We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“alykansas village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alykanas Village Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Alykanas
Reviewed October 11, 2012

we have just returned from alykansas village after our 1 week holiday 2 - 9 oct 2012 travelling with my daughters aged 21, 24, my daughters fiancee also 21 and a friend. the setting is lovely,cannot fault the reps who were very friendly or the service offered by thomsons .however our family holiday was marred by loud music from the bar till the early hours and the fact that we had money stolen from our apartment ,(140 euros) , we also heard of a lady having her handbag stolen whilst we were there. the maids did not knock before entering our apartment.had 2 excellent meals at el paradosaiko, cannot recommend highly enough! the chinese/indian was the most disappointing meal,overpriced and poor portions .hired a quad bike from the very knowledgable "special offers"and discovered rural zante which was lovely,goats,chickens, spectacular views,friendly people,glorious weather and gorgeous azure sea!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kairron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just arrived back from Alykanas Village 2 - 9th October had a wonderful time myself & 18 yr granddaughter. We were very lucky with the weather sunshine every day.
Rooms are large & spacious we had room with 4 beds mini kitchen & large bathroom with bath & shower over bath. Room cleaned ever day & bedding & towels changed
We used the pool in garden overlooking the beach nice lawns well maintained
Alykanas is a small village but with everything you need & within a 10 mins walk to the next village Alykes making it an ideal location for a laid back holiday but with variety for everybody.
There is a few dogs roaming around the gardens but didn't bother us one in particular a small black & white dog barked when the looky looky men selling jewellery handbags etc came into the gardens selling there wares but soon stopped when they left.
We went on the turtle boat trip would recommend give it a try.
Will book to go back next year a great holiday destination

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne12345_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We (2 adults and two girls aged 7 and 3) just got back from 2 week at the A.V and we had the most chilled out fortnight ever. Great hotel and great people and we were blessed with 2 weeks of fab weather 30+.. here's what we think..

Bad stuff first.. paying for a safe and AC sucks.. if you save all year and then get a 150 Euro bill when you check in if you want a safe and two weeks.. Thomson just include it in the price simple as. we only booked AC for a week and then it broke for a while so we got a full refund and then we just toughed it out.. it wasn't too bad.. hight of summer may be totally different though... now the god stuff..

The hotel is always immaculate.. being cleaned all the time.. the rooms are attended every day and sheets/towels periodically changed through your stay. we had a two bed apartment with a view of the pool. Yes some may not like the fact that there is no real living space to relax in the rooms.. no sofas etc but we sat on the balcony or chilled on the beds.. no probs.. but to be honest we weren't in there that much.

The pools are great.. the splash pool is amazing but no adults on the big slides shame.. until the attendant gets his lunch.. woo hoo!

The beach is on your doorstep and the sea is amazing.. clear and warm and super safe for the kids as it stays and about waist height for ages.

We spent most of our time around the shallow splash pool and thankfully there was no towels on beds at 2am crap.. everyone behaved themselves.

The snack bar is perfect for what you need.. Staff were great.

On site shop is ok.. has basics and fresh stuff everyday but there is better choice within the bigger supermarkets in the village a short walk away. bit weird gettin served by someone with a fag hangin out of their mouth but that's Greece for ya. 8-)

The Thomson staff were ace.. kids clubs were superb and the entertainment (Andy, Tash and Gem) worked endlessly.. Thank you. the kids loved them and Thomson the dog.. Especially his dancing.. "Party rock is in the house tonight!'.. funny as!!!

When we were there our daughter had an ear infection and a member of the reception staff went in her own car to two chemist to get her ear drops.. amazing.. thanks.

All the staff knew our girls names and when Ellie turned 7 there they made her feel really special.. the lady in the shop gave her sweets.. free ice cream in the snack bar and special birthday surprise at the disco on the night. Big thanks from us.

I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.. If you got kids.. you gotta go.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the alykanas village for two weeks from 21st sept to 5th October 2012, it was fantastic from start to finish. The hotel staff are friendly and very helpful and all the Thomson staff were fab, especially Becky and Hayley who were so helpful, smiley n ready to offer there help all day everyday! The entertainment staff were also great Andy, Tasha and Gemma kept us all entertained and work hard entertaining everyone from kids to oldies. My neice (18mths old) loved them especially Thomson the dog!!! The t time live was great for kids of all ages, we didn't use the kids club but all the staff were friendly and really good with the kids (Ellie, Hayley, steph, Tina, ect ) are all fab at their jobs n as a nursery manager myself I would employ everyone of them, weather was amazing for the time of year and Sun beds around the pool were not a problem the beach is right in your door step too, beautiful views!! The Apollo restaurant was lovely as was the olive tree and the mill. The cosy corner is great for English food especially the breakfast!! All in all I would recommend this resort we will definitely be visiting it again in the near future!! :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stars_2382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just returned from an 11 night stay here via Thomson with two children aged 3 and 9. First the good bits; a wonderful beach - very shallow, mostly calm like a millpond, hardly any tide/currents, good water-sports offered on either side. Went to the excellent "To Paradosiako" restaurant between Alykanas and Alykes on the river three times and was not disappointed.

Accommodation - Took our own pillows thank god but coped with hard beds. Slight smell from bathroom drain hole on arrival and soon found that bubble bath is a no no because the foam starts coming out of the hole and soaks the bath mat - also had to get the hole cleaned after slight flooding when emptying bath too fast. Took a few days to realize that all hot water used up by 8PM and not available until next morning - trying to save on electricity I guess! Perhaps worse however was the lack of a thermostatic shower control which required constant adjustment during a shower. Could go hot extremely quickly to the point of scalding - very dangerous for children! Paid for air con which was a little hit and miss until they came along and bypassed the door contact - all fine after that. Hairdryer cable is taken through the back of a drawer in a bizarre way such that you have to sit on a stool to dry your hair because the lead is too short. TV choice terrible (only English channel was BBC World service). Use of energy saving bulbs throughout was commendable but left it feeling like a cave when you return from outside. Only just enough light in the bathroom to see what you are doing (eg. makeup etc)

Pools/beach - Plenty of pool space but spent more time in the sea as time went on - much warmer; annoying that the loungers/umbrellas on the beach seem to be owned privately - no way to tell the difference between hotel owned and private. Hired a 4 person pedalo twice, a Yellowjet once and a wave rider. Beach bar charge a huge premium on ice-creams - just go out the hotel gate and buy at the little mini market on the left. General quality of paving around pools etc not good with a multitude of kerbs with plenty of sharp edges, plenty to trip on etc.

Entertainment - Thomson the dog is mildly amusing but hard to understand who thought up the entertainments schedule. Nothing done in the morning before too hot (a pool workout for the oldies would have been really good), main poolside entertainments start just when you go back to your room for lunch and then whilst having a siesta (highly recommended for old and young alike) you are blasted by a quiz being read out. No pool entertainment at the end of the day when cooler either (eg. 5PM). Went to see Cinderella one night but it was far too late at night for most children and the sound levels nearly damaged our eardrums. Can't comment on the childcare clubs since came for a family holiday, not to get rid of the children! Splashpool beautifully done but far TOO COLD - almost no one using it due to temperature. How hard would it have been to have added some solar water heating on the plentiful land nearby?

Area/shops - Truly dreadful. Pavements are appalling with wires sticking out, bits of concrete here and there, half finished buildings etc. No culture whatsoever. Food shopping dire - we can only conclude that it is a conspiracy to ensure that you eat out every night. Almost no fresh meat and their sausages are so salty. One decent fruit/veg outlet which appears to be the front shop for a fruit/veg distributor.

Trips - took the trip to Kefalonia; apart from the Melissani lake and Drogarati caves, there is very little to recommend this trip. Tour guide certainly knew her stuff but since most dwellings were destroyed in 1950s there are simply almost no original buildings to see (other than in the north where the coach doesn't go). Very quick trips to the caves/lakes. Pushed into a quayside restaurant where space was very cramped and service lacking. Lastly taken to Argostoli and dumped on quayside where nothing was open since a Sunday but saw a turtle swimming around which looked like it had been deliberately released from an aquarium to amuse us. Ferry was slow and smelly and equipped with air con but not turned on. This was one of the few trips suitable for children and yet absolutely no consideration was given to them. No information given on toilets and hardly any time given to use them even if you knew where they were.

Conclusion - if you want to eat English food, watch football, drink, smoke in restaurants and work on your tan, then this is the place to go. If you want culture, coffee shops, nice trips then perhaps try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Afamily27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My family (2 adults 2 children) stayed here in a studio for 4. Room was very big and extremley clean. The beds were a little hard for myself and husband but kids never complained. After reading several reviews regarding DOGS we were a little apprehensive HOWEVER there were a few dogs which were friendly and definately not annoying as previous reviews stated. They just walked past you or sat near the beach area and CERTAINLY didnt bark all day long. Lucky,lucky men on the beach did approach us however a simple NO THANK YOU was suffice.We did have a slight problem with the air conditioning but this was quickly resolved. Location of the hotel is amazing, on the beach, 3 pools plus the waterpark which the kids loved. We hired a boat off Andreas watersports on the beach and it was a great day going to the blue caves and not at all expensive. We ate at the Chinese and Indian very friendly people, delicious food. The Cosy Corner was lovely and also Valais. We had a go on the horse and carriage and they even let the children have the reins.Very friendly people, WILL DEF GO BACK.

Room Tip: room 564 has the sun all day long and overlooks the baby pool. Rooms overlooking the sea dont get mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunseekers605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My partner, her Mother and I stayed here for a week Sep/Oct this year. We arrived at about midday and checked in. We paid and extra €25 for a safety deposit box and €50 for a week of aircon.

Initially we were given room number 661 a spacious studio room. The room was partitioned by a half height wall for a little bit of privacy and contained a kitchen with a microwave, double hob, toaster and kettle. The bathroom unlike previous reviews had a bath as well as a shower. After the first night we realised that the air conditioning kept going off during the night, we reported this to reception and they sent someone to take a look, this happened for the next three days until eventually they said it couldn't be repaired and asked if we would like to move to another room. We moved to room 324 a similar sized room albeit being set out a little different. Unfortunately, the aircon problems still occured even though we had moved rooms, this led us to believe that reception were turning the air conditioning units off during the night to save money, completely unfair seeing as we paid for it, but without any proof what could we do?.

The hotel has two pool areas, one which is surrounded by the apartments and is sometimes quite shady, it's more suited to families with younger children, the other pool area is on the beach front with a deeper pool and easy access onto the beach. Both pool areas were very well kept, you would quite regularly see one of the maintenance guys cutting the grass and cleaning the pool areas. As mentioned in previous reviews there is an issue with the dogs being on the grounds, but I personally think that the reviews are a bit over the top, there is one particular dog that likes to bark now and again, not all day long as someone mentioned, and to get the dogs any where near you, you would need to entice them with food. The bigger issue for me was the lookey lookey men, I know its their job and their way making money but one or two were very rude and its not what you would expect to see on the hotel grounds.

In between the pool areas there's a restaurant that serves breakfast, bar meals, drinks and ice cream. It's a little over priced compared to other restaurants in the Alykanas area but the food is very nice.

There is another bar in the reception with free WIFI, all you need is the password off the reception staff. There's also a function room downstairs and a kids club but as we did not need to take advantage of these facilities we are unable to comment on them.

The hotel is in a prime location, close to the beach and a very short walk to the main street of Alykanas and a 10-20 minute walk to Alykes. All in all a very enjoyable week and all three of us have said that we would return.

Room Tip: Don't bother with aircon, it seems that reception turn it off during the night when your sleepin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.2 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#3 of 8 in Alykanas
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#5 of 8 in Alykanas
442 reviews
7.9 mi away
Oscar Hotel
Oscar Hotel
#51 of 73 in Laganas
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hotel Varres
Hotel Varres
#108 of 277 in Zakynthos
167 reviews
5 mi away
Eco Resort Zefyros
Eco Resort Zefyros
#1 of 1 in Agios Kirikos
247 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Strada Marina
Hotel Strada Marina
#3 of 12 in Zakynthos Town
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alykanas Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alykanas Village Hotel

Address: Alikanas, Alykanas 290 90, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Alykanas
Price Range: $13 - $790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Alykanas Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alykanas Village Hotel Zakynthos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing