We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Grapevines Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grapevines Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here for 1 week in August 2012. Basic, but always clean and for a good price. A very quiet location, perfect for a relaxing break. The owner Andi is a lovely lady who is always willing to help and go the extra mile. When we were there Andi prepared Mousakka on wednesday and a BBQ on saturday, both very well priced and excellent quality.

15 minute walk from Alikanas beach, 5 minute walk from the main road with a variety of bars, tavernas, supermarkets.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave4735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Grapevines Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 179 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at Grapevines in July 12, for 2 weeks. Andi was very welcoming when we arrived and was always cheerful & friendly. Miri was happy and helpful and cooks a lovely breakfast!! We were in room 18, it was large and clean and peaceful. The hotel is in a great spot, close enough to the resort to be convenient (5mins down the track) but far enough away that you didn't get lots of noise when you decided to retire. Pool was great, plenty of beds, we never had any problems getting one. The resort was lovely, good range of restaurants to choose from and these were lovely. Vrisaki was probably our favourite, but memories, alkionis and el eludi close. Danny's bar was great for afterwards and Aphrodite, Juli and Isaac were great fun. We did a trip with special offer tours by letsos hotel & would definitely recommend it. All in all fab holiday, I would go back to the same place again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kitkat6170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Have just returned from two weeks at the grapevine studios in alykanas it was a really nice holiday. the staff were fantastic they could not do enougth for us nothing was to much trouble.I must mention andi miri and our cleaner.we had fresh towels and fresh bedding every couple of days the rooms are nice and you had all the comforts of home.the bar prices for snacks or drink were good it had everything you would want for a nice relaxing break once again we must thank everyone of you for a brilliant two weeks. thanks again for all you did for us. Scotis
Neil and Lesley

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neil d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This small hotel is located an easy 5 - 10 minutes walk from the centre of Alykanas and all its resturants and a 15 stroll from its very nice beach.
The hotel is small with rooms that are pretty basic around a well kept pool with poolside bar /snackbar and plenty of sunbeds and shades which were never all taken.
Whilst the room was pretty basic and in all honesty a bit tired, particually the bathroom, it was clean, well serviced and adequate.The only thing missing was a fan in the room (did not want the A/C noise which in any case is a pretty standard 50€ per week extra) and I would happily have swapped the pretty redundant TV for a fan.
Along with the fridge, the "cooking" facilities" comprise of a ring hotplate with the basic cutlery and frying pan etc. Enough to prepare basic breakfast but you might struggle with much more (unless you stick to the excellent local salad foods)
A decent "English" or "Greek" breakfast is offered at approx 4€ in the snackbar if a hot start is wanted. If its as hot as when were were there in late July (35 degrees) cooking in the morning is not high up the agenda.
The resident owner, Andi speaks pretty good english and was welcoming, friendly and always keen to help assisted by the morning barman, cook, pool cleaner, Miri (who works afternoons and evenings at the excellent El Eludi resturant)
Snacks etc were simple but appertising and they have a "special" menu evening a couple of times per week which was pretty good and great value at around 11€ a head.
The owners children could get a bit noisiy in the late evening but not a major issue when everything about this charming and pleasent self catering apartment hotel is taken into account.
The resort has a busy centre with lots of very good resturants and no shortage of bars but has a definate fmily feel rather than a partytown atmosphere but the Grapevines is far enough away to be mostly free from noise except the local Dannys bar which had a couple of party nights but which ended at around 12 in any case.
If returning to Alykanas I would certainly consider staying at the Grapevives again and also recommend it for couples, and families alike.
All in all a good choice for both accomodation and holiday location.

Room Tip: Avoid the 4 "end" rooms (2first floor & 2 Lower) of the main block these are a bit sma...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in July '12 for 2 weeks and we had a lovely time. The rooms are very clean and although basic there was everything we needed and a lovely balcony to enjoy a drink looking over the pool. The pool is great too, as it's quite big for a small hotel/apartments which means even where the hotel is full the pool never feels very crowded.
We ate a few times at the snack bar and all the meals were lovely, especially the Greek breakfast (and thank you Andy for the recipe!) and the BBQ which Andy did twice whilst we were there.

The hotel is located just a short few minutes walk from town and the beach is a little further but not too far.

The best thing about the Grapevines is how friendly the staff are, especially Andy. She goes out of her way to make everyone feel so welcome and it was a pleasure to get to know her a little during our stay.

All in all we had a great time and would definitely recommend the Grapevines.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foxy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Booked a late bargain trip and we were very pleased with our choice. From the minute we arrived Andi was there to greet us. She was most welcoming and friendly. We were given room 16 which was above the bar and looked onto the pool. It was basic (as is the way in Greece) and clean. The pool is nice with plenty of sunbeds and parasols. Snacks are available at the bar, with Andi putting on an evening meal a couple of times a week. Thursday was stifado and Saturday was barbacue 10/11 euros. We never tried it ourselves. Andi's 3 young boys were usually around helping out or messing around in the pool.
Alykanas centre is about 10mins walk and has plenty of restaurants and bars. The beach is about an half hour walk and well woth it. We've been to Greece many times but this must be one of the best beaches we've been to. It's long, sandy and very shallow water, which is ideal for children. We'd been to Zante once before (Argrassi) and to be honest we were not that keen about going back but for the bargin price. However we're very glad we did and would return again to the Grapevines.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALMackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely relaxing week at Grapevines.
The apartment was typically Greek, with just the basics, no fancy shower gels, but the rooms were cleaned daily, we had fresh towels three times in one week! The fresh flowers were a lovely touch
We only ate at Grapevines a couple of times and when we did it was tasty.
The pool and surrounding area was spotless.
All staff were friendly, nothing too much trouble.
We visited some amazing places on Meri's advice, he even gave me string to sort my case out !
Andi the owner was always interested in everyone's day.

Room Tip: Our room on first floor overlooked the pool and balcony had evening sun - bliss
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank golf59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.2 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#6 of 7 in Alykanas
433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#3 of 7 in Alykanas
237 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clear Horizon
Clear Horizon
#4 of 5 in Ammoudi
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zantegarden Apartments
Zantegarden Apartments
#5 of 19 in Alykanas
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zante Flower
Zante Flower
#3 of 6 in Alykanas
23 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antonio Studios
Antonio Studios
#9 of 19 in Alykanas
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grapevines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grapevines Hotel

Address: Alykanas 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Price Range: $31 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grapevines Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grapevines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grape Vines Apartments Alykanas
Grapevines Hotel Zakynthos/Alykanas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing