We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alykanas Village Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$752
$37
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Valais Hotel(Alykanas)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Letsos(Alykanas)
$32
$27
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Strada Marina(Zakynthos Town)(Great Value!)
$72
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Phoenix Hotel(Zakynthos Town)(Great Value!)
$81
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Danny's Hotel(Alykanas)
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,146)
Filter reviews
1,146 results
Traveler rating
464
393
196
56
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
464
393
196
56
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubthomson repsalykanas villagelemon treesnack barevening entertainmentwater parkfamily resortbeach poolself cateringnext yearice creamair constray dogssoft play areayoung childrenpools are great
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,043 - 1,048 of 1,146 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2008

We enjoyed the holiday as the hotel is in a great spot. The public arease were clean and well kept. We had a 2 bed apartment over the pool which was dark and dingy so we asked to move to a sea view room. This was better but they are very basic and in dire need of painting and tidying up. The reps tried hard but the evening entertainment was poor. However the kids reps were lovely in particular the girls in the creche.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliversmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Me and my family have a rule that we dont go to the same place twice. But it looks highly likely that next year we will be returning to the Alykanas Village. Me and my family had the great pleasure of meeting Gloria who runs the hotel, the woman in our opinion is a star, as she did everything possible to ensure our holiday was one we would never forget. Nothing was ever to much and her only concern was that we were all having a fantastic time.
Me and my family stayed in a 4 bed Studio apartment (we had 2 apartments next to each other as there is 6 of us). the apartments are very clean and the views from your verander or balcony is either the pools or the sea. Our view was the pool and we couldnt ask for more. The apartments got cleaned every day except Sundays, and the towels and bedding got changed every 3/4 days. The rooms got cleaned at a reasonable hour, so we didnt have to get up at the crack of dawn to allow the cleaners to do there jobs. Most of the staff at the hotel spoke quite good English and were all very friendly.
At 11am every morning Thomson put on there music by the main pool and had guests doing exercises in the pool and Super splash (which if your a family, you are gonna love), Also there was water volleyball and other water games which is played in another pool. Bearing in mind this is a superfamily holiday hotel, it did get noisy from 11am with music and Thomson getting people to join in different activities. But we weren't bother by this and was still able to fall asleep on our sunbed whilst the kids were all playing happily in the pool. Availability of sunbeds can be a problem as people do put there towels on the beds. But most days we were able to get a bed.
The hotel is on the beach front, and you can clearly see Kefalonia from Alykanas Beach. The water is very clear and i was able to go into the water up to my neck and still clearly see my feet.. I would advise people to take there goggles as me and my family found it fascinating watching the fish swim between our legs whilst we were in the water. Also the sea is very shallow for quite a distance. The price for 2 sunbeds and a parasol on the beach is 7euros, which we thought was quite reasonable.
Eating out is a bit of a battle as people from all over the place keep giving you leaflets advertising there restaurant. The places we ate from is Cosy Corner (who does the best English Breakfast, with real thick cut back bacon). Memories who has a lovely man who gave us the most warmest welcome and the food was always top quality and you got half a caraf of wine and free first soft drinks for the kids. And you cant miss out on the Saturday BBQ at the Millennium bar, which will blow your mind, Its all very reasonably priced and you get loads of food.
As for entertainment it depends what you are looking for. Most people stayed at the Alykanas Village in the evenings, but what put us of, is that the entertainment was indoors. Instead we went to the Millennium bar which had quizes every Saturday and Wednesdays which was always great fun, there is a WII and a play area for the kids and also internet access for those net heads, who chooses not to take part in the quizes. A word of warning Joes cocktails are quite lethal, but so good. We also went to Busters who also had quizes every night and a game called Click, which our kids loved.
Day trips with Thomson is quite expensive, but we do advise that if you go to the Waterpark, go with Thomson and on a Sunday as that is a change over day with there guests, so the waterpark is a lot quieter. We also went with Golden Dolphin (a company operating outside the Village) to see the shipwreck and also the blue caves, which is highly recommended. We didnt get a chance to go and see the Turtles, but it is something we would consider next time.
This holiday was the best holiday ever in our opinion, it catered well for our children aged 15, 11, 9 and 4, . You couldnt ask for better weather, and the people are all so very friendly. The only thing to watch out for is the mosquitos, but if you spray your room before going out in the evenings and ensure you have something to treat any bites, you should be fine.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dizzy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

the alykanas village hotel was brilliant !! clean rooms beatiful view and great pools !!! nice snack bar area but i must say not great entertainment, only entertain ment for children really, we were on our honey moon so we needed something a bit more exciting !! all in all tho the reps were great and the hotel was lovely i would recommend this hotel to anyone especilally if you have children as its definalty good for them....

i will warn you tho... DO NOT hire a car from cosmos car rental ( just at the bottom of the road to alykanas village) they rip you off, no proper insurance and if you argue with them about there disgusting ways of ripping people off, they will have the police to arrest you!! the women there has long brown/blonde hair and she is awful !! no custmer respect at all!! please people, take my advice, she will call your hotel room at 7am just to annoy you !! DO NOT rent from here, there are plenty of other places

Greece as a whole was wonderful would come back and if your a horse rider... definalty go to yannis horses for a beach ride its amazing !!!

stay clear of the cosmos women !!! your doomed if you take the risk!!!

Stayed: July 2008
5  Thank spammyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

Stayed here for 2 weeks in early June with my wife and 3 yr old

We booked a 2 bedroom apt which was great with boh bedrooms having lovely views of the beach/pool and then onto Kefolonia and also a nice breeze kept the rooms cooler,also had a full size bath which was great as our daughter as she hates the shower

The kitchen was typical Greek but ok for preparing light snacks

We took some basic food with us marmite and tea etc,we took our daughters ceral and glad we did as were very expensive at over 4 euros a box in the supermarkets

Kidszone was excellent and run 6 days aweek for 2 hours and was in a lovely air conditioned part of the hotel with British qualified staff and gave Mum and Dad 2 hours chillin out time

The pools were lovely,if you wanted entertainment then the main pools was for you and if you wanted quite then the front pool was for you-mind you that also got very busy at times and i think they should have banned infalables in this pool as it got overrun at times

Could have done with more sunbeds and although the reps said at the welcome meeting they would patrol i never saw them do it and if you were not out by 9ish you would struggle so it was a case if you cant beat join them and get the towels out early

There was a good play area for kids but would be better if it was all covered from the sun(the small kids bit is)

The resort is lovely and most of the resturants have reacted to AV being super family and have put in a selection of kids toys which is nice as most kids get bored as soon as they have eaten the dinner so can go off and play why we had an Ouzo

Best resturant by a mileis Paradisko by the river between Alkykanas and Alikes and was also one of the cheaper,tried quite a few others and was disapointed with The lemon tree although was lovely location

If you you want a cheap meal go to Stonebridge snack bar opposite Letsos hotel and have giant gyros and chips great value at 5 euros and realy tasty

Hired a car for day and went around the Island highlights were Gerakas beach stick to the right hand side as the other end is a nudist beach(unless that is your thing),also the light house is a lovely place to stop for a coffee with stunning views

overall great holiday and hoping to go back in October

Stayed: June 2008
Thank AK1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

We have just returned from the Alykanas village (21 July to 4 August 2008) and had an excellent holiday!

The hotel is in a lovely setting and is very well presented and beautifully laid out.

Our appartment was spacious and in a great location.

The swimming pools are excellent - with a quiter pool adjacent to the beach; the main pool providing a central location for many of the daytime activities and entertainment and a third sports pool.

The entertainment programme through the day and evening is extensive and good fun. Beanbag Russ, Boogie Bazz and Jovaltine worked very hard to make the holiday a pleasure. Just Jason (the children's entertainer) also deserves a mention!

Our two children (aged 10 and 7) were well catered for and my daughter particularly enjoyed the Razamatazz courses and shows (thanks to Katie and Anne!). The Tribe and Team activities programmes were very good.

The beach is small but perfect, with a good variety of watersports available.

We liked the resort itself as well, it having a great selection of restaurants - Dionyssis and the Lemon Tree were our favourites, with the latter well worth the horse and cart trip!

In all, the Alykanas Village thoroughly deserves its rating as a Thomson Family Club Extra resort. If you are planning a holiday there, you are in for a treat!

The Olney Family

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkLizO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews