We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back...”
Review of Grapevines Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grapevines Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Alykanas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was our first holiday to Zakynthos. So glad that we chose Grapevines. We arrived at around 10 o'clock at night, and were quickly checked-in. We put our cases into our room, and went straight back down to the Bar (well,you have to don't you?) Andy made us feel very welcome, and was more than happy to provide us with hot food - which was of good quality and an excellent price. The room was more than adequate for our needs, and was clean - as are all the public spaces. The swimming pool is fantastic and, as somebody else has already commented, you can always find a couple of vacant sun-beds to use. The resort of Alykanas itslef, we think, is probably the best in the area. It has a lovely beach, and is much quieter in comparison to other resorts that are close by. There is a great mix of local homes, Supermarkets, a Pharmacy, Bank, Bakery, plus a fantastic choice of Restaurants and Tavernas. We particularly liked Catacomves (hope I've spelled that right) for a pre-Dinner drink, and eating at Poseidon and the Lemon Tree. We also went to the combined Chinese & Indian Restaurant, and opted for the Indian meal - mind you, on seeing a large dish of Prawn Crackers being carried past our table we did wonder whether we should have tried them too because they looked yummy! We usually ended our evening with a drink or three in Danny's Bar; the Quiz Night there is well supported and good fun. We booked three trips through the Special Offers tours office next to the Jammin Bar. We did the day-time Trainaki - The Museum is geniunely interesting, the Church that you also visit is beautiful, and the local wine given to us at the Taverna was very moreish. We're doing the evening one next year, and we are already looking forward to it. The Trainaki is an absolute MUST. When you first get on the train, you tend to be a bit quiet and reserved - but just wait until the return trip after the visit to the Taverna and the wine-tasting!! We witnessed the return of the evening Trainaki, and they were all singing their hearts out. We also went on a round the Island tour, which was really interesting and is an excellent stress-free way of seeing the Island. We also went on an evening trip to Zakynthos town; we'll be taking a bus into the town during the day next year (cost about 1.70 Euros) to have a good explore, and take a Taxi back. A Tour Guide recommended this because the local bus is absolutely packed to the rafters when it comes back in the afternoon. Always ask the Taxi Driver to show you the price to your resort before you get into the car. I think that you can tell from this review, that we'll definitely be back - roll on next Summer!

Room Tip: We personally prefer an upstairs apartment - mainly because one of us is an absolute wimp where it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank John and Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 182 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

We really enjoyed staying here. Just a five minute walk from the built up area and main restaurant/bar street. Lovely views of the mountains and unoverlooked. Tried out all the sunbeds and liked all positions in the sun! Andi (the owner) and her family are lovely and very helpful. Her speciality cooking was well worth staying at the hotel for - delicious! We'll definitely go back and have recommended this hotel to all our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KBwivenhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

A really nice place to stay, rooms small but fine for us, cleaner seemed to dissappear a couple of days. Andi made us feel very welcome in fact if you are going its a very good choice however we were hoping the bar would be open a bit longer although Andi bless her was keeping this open until midnight she was finding it hard to keep awake and this made us feel sorry for her. Dannys bar which you walk through on the way to the main part of the resort was great so we tended to end our evenings there instead. We will go back to the resort next year but maybe to a more lively hotel. Its a must to have a trip on the train it was far the best tour we had. Special Offer tours by the Letsos hotel are fantastic value and you are really looked after.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank widgetparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

we had a fantastic holiday at the grapevines on the 18th of september to the 25th. its a lovely place to stay it has got something for everybody, it caters for all ages. the accomodation is very nice really clean. they have a bar and snack bar there which is very good.. we went with my sister jane and her husband alan. we had a good breakfast every morning. what more can you ask for. the tavernas and bars within walking distance and the beaches in alykanas/ alykes. we would like to thank andi and all the staff who were very friendley. we hope to see you all again soon. thankyou so very much. from janet,bob,alan and jane.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gumboots3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

spent a fantastic week 18th sep to 25th sep at the grapevines,we were with our wifes jane and janet.andi and her staff were just excellent in every way,great company,great breakfasts and meals,and at a decent price.the hotel is located just far anoth from the hassle of tavernas and bars,and not to far to lovely beaches at alykes/alykanas.will be visiting this hotel again in the future as its nice and relaxing for couples,and esspecially us older couples.barby night was brill.so andi and staff thanks for taking care of us,and a big thankyou...alan and jane,and bob and janet xx

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanbottles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Spent a week at the Grapevines, 12th August 2012, our 12th visit to Alykanas but our first to this hotel. Arrived very early after a midnight flight from Glasgow, accompanied by the 18-30 set. Noisey but they behaved very well. Met by Andy who was the perfect hostess for the week. Could always find two sunbeds and the pool was a great place to cool down, even though a poor swimmer. Had a Mirri brunch each day, the omelletes, Greek salad and pizzas first rate. The cooling effect of a Mythos added to the dining pleasure. Did have a run in with Laura the pup, who decided to run off with my ipod and sunglasses but she was only playing. The room was very pleasant but the shower room a little small, but this would not stop Tracey and I going back. The thing stopping us is Thomsons who do not provide 3 bedded rooms from Newcastle, only Manchester. Would love to take our son, partner and Poppy, our grandaughter next summer but not prepared to drive all that way, when we have an airport up the road. The early morning flight home very quiet, think the young ones had not slept for a while. Love Alykanas, Levante Taverna and the Mouzakis family.

Room Tip: Any, ours was above the bar but did not hear a thing when we went to bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharpleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had have all just returned from our 6th visit to Grapevines, and once again we have no complaints whatsoever. The rooms are always clean and fresh sheets and towels readily availiable.
Andi and her staff of Miri, Emmy. and the boys, always a pleasure to be around.Anyone who could write a poor report on this place obviously lives in a 25 room mansion with servants waiting on them hand and foot and probably never had to work for a living.
The greek people are all very hard workers and thier only aim is to please the guests 24/7.
Andi and her staff certainly achieve this and like ourselves they should be paised for all thier efforts to make the guests feel comfortable.
We take our hats off to them all..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nellyp61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.2 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#6 of 8 in Alykanas
441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#3 of 8 in Alykanas
243 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clear Horizon
Clear Horizon
#4 of 5 in Ammoudi
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,276 reviews
4.5 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#2 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,337 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grapevines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grapevines Hotel

Address: Alykanas 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Alykanas
Price Range: $33 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grapevines Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grapevines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grape Vines Apartments Alykanas
Grapevines Hotel Zakynthos/Alykanas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing