We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money. Want 5 star then look away.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plessas Palace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good value for money. Want 5 star then look away.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2010

And that's how you should view Plessas Palace.

We booked based on the costs of 10 days and our expectations of PLessas Palace was set by the price of the accommodation. It was so cheap there's no way we would have expected 5 star luxury but for what it is, it is a very good place to stay. It's certainly somewhere we wouldn't mind staying at again if funds were short.

Our use of hotels is nothing more than somewhere to sleep, the rest of the time we're off exploring. We never ate at the hotel, used the bar perhaps twice but the entire experience of Plessas Palace was enjoyable.

If you're on a budget, want a quieter environment rather than in the middle of a town, then Plessas Palace is an ideal, centrally located spot from which to explore the entire island.

Oh! THe local shops are expensive for buying produce but if you've hired a car or motorbike, head off to Zante and near the airport there's a Lidl. Cheap everything good for stocking up on booze, foods etc.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    118
    38
    20
    13
See reviews for
91
207
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

This hotel is ok it's nothing special thou. When we arrived we was taken to our room by pigi the owner/manager seemed like a nice guy. Room was ok was not the cleanest but I have seen worse. We did have a Miskitos nest in our bathroom that we had to sort out ourself but was not really to bothered about that. Cleaners are very loud in the morning and you can here them shouting from other end of building. Drinks at hotel are very expensive. And there is a older lady with glasses who seems to be very selective when she understands english. I.E you can ask her for a spare towl or the quickest way to the beach and she will play dumb. But say you ask to use Internet or pool table ect she knows exacly how much money to ask you for and very quick to tell you your time is up. Me and my partner also noticed that the hotel owners pigi ect were very quick to drop what they were doing to help big tippers and regulars. Even if that ment serving them first even thou there could be 3/4 of younwaiting to be served. As for location thou that was great. Littrally few min walk from everthing. There is a great hotel by the beach that also offers watersports called the valias hotel I would more reccomend staying there. The owners of that hotel George and katarina are the nicest people you could ever meet. But for this hotel i would say is ok. Room size is good. Room veiw is great. Few splated bugs on walls but nothing to bad. Bathroom little small but hey it's greece what do you expect. Also one more thing if you are traveling back to the airport by taxi then I would recomend NOT using pigi hotel taxi service as he is very expencive. Call a private one and this will probably save you about 15 euro. Goodlook

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonshane9112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALES
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

Lovely stay last 2 weeks. very clean hotel,pool area cleaned every morning along with rooms daily.new linen and towels also.Shower small,but adequate.Beds a bit hard tho.Any problems were dealt with straightaway by nicos or denis(even took us into alykes and back-thanks).As for alykanas itself-very nice,except for the constant pestering by touts trying to get you to eat at their restaurant (big minus for me).If you do eat out visit the Romanza and The Apollo.One to avoid being theGrecco(wife and i had upset stomachs). Beware of the mosquitos,they seem to ignore the repellents.If a sports fan visit spikes in alykes,run by an aussie,great atmosphere.Will visit again, especially the beach safe and clean

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RONANDGAYNOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

From the day we arrived to the day we left we were welcomed by the family who run the hotel.
Rooms are basic ,but functional, the shower is small so dont drop your soap, one problem was towles were only changed every 3rd days.
Breakfast was on the continelal basis, but this was fine for us.
Hotel is in good position for beach and resturants.
Good resturant wrere memoris, just down from hotel and the other one is one the road to Alkes by the river.
Another good find was Neraida at the end of the beach, who do free sun beds and drinks on the house!!
We also went to the greek night at the mill, which was a really good night and good valie for 16 euros.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxsteven2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

We arrived at this hotel to be told "Sorry we are overbooked, we are taking you to another place for the night". We were taken to an apartment down the road, which was really nice and told we would be picked up the following day to go back to Plessas Palace. One night then turned into 2 nights and of course you don't know whether to unpack or not. After having an argument with Pigi the owner, who insisted we had been told it was for 2 nights, we decided we would prefer to stay where we were and asked if that was possible. We were told we could not do that as there was not a room available. The next day Pigi delivered a letter to our accomodation telling us to go to Plessas Palace the following day and collect the money we had paid to her and that we now owed 20 euro a night for the new accomodation, which was about £50 more than we had originally paid. As it was not our choice to stay there for the first 2 nights, we insisted that Plessas Palace should pay for the first 2 nights. Eventually they paid for the full week. The first 2 days of our holiday was spoiled by all this and I would not recommend this hotel. On 3 more occasions we saw couples being transferred to other accomodation, so obviously the hotel had got the bookings totally wrong. I thought that it was because we had booked independently, but other couples had booked with tour operators and were also moved.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank hullgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

We decided to go here after the reviews we saw - we have been to Greek islands before and know that the accomodation can be basic - we don't mid that, but it should at least be clean, and Plessas Palace was not clean. There was 7 in our party, so we had 3 rooms, and all 3 were poor.

I have a 13 months old daughter, and when we were arrived we were shown to a family room, and were told that we were going to have to change rooms for our last night due to another booking. Not too bad but a bit of a pain with packing and moving everything. We had 2 bedrooms, each with 2 single beds, and a small shower room/toilet. Cooking facilties were a microwave oven with 2 electric hobs. The plates, glasses, knoves and forks etc were all pretty dirty. There were cobwebs in the corners of the room, the shower room wasn't clean. There was mould in there too, and when you took a shower, the shower tray filled up really quickly so u had to be fast, and even so water leaked everywhere. The shower cubicles are tiny! It wasn't a great start.

My wife's parents were on the top floor. Their fridge was filthy, with what looked like grease all down the front, and cigarrette ends on the floor. They ended up cleaning their room themselves. My father in law also went and bought some wire to keep the shower head from falling off, and their shower room flooded all the time too. Aswell as this they had a really loud humming noise coming from the roof spac above them and had to buy ear plugs to sleep. Also the kettle in their room was broken exposing the electrical wires inside, but when my father in law took it the reception, Nicos just pushed it back together and asked if we wanted it back.

The other room we had wasn't too bad, but the shower room again was pretty poor in the same ways as the others.

As said earlier, we had to move for the last night, the room was slightly better but again the shower room/toilet was mouldly and needed a bit of work.

In our week here, I only saw one cleaner, which isn't enough for a property of this size. I think our rooms were cleaned once (not very well though), at which time the beds and towels were changed, not enough in my opinion.

Alykanas, and the neighbouring Alikes are great places for a holiday though, and we would definitely return there. There are lots of taverna's and bars, and we had really nice food nearly everywhere we ate. Also if you get a chance check out the greek night at the hotel koukkounaries (sp?) - 14 Euros for an all you can eat buffet (grilled chicken, pork kebabs, greek meatballs, sausage, pasta, salad, tzatziki, pitta, ice cream and wine etc) and greek dancing, we had a really good night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwampDonkeyGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

Me and my boyfriend have returned from a week long stay at Plessas Palace. We were a little bit worried after reading a couple of negative reviews but turned out there was nothing to worry about. The hotel is located just off Alykanas Main Road so it's within walking distance to all the restaurants and bars. Plenty of supermarkets also.

The rooms were reasonably sized, and were cleaned most days with towels and bed sheets changed twice a week (i think!). Most of the staff were very friendly, we had a problem with our hot water not being on and we went and told the guy and he sorted it straight away. The hotel pool was good, although a bit cold in September!! Pool bar was reasonably priced, food wasn't that great :( By the reception there was a pool table, hundreds of books and games to help yourself to - so lots to do! The hotel has its own supermarket, however, it is slightly more expensive than the other supermarkets. Not by much but i guess over a week it mounts up! We didn't find one particular supermarket to be cheaper, some things were cheaper in different ones - the hotel supermarkets prices were higher for most things though. We really didn't have too many problems here :) The only negative were the kitchens were a bit basic and old....cupboards smelt a little but nothing too bad!

We really liked the resort of Alykanas, we were a bit worried as a young couple that there wouldn't be much to do at night but there are quite a few lively bars and lots of restaurants. One thing to be aware of is in every restaurant they give you bread at the start of your meal - it's not free. You get charged anything between 1 and 2 euros for two people! A bit sneaky but i guess it is traditional to have bread before your meal. Most of the restaurants were lovely except one - Memories (right near Plessas Palace) we got speaking to another guy by the pool who go food poisoning from there :( The doctor who treated him said that he gets alot of food poisoning cases from that restaurant so steer clear! They all really try and coax you in but just keep walking! We really liked a bar called Cuba, lovely staff. La Caretta is a really nice restaurant. Also Pepe's for some Greek Fast Food - Souvlaki and Gyros Pitta!

All in all, a great holiday!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toni_7989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.5 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#4 of 7 in Alykanas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
6.3 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
9.0 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
8.9 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#5 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 19 in Vasilikos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plessas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plessas Palace Hotel

Property: Plessas Palace Hotel
Address: Alykanas Main Road, Alykanas 290 90, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plessas Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plessas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plessas Palace
Plessas Palace Alykanas
Plessas Palace Hotel Zakynthos/Alykanas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing