go much later in the season (also guaranteed better weather!). However, this did not stop our enjoyment and we found lots of fantastic places to eat. Recommend: Apollo in Alykanas (wonderful food and service), Pondarosa and Paradosiako in Alikes. The bars of: Bonkers and Delimma were lovely places for families, excellent service and Delimma in particular had lots to keep the children entertained.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheWelshFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2009

We stayed at the Alykanas village hotel for a week and we had an amazing time. It was the first time we travelled as a family with our baby son aged 8 months old, we were a bit worried but it went better than we could have expected.
The hotel staff and thomson staffs were great. The hotel is beautiful with a few big pools and seafront setting, we were very lucky as we got a seaview room and is close to restaurants and shops. Alykanas is a nice and quiet resort.
Our son particularly enjoyed the babyzone, the soft play area and thomson the dog.
We went on 2 excursions while we were there: we really enjoyed the shipwreck trip with beautiful views and interesting guide ; we also went on the turtle cruise which we found boring, there was not much to see and 7 hours on a noisy boat is a very long time, we did not see any turtles.
We hired a car for the day which was great as we had the time to drive round the island and go to the blue caves by boat (another nice trip).
All in all a very enjoyable holiday, a special thank you to all the thomson reps.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tigger25Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2008

Stayed here for a week on Sept 8th with husband and 3 year old son. My son loved the kids pool. The hotel is right on the beach and the water is very shallow and ideal for kids.

The hotel is clean and rooms adequate. Unfortunately our room, 312 I think it was, was over the middle pool and could be noisy in the day if you happened to be in your room as the reps were talking on the mic or music playing. But was not going on for too long though but it is a family fun place after all.

Our son went in the creche 3 times (went in the younger one as still in nappies but loved every minute) with the Thomson reps and loved it. (15 euros each session) He went 3.30 to 5.30 twice and 6.30 - 9.30 twice. So thank you Bubbly Becky, Zippy Zara and Super Sarah! Our son did painting and made a penguin outfit and all his paintings etc went in a folder to take home.

Must go on the Trainaki and also go again in for evening trip to Spiros'restaurant, great food, great fun and great hospitality.
There are plenty of restaurants to go to and most family friendly with play areas.

Went for breakfast at The Cosy Corner nearly everyday (where the horse and carts usually are in the evenings) near the hotel and Dilemma Bar for cocktails in the evening - Sky sports tv there as well!

Tip, if you have very young children who need feeding early, our son loved his spag bol in the Cosy Corner. So he ate here about 5 - 6pm ish and when we went out for our dinner, we chose a restaurant with enclosed play area and could see him play whilst we ate in relatative peace without having to worry about him eating and sitting still. Just got him a drink and ice cream!

Would deifinately go back again.

  • Liked — Family friendly and location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FST1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2008

Stayed at the Alykanas Village in October for one week as the family wanted a week just to chill out. The hotel was well situated right on the beach, close to the shops, bars and restaurants. The rooms were cosy and clean although the beds were a little bit hard. We werent happy with the view from our room and requested another room with a view and there was no problem. The staff were very accommodating and allocated us a room without any trouble. The kids club was fun and the kids were well entertained, with daily activities around the pool for which prizes were given.

The weather is good this time of year but very chilly in the evenings. This resort is great for a chill out but in the summer more bars and restaurants would be open and I think this would be a great venue for all ages. Enjoyed it very much.

  • Liked — The football pitch and the kids clubs
  • Disliked — Lack of proper restaurant in the hotel
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelboy4250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2008

Our stay was at the end of the season so it wasn't too busy but it also meant that there weren't many restaurants open so it was tough trying to figure out where to eat. Food was catered towards tourist purses so a dinner for 3 would set you back between Eu50 - 70 in total and many items were no longer available and to be honest, didn't taste that authentic to me. But if you like your English food then you'll have no problem finding it to eat.

The hotel was clean, spacious and friendly. I didn't attend any of the family events or evening entertainment so I cannot comment on them. My expectations weren't high in terms of what to expect because this is a Greek Island we're talking about with limited resources. Anything broken had been patched in the most creative way but at least it had been fixed. Cleaners came in everyday and washed floors, cleaned bathrooms and made beds. One tip, don't leave your towels or costume out to dry over night - the island has a high humidity point at night and you'll find them wetter than when you put them there! For a deposit of Eu5 you can hire towels for the pool which by the way, closes at 6pm each day (along with the small restaurant onsite).

We hired the car through Thompson's deal with Eurocar for 3 days and explored the island - every inch of it. If you can't stand the loud music in the resort along with the reps blaring out quizes every couple of hours (it was so loud we'd have to close the balacony doors just so we could speak to each other!) then heading out is a great option. We loved St Nicholas beach down south of Argassi. Great stop there for lunch in Argassi called Ruby's where you can eat lunch for Eu3.00 each. The beach has sunbeds to hire for Eu4 each and the sea is shallow for the kids to play in. Loads of watersports to try out too. The sun shone here all day long (at the hotel it was behind the mountain just after 6pm). You also escaped the wind and any orographic rain that the north seemed to suffer from.

One highlight was the Stone Park which was a natural animal park. Very interactive and well worth the trip and Eu7.50/adult. There were deer, potbelly pigs, racoons, 600yr old stone wells, tourtoises, etc. and there's a guide in the park who goes around with you at stages to make sure the animals come out to greet you which was nice:-)

We also did the Shipwreck Cove tour through Thompson. The bus trip was death defying with those sheer drops on the roadside and the boat ride was beautiful. They get there before all the other tours so you get the beach to yourself for a hour which was nice. Only suggestion would be to take your own lunch and not to buy it at the place they stopped. Our Pepsi had an expiry of August on the tin and the food was reheated and dry. Complete waste of money. Only thing worth mentioning was the Olive tree that was more than 2000 yrs old, growing next to the restaurant.

Overall we had a good time. Loads of warm sunshine still, nice and quiet and a good base to explore from. Not sure we'd go back to the same hotel if we went again - we'd probably stay south of the island where the beach and weather is nicer and you don't get tourist prices. And I don't have to suffer ABBA on loudspeaker right outside my room!

  • Liked — Large. clean rooms
  • Disliked — Loud music around the pool all day
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayBidoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.1 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#4 of 7 in Alykanas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#5 of 7 in Alykanas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
9.3 mi away
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
9.4 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#4 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alykanas Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alykanas Village Hotel

Property: Alykanas Village Hotel
Address: Alykanas 290 90, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 216
Also Known As:
Alykanas Village Hotel Zakynthos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing