We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach wonderful but hotel and area lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alykanas Village Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beach wonderful but hotel and area lacking”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just returned from an 11 night stay here via Thomson with two children aged 3 and 9. First the good bits; a wonderful beach - very shallow, mostly calm like a millpond, hardly any tide/currents, good water-sports offered on either side. Went to the excellent "To Paradosiako" restaurant between Alykanas and Alykes on the river three times and was not disappointed.

Accommodation - Took our own pillows thank god but coped with hard beds. Slight smell from bathroom drain hole on arrival and soon found that bubble bath is a no no because the foam starts coming out of the hole and soaks the bath mat - also had to get the hole cleaned after slight flooding when emptying bath too fast. Took a few days to realize that all hot water used up by 8PM and not available until next morning - trying to save on electricity I guess! Perhaps worse however was the lack of a thermostatic shower control which required constant adjustment during a shower. Could go hot extremely quickly to the point of scalding - very dangerous for children! Paid for air con which was a little hit and miss until they came along and bypassed the door contact - all fine after that. Hairdryer cable is taken through the back of a drawer in a bizarre way such that you have to sit on a stool to dry your hair because the lead is too short. TV choice terrible (only English channel was BBC World service). Use of energy saving bulbs throughout was commendable but left it feeling like a cave when you return from outside. Only just enough light in the bathroom to see what you are doing (eg. makeup etc)

Pools/beach - Plenty of pool space but spent more time in the sea as time went on - much warmer; annoying that the loungers/umbrellas on the beach seem to be owned privately - no way to tell the difference between hotel owned and private. Hired a 4 person pedalo twice, a Yellowjet once and a wave rider. Beach bar charge a huge premium on ice-creams - just go out the hotel gate and buy at the little mini market on the left. General quality of paving around pools etc not good with a multitude of kerbs with plenty of sharp edges, plenty to trip on etc.

Entertainment - Thomson the dog is mildly amusing but hard to understand who thought up the entertainments schedule. Nothing done in the morning before too hot (a pool workout for the oldies would have been really good), main poolside entertainments start just when you go back to your room for lunch and then whilst having a siesta (highly recommended for old and young alike) you are blasted by a quiz being read out. No pool entertainment at the end of the day when cooler either (eg. 5PM). Went to see Cinderella one night but it was far too late at night for most children and the sound levels nearly damaged our eardrums. Can't comment on the childcare clubs since came for a family holiday, not to get rid of the children! Splashpool beautifully done but far TOO COLD - almost no one using it due to temperature. How hard would it have been to have added some solar water heating on the plentiful land nearby?

Area/shops - Truly dreadful. Pavements are appalling with wires sticking out, bits of concrete here and there, half finished buildings etc. No culture whatsoever. Food shopping dire - we can only conclude that it is a conspiracy to ensure that you eat out every night. Almost no fresh meat and their sausages are so salty. One decent fruit/veg outlet which appears to be the front shop for a fruit/veg distributor.

Trips - took the trip to Kefalonia; apart from the Melissani lake and Drogarati caves, there is very little to recommend this trip. Tour guide certainly knew her stuff but since most dwellings were destroyed in 1950s there are simply almost no original buildings to see (other than in the north where the coach doesn't go). Very quick trips to the caves/lakes. Pushed into a quayside restaurant where space was very cramped and service lacking. Lastly taken to Argostoli and dumped on quayside where nothing was open since a Sunday but saw a turtle swimming around which looked like it had been deliberately released from an aquarium to amuse us. Ferry was slow and smelly and equipped with air con but not turned on. This was one of the few trips suitable for children and yet absolutely no consideration was given to them. No information given on toilets and hardly any time given to use them even if you knew where they were.

Conclusion - if you want to eat English food, watch football, drink, smoke in restaurants and work on your tan, then this is the place to go. If you want culture, coffee shops, nice trips then perhaps try somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Afamily27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    366
    184
    47
    30
See reviews for
799
129
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My family (2 adults 2 children) stayed here in a studio for 4. Room was very big and extremley clean. The beds were a little hard for myself and husband but kids never complained. After reading several reviews regarding DOGS we were a little apprehensive HOWEVER there were a few dogs which were friendly and definately not annoying as previous reviews stated. They just walked past you or sat near the beach area and CERTAINLY didnt bark all day long. Lucky,lucky men on the beach did approach us however a simple NO THANK YOU was suffice.We did have a slight problem with the air conditioning but this was quickly resolved. Location of the hotel is amazing, on the beach, 3 pools plus the waterpark which the kids loved. We hired a boat off Andreas watersports on the beach and it was a great day going to the blue caves and not at all expensive. We ate at the Chinese and Indian very friendly people, delicious food. The Cosy Corner was lovely and also Valais. We had a go on the horse and carriage and they even let the children have the reins.Very friendly people, WILL DEF GO BACK.

Room Tip: room 564 has the sun all day long and overlooks the baby pool. Rooms overlooking the sea dont get mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunseekers605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My partner, her Mother and I stayed here for a week Sep/Oct this year. We arrived at about midday and checked in. We paid and extra €25 for a safety deposit box and €50 for a week of aircon.

Initially we were given room number 661 a spacious studio room. The room was partitioned by a half height wall for a little bit of privacy and contained a kitchen with a microwave, double hob, toaster and kettle. The bathroom unlike previous reviews had a bath as well as a shower. After the first night we realised that the air conditioning kept going off during the night, we reported this to reception and they sent someone to take a look, this happened for the next three days until eventually they said it couldn't be repaired and asked if we would like to move to another room. We moved to room 324 a similar sized room albeit being set out a little different. Unfortunately, the aircon problems still occured even though we had moved rooms, this led us to believe that reception were turning the air conditioning units off during the night to save money, completely unfair seeing as we paid for it, but without any proof what could we do?.

The hotel has two pool areas, one which is surrounded by the apartments and is sometimes quite shady, it's more suited to families with younger children, the other pool area is on the beach front with a deeper pool and easy access onto the beach. Both pool areas were very well kept, you would quite regularly see one of the maintenance guys cutting the grass and cleaning the pool areas. As mentioned in previous reviews there is an issue with the dogs being on the grounds, but I personally think that the reviews are a bit over the top, there is one particular dog that likes to bark now and again, not all day long as someone mentioned, and to get the dogs any where near you, you would need to entice them with food. The bigger issue for me was the lookey lookey men, I know its their job and their way making money but one or two were very rude and its not what you would expect to see on the hotel grounds.

In between the pool areas there's a restaurant that serves breakfast, bar meals, drinks and ice cream. It's a little over priced compared to other restaurants in the Alykanas area but the food is very nice.

There is another bar in the reception with free WIFI, all you need is the password off the reception staff. There's also a function room downstairs and a kids club but as we did not need to take advantage of these facilities we are unable to comment on them.

The hotel is in a prime location, close to the beach and a very short walk to the main street of Alykanas and a 10-20 minute walk to Alykes. All in all a very enjoyable week and all three of us have said that we would return.

Room Tip: Don't bother with aircon, it seems that reception turn it off during the night when your sleepin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were given an apartment on the 2nd floor with excellent sea and beach views.However a few flights of stairs had to be climbed as the lift was at the other end of the complex.The room had 3 beds in it and there was only 2 of us.Rooms were spacious and well equipped.We were able to get a few channels on the television.Just couldn't believe our luck for the money we spent.The swimming pool is immediately in front of the beach,it was most scenic.There are other swimming pools contained within the building.There were evening entertainment events.We went to the greek dance night,this was very good.Service was both friendly and good.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms at beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramboray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

If your reading this then, like us, you probably want an idea of what you've paid for before you get there! We were booked in for a week at the end of September.. we were not expecting a superior end 4 star luxury apartment.. we had paid for what we hoped would be a clean cheerful studio for 2 adults and a child with pools and close to the beach. What we actually got was .. a spotlessly clean/well kept studio with ample wardrobe space kitchenette with microwave and bath with shower over. Everything worked - from the hairdryer/extractor fan over the cooker/etc... the balcony was big enough for us - it had a table and 4 chairs and once we threw the lilo out there we still had room to move. The apartments all have glazed patio doors to the balcony - but they also have full length metal louvered sliding shutter-doors which are lockable - we were lucky with the weather as they were experiencing a bit of a heat wave for the end of Sept (temps of 31/32 every day) so at night we left the glass doors open wide and closed and locked the shutters which meant any breeze still came in and we didn't need to pay for air con. The beds are a little firm as has been commented on by earlier reviews but as we both like firm beds anyway this was not a problem but may be an issue if you are used to super-soft mattresses.
The pools are great..surrounded by the complex and palm trees and greenery so they do get a little bit of shade at certain times as the sun passes the studio buildings.. the top most pool was being used by the kids and their lilo's/floating dolphins! The largest pool is next and was mainly used for swimming - but inevitably was taken over by the kids (just like they do at home!!) and at the end of this pool there is an enclosed area for the tots. Past this pool is the covered cafe/bar and the third pool is accessed through the cafe - there is also a path running down the side of this pool with about 4 steps down which then puts you right on the beach - this pool has direct sun all day. There were always plenty of sun beds (even for the late risers like us).
The splash park area is now up and running with a life guard on site (10 till 5pm I think) and it was great with 3 fast water slides (I would agree with other comments that it is mainly aimed for under 10s).
The beach is lovely, 5 euros gets you 2 sunbeds and an umbrella for the whole day if you want it.. but there is plenty of space to just lay on a towel .. the sea is clear and shallow as there is a sandbank a little way out and allows you to walk about 75 yards before the sea gets past your knees (says me who is 5.6). There are water-sports and pedaloe's with slides attached to them a little further up the beach. You do however get the constant run of beach traders selling trinkets, sunglasses or counterfeit designer handbags.. a No is usually good enough for them to walk away though and they were not a bother.
As for restaurants in the area .. we tried a different one every night - All offered a "kids menu" and a large majority offer small play areas for young kids (under 5). We decided to visit The Lemon Tree on a Thursday (when they advertised "fantastic live Greek music and dancing" - it was 1 guitarist/1 bouzouki player - and 2 dancers who were only there for half an hour). The trip there was on the horse & carriage which will cost 10 euros - our 9yr old daughter was invited to sit up front and steer the horse - which she loved!! Sadly the rest of the evening was a bit bland especially the food - pretty place let down by average food, average service and dirty play area - but still the most expensive dinner of the week! The Paradisiako in Alykes (a 15 min walk - or a 5 min carriage ride) was by far superior all round - staff were fabulous food was sensational - drinks 3 x starters/mains/deserts a beer an orange juice and a bottle of wine and tip = 46 euros! Our last meal was our best - The Neraida (pronounced Nerytha) - situated on the beach front in Alykanas just a short walk from the apartments towards the small harbour arm- it had a small trad Greek menu - no burgers, no egg and chips - just really good Greek food and cooked perfectly!
The cafe at the apartments was great at lunchtime and was reasonably priced - catering for all tastes!
The front reception staff (Mimi and Gloria) are lovely.. very helpful. The reps are .. well they are an unbelievably smiley and cheerful lot (even at 2am on a Monday morning!) - they do the usual poolside family games, evening entertainment etc and can keep your kids busy in the air conditioned club rooms (various clubs/times of the day). One evening they had a drop in from about 7 to 9 .. which is great timing for parents of youngsters giving them a chance to grab a romantic "grown ups dinner out"!!
There was some mention of the dogs around the complex - I wont lie - we saw 3 - they were sleeping most of the time - there was a lovely old boy we nicknamed Captain One-eye - they are not aggressive animals - they lay around the complex in the shade and pretty much left you alone (....that is unless you decide to feed them - then they are your friends for the rest of day, pretty much like any average dog!).. However - I did see a couple of parents with young toddlers who did the sudden panicked shout of "Tarquin NO dont touch.. bad" .. after which every time the kid saw a dog he started screaming and panicking.. and mummy felt the need to shoo a sleeping dog!?!? Funnily enough these same parents were happy enough to let the tot go running off towards the several cats which also roam freely not just at this complex but throughout the town. We were not upset or intimidated by the animals, actually the opposite was true as all the dogs were happy to be stroked and made a gentle fuss of.
As with most package holidays, excursions provided by the tour operator are available. As with a number of previous reviews, we also found them to be way overpriced. The are at least 2 trip-providers who have stalls/shopfronts in the resort, both of whom are considerably cheaper. We did a half-day trip to see the Loggerhead turtles at Marathonisi & Ceri Caves with a small company called www.specialoffer.gr run by 2 english women situated approx 100 yds from the hotel. This cost half the price of the Thompson equivalent and was well organised and very enjoyable, recommended.
The whole complex was clean & tidy, grass/small lawns were cut regularly & no litter anywhere and looked like it had been repainted for this season. We went outside of school holidays and Alykanas was probably a little quieter but it is not a 18-30s destination anyway. Lagana is the place for those who want disco's/heavy nightlife kfc and mcdonalds!
Overall this is a great place for those with youngsters under 10 yrs and who want a relatively quiet holiday and activities for the kids. The hotel is not luxurious (3* as shown on notice behind apartment door) but it is well furnished and delivers on a number of fronts: lots of activities for young children, safe beach, great local food and nicely appointed room with modern kitchenette facilities.
Would I go back to this place? Answer yes...

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are close to the function/party room that hosts the evening entertainments and can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MICHELLE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in room 473, overlooking the sea and bottom pool.

The grounds and pools are nice and staff were friendly. Our room was ok, although for sure only a 4* in Greece. Hotel is well located, has free wifi in the reception area and seems to cater very well for families.

The bad points

Beds are rock hard. I like a hard mattress but woke with a sore back each morning
As others have mentioned the dogs are a real pain, barking from 7am EVERY morning if our 1 week stay. Whilst lying out next to the pool the dogs barked constantly for hours on end also having fre run of the grounds. I ended up avoiding the pools due to the continual barking (4hours solid) and even saw one of the dogs doing its business on the grass .... About 6 feet from other guests.

All in all an ok stay but he dogs are a real holiday / peace spoiler

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

hotel in prime spot on the beach,rooms were small for family of four ,no bath just small shower,beds nearly on top of each other .
the room smelt of the drains as well as on ground floor,wasnt anythin for my 11 and 12 year old boys to do day or night.

I paid £1150 for a week so wasnt that bad but in aug its over £3000 for 2 weeks its not worth anythin like that for s/c .

alykanas itself its a small resort layed back not much goin on with some nice places to eat cossy corner british bar great food there .

the beach was lovely .

if you want to rest on your holiday this is the place to go but well over priced bit of a let down by thomsons this one cimpared with the villa mandi teneriffe,i wouldnt rush back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesKtm200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.1 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#3 of 7 in Alykanas
219 reviews
9.3 mi away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#1 of 74 in Laganas
1,620 reviews
6.3 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#5 of 7 in Alykanas
403 reviews
4.6 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 51 in Tsilivi
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alykanas Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alykanas Village Hotel

Property: Alykanas Village Hotel
Address: Alikanas, Alykanas 290 90, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alykanas Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alykanas Village Hotel Zakynthos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing