We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alykanas Village Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Alykanas
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I just found myself reminiscing on one of the best holidays I have ever had which brought me here.

I visited the Alykanas Village Hotel in September 2011. This hotel was the perfect base for our 2 week adventure across the island of Zakynthos and further excursions into mainland Greece which were efficiently arranged by the lovely hotel manager, Gloria.

We felt comfortable throughout our stay and especially liked the proximity of the hotel to the beach and adjacent mountains; perfect for a mid-morning hike. There are two shops conveniently located on-site which provide a range of reasonably priced goods. Alykanas and nearby Alykes have a good range of eating establishments suitable for all budgets. On the subject of budgets, in general I found this part of the island to offer the best value on everything from quad bike hire to a ice cream.

The hotel is located on a quieter side of the island with the eastern and southern resorts of Tsilivi and Laganas offering more in the way of bars, clubs and nightlife but this is at the cost of the peace, tranquility and beauty you have in the north. Alykanas is probably also the best placed resort from which to visit Navagio beach - in my opinion the star attraction of Zakynthos.

I firmly believe that those staying in Zakynthos at the Alykynas Village Hotel will not be disappointed.

Bon voyage!

Room Tip: Level 1 on the beach front would be my best advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DBNORTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 576 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for the 1st week of October 2008 (yes 5 years ago)! I went with my family and we had it relatively cheap as it was the 1st year it was open.
Its self catering so i would pack cereals and other bits in your suitcase to save you buying so much there. There is a poolside restaurant in between the two main pools which is ideal for having a salad or a sandwich for lunch. There are lots of restaurants just a five minute walk away which are ideal for evening meals. The weather was perfect! Only rained on the very last day (but we were leaving that day so didn't mind). The beach is small but ideal if your going for a nice swim. Hardly any waves or tides so perfect for all swimmers.
I would say this is the perfect place for families who want to go self catering!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DomiDyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

this was our first self catering family holiday , we stayed in a 2 bed apt , lovely and clean and bedroms have lots of room and storage , kitchenette is VERY basic but wee managed to have breakfast and lunch most days you just have to be creative. pools are fab ( cold at first but you soon adjust ) and beach is one of the best ive been to ( better than Jamaica !!!) , staff are all lovely , sometimes the accent sounds a bit abrupt but just get to know everyone and you will get used to it , mimi on reception is fabulous and koseta in the beach restaurant is lovely . the reps work so hard day and night even though the entertainment at night is not the best and aimed at the younger kiddies , ive been to various Thomson resorts and I think they need to invest more in the nighttime entertainment side like they do in others . shout to johnny b good he was a credit to the Thomson team , Hayley as stated in other reviews can come across as bored and unenthusiastic but lovely to talk to off stage .my kids used the kids club and loved it also .perfect location and definitely would return however the prices have inflated so much for next year I don't think we could justify the price for self catering . we took £1000 for 2 adults and 2 kids (10 and 11) and just had a main meal every night . we are not scrimpers and ended up spending an extra £200 minimum on the horse and cart , sea slides , pooltable and bar. its not cheap for anything but haggling helps . hope this review helps . xx

Room Tip: breakfast is lovely onsite , we had it on the last day after using bonkers twice during our stay wis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minniemookin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a family holiday here and apart from the location (which is A1+++) and the pools whgich are good... everything else was very poor indeed.... pick this hotel up and pop it in a different location and it wouldn't have even got 1 star... the hotel is showing the signs of a lot of ware and tare the staff were not helpful at all and the holiday reps were so young and inexperienced they had trouble organising anything other than a kids club, the local knowledge of the reps was really really poor and basically consisted of reading us the information leaflets we took to them for advise on what is best to do in the area... on a more positive note... find you own entertainment and stuff to explore and do and you will not find a better crash pad to do it from... spent as little time in the hotel itself and maximise its fantastic central location.... :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyIsGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of May with Thomson holidays and had a great time. Our apartment was spotless and very spacious, we was originally on the second floor but we got moved up two floors (by luck, we saw another couple requesting a room swap because of their buggy, they wanted a lower floor) as the sea view was blocked by big trees. We tipped the cleaner on our last day, she was very grateful.

Pools- Very clean, cleaned everyday by staff. Surrounding patio is clean also.

Bar/Cafe- Good, their fries are nice and they have a wide variety if you want a dinner there before closing (6pm) instead of going out to eat.

Supermarket- Good, cheaper than expected. Coke cans €1 (coke glasses €2 at bar).

Facilities- Wifi good and fast for general browsing and uploading of photos. Reception clean and helpful (not very cheerful but you don't see them much lol).

Sunbeds- We didn't have any problems. We got up around 10am and got beds at the beach pool, But around mid-day there wasn't sunbeds left, but people were always leaving them to go so if you wait around you'll get one!

Grounds- Clean, maintained well. Very elegant looking with the plants and lamps along paths.

Beach is very good, the see through sea is shallow (knees) to a long way out and was always warm.

Local restaurants- there's was lots of place to eat, there's a strip of restaurants outside the hotel, but then further down the road (left and right) there's two more strips and another beach full of bars (a nice Hawaiian style one) and free sunbeds. There's a lovely canal you walk along to get to the other strip! I'm a fussy eater so I had pizza, garlic bread and chips every night lol.

Reps- Lively and cheerful, done daytime activities such as pool volleyball, snooker tournaments kids club etc.

Evening entertainment- very bad. Just lots of repeated dances and un appealing competitions.

We hired quadbikes down the road for about €25 a day that we kept for the whole holiday. They have a nice big carriage are on them to take picnics and sit two. Very very VERY cheap on petrol (station 4 minutes away) they go 65mph. Don't think the company was very good (restaurant owner with a quadbike business on the side) make sure u ask for helmets! He didn't ask for a deposit, just name etc. Make sure you're covered for this activity on your holiday insurance.
We found a lovely cafe up a close mountain with amazing panoramic views of the island! They make lovely pizza too and were never busy, be sure to visit them. It was like paradise!
(Drive straight towards Zante Airport, five minutes after driving you'll see a mechanics garage and petrol station, do a left up the mountain (be careful, steep corners with no barriers) and it's just at the top!)

We went into on our quads one day, sadly the kfc and Pizza Hut was closed as the season was only just starting, but we got a boat trip to a lovely little island. Would recommend doing trips with thomson though, we wish we had!

Lots of the local bars have free wifi and football.

We paid £234 for may 1st, 1 week.

If you have any questions you think I can answer, email me ryanwilliams97@hotmail.co.uk :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank RyanWilliams97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here from 15th October for 1 week. Had a fantastic week the place us amazing, you couldn't ask for a better location. Set right on the beach which has beautiful warm clear water. Which is actually warmer than the pools! Apartments also lovely all have views of the pool or the beach. Not much to do outside of the complex, quite run down with next to no shops anywhere in the vicinity but as long as the weather is hot there is nowhere better to go than the pool and the beach : ) we had 2 days if rain and wind an there was nothing to do! But when the sun is shining it is absolutely idealic. We ate all week breakfast and dinner at cosy corner the best restaurant and we had the best food we have ever eaten on holiday. Friendly atmosphere amazing food and good prices too. All in all a fab holiday would definitely highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjp0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I booked a week here after being reccomended by family who had visted the year before. We found it great value for money so we booked it there and then.
I was a bit unsure after reading reviews about the cleanliness and decor of the hotel rooms and not being suitable if you don't have kids. Our fears however melted away within half an hour of arriving. The room we had was so lovely, so spacious and situated above the main pool so we had a great view of the mountains. We had no problems with things like the bathroom and kitchen accessories which I noticed people commented rather negatively on. The only let down was the toilet wouldn't flush to start with, then the button to flush actually broke. However maintenance came to replace the button and fix the toilet within minutes of reporting it so we were ever so pleased. The receptionist who I reported it to was ever so helpful.
The location of the resort was just perfect. We were on the beach nearly every day and could just run back to the room if we needed anything. We never actually had a dip in any of the pools at all because the sea was so beautiful. Even if we wanted to, we couldn't get a sunbed to be honest. It didn't bother us though, it was nice to sit on our balcony some afternoons and take in the views we had.
We don't have children but we found it a delight being in a family resort. The atmosphere was just so jolly in the daytime and we went to see some of the evening entertainment which was surprisingly good. The staff work hard to put on a good show, Johnny B Good especially. Plus no trouble with noise if we wanted an early night. We slept soundly throughout the holiday.
We wouldn't usually book an excursion with Thomson but we liked the sound of Tastes of Greece. I'd recommend this to anyone! For a change it was excellent value for money and we had such an enjoyable day visiting the sweets factory and the winery as well as helping cook a three course lunch provided by a local restaurant. It was great to see parts of Zante too whilst driving to these places.
All in all a wonderful holiday throughout, I'd love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ay1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.2 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#3 of 8 in Alykanas
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grapevines Hotel
Grapevines Hotel
#5 of 8 in Alykanas
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#6 of 8 in Alykanas
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#14 of 73 in Laganas
477 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clear Horizon
Clear Horizon
#4 of 5 in Ammoudi
88 reviews
5.3 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#7 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alykanas Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alykanas Village Hotel

Address: Alikanas, Alykanas 290 90, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Alykanas
Price Range: $12 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Alykanas Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alykanas Village Hotel Zakynthos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing