We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Valais Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Valais Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We changed our initial hotel booking in Zante to the Valais on the strength of its reviews, and certainly weren't disappointed. The location is ideal, right opposite a lovely beach ( where you can hire boats and even be served lunch from the bar), and only a few minutes from the main road of Alykanas with a choice of tavernas and shops. The hotel itself is quiet and peaceful, ideal for couples or families looking for a chilled and relaxing break. The pool area was lovely - shady and cool, with a pool that was quiet, with lovely views onto the beach/over the bay. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean, the rooms and bathrooms reasonably sized and the staff very friendly and helpful.
We had lunch at the hotel most days - they have a great range of food on the snack bar menu, from salads to sandwiches, omlettes, pancakes, burgers, jacket potaotes - definitely something for everyone! We also ate there a couple of evenings. Although the evening menu isn't as extensive as some tavernas the food was af excellent quality, and the views of the sunset over the bay were gorgeous.
I would totally recommend this hotel - we had a great holiday and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helenc422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for Valais Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 236 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2011

Great hotel right on beachfront,great food ,katerina and her team cannot do enough for you.
Watch out for Jimmy the day waiter whilst lieing on sunbeds he convinces you that its mythos time(not that we needed much coaxing.)
Rooms very clean,great swimming pool cant fault it

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisinopril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This is our 3rd visit to Zante over the last 14 years, we spotted this hotel in 2003 and vowed if we returned to Alykanas we would stay here. So booked via Direct Line Holidays. We weren't dissapointed. A lovely family run hotel right on the beach. Beautiful pool, bar and restuarant area serving some of the best food we had on our holiday. Great service even on the beach and the large pool is a lovely dappled alternative to the heat out there. Christina is the lady in charge! Great fun with a dry sense of humour, very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.

As you can tell we had a fabulous holiday and will certainly return and hopefully bring the family with us next time

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbiePriddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

This hotel is wonderful - staff are friendly, helpful, room is spotless, breakfast was plenty. 2 minutes from beech and 5 minute walk into town. Pool and bar area are lovely. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank macdurrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Can't believe we found such a lovely hotel in such a wonderful spot. Everything was perfect, all the staff were very friendly and helpful, the location was stunning with a lovely beach just across the road. It was quiet, but not too quiet. We ate at the bar most nights as the food was superb. Airconditioning was extra at 5 euros per night, but well worth it. You can use a 'quiet' setting so that it doesn't disturb your sleep.
We also ate at Dionisis and Vrisaki's, both of which were excellent.
A ride on the Trainaki is a must, as we thoroughly enjoyed our trip through nearby villages, a visit to an interesting museum and a lovely lunch at Spiros' taverna. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Josephine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Me and my girlfriend have just came back from the valais today and couldve stayed there forever. The staff are really friendly, the location is amazing and is an amazing holiday to relax. There is a good sized pool with plenty of sunbeds and if you dont fancy the pool the beach is right in front of the hotel. The valais hotel also offers watersports on the beach. You are spoilt for choice for places to eat out with the main alykanas strip only being a 5 minute walk up the road and alikes being 10-15 minutes down the road.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikesquires1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Just got back from the Valais this morning, we stayed for a week.
the hotel is lovely and clean, the staff are outstanding!
It was our first holiday together as a couple and as we are young we nervous about going away but the area and the staff are lovely.
we would recommend this hotel to others!!!
Katerina is lovely and is always willing to help. we had a sea view room which was lovely!
The rooms are small and basic but have everything you need.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leonie2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.5 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#6 of 7 in Alykanas
431 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clear Horizon
Clear Horizon
#4 of 5 in Ammoudi
85 reviews
6.4 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grapevines Hotel
Grapevines Hotel
#4 of 7 in Alykanas
178 reviews
9.3 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#4 of 26 in Argassi
280 reviews
4.6 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 51 in Tsilivi
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valais Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valais Hotel

Address: | Alikes, Zante, Alykanas 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Price Range: $70 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Valais Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Valais Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valais Hotel Alykanas
Valais Hotel Zakynthos/Alykanas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing