We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming Back For More”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plessas Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Alykanas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Returning in May for our third visit,a brilliant place to stay run by an amazing family who genuinely want you to have a great time and book to stay with them again.Nikos loves his new bar and will have you smiling from the moment you order your first drink and with a great choice of good quality food from the bar menu if you just want to chill by the pool you won't go hungry.it's a short walk to the many restaurants and bars and a 15 minute walk on flat roads to a fantastic beach with gently shelving sands down to a clear blue sea.The rooms are clean and spacious with great bathrooms and superbly comfortable beds.Enjoy your stay because I know we will,and if you are there in early May see you in the bar for happy hour with Nikos who never tires of telling you..

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are sunny for longest and great for returning from the beach for a be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank planktonhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 442 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

My best friend and I stayed here in July 2013! It was fantastic, the staff are the loveliest people ever, the rooms were lush and Nikos bar was awesome!
The sheets were changed 3 times a week which is just right, the rooms were cleaned and bins emptied everyday! The service was also fantastic, we had a problem with our kettle in our room and they changed it straight away for us!
Alykanas is a beautiful resort and what better place to stay!!! It was a little walk from the beach, which wasn't far anyway. The tavernas are just a few seconds away!
Pleasas palace also do BBQ night Tuesday for €10 and it is so worth your money! You get to know everyone else and they treat you like royalty!
We are returning this year with not just the two of us but because we thought it was so nice we are returning with 5 of us!!
Definitely the place to stay!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms such a nice view from the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Akenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed here in September 2013. Plessas is a well run family business, providing spacious rooms, good cafe/bar run by the great Nikos. Wonderful pool and gardens, not far from many good restaurants and the beach is about 800m away - everything you need for a relaxing holiday in Alykanas. Our room was clean, spacious, newly decorated and the shower room was far better than many I have encountered! I would have no hesitation in recommending Plessas. My friend has already booked for 2014!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DorHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We found the hotel to be clean and good value for money, the pool and gardens were lovely and the BBQ evening was great fun. I could find no real fault with our stay and I am happy to recommend it. VG



Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My partner and I spent 11 nights here this year from 30/06. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by the family and this personal touch carried on through our holiday. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt welcome and well looked after.
Nikos is hilarious and works his backside off to run an excellent bar, great music and great food cooked by his mum too. Andy Murray won the Wimbledon final while we were there and this was an event in the bar with extra TV's so everyone could watch. The new bar area has replaced the shop, its a great addition, very modern décor, light and airy,and comfy seating.
The rooms are spacious and spotless, cleaned every day with towels and sheets 2 or 3 times a week. The beds are heaven for Greece, being memory foam.
Fab beach and great food at the Mill bar next to the beach.
We have already booked for the same time next year and can't wait, counting the days!

Room Tip: If you want a fridge, choose self catering a room only you would have to pay for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed for two weeks over the end of September. This was a first time to Zante and my first time in Greece so I didn't really know what to expect. Firstly I need to explain that I booked the whole holiday independently and saved about 200-300 pounds on the quoted package from a reputable company. The communication with the Hotel's website for booking was very good and we paid up front for our room which originally was a Studio mountain view double with Aircon included as well as complimentary breakfast. About two weeks prior to arriving I asked the hotel if they had the Honeymoon Room free for our two weeks and was told it was free and it would cost us an extra 140 euro for the two weeks. In light of the fact this was meant to be the best room in the house we paid the extra. On arrival we were exhausted after having been up for over 29 hours and were told by Joanna (Mum of the family) our room was not quite ready but she became flustered when I said "Honeymoon Room". She checked with Pigi (her niece that does marketing and internet booking stuff) and told us we would be in room 304. On entering the room I knew at once this was not the room we had booked..........it was a superior room but not the Honeymoon room !! I went back to reception and luckily Nikos had arrived as he speaks pretty good English. I was connected with Pigi who informed me they had double booked and that the Honeymoon room would not be available for 3 more days. As you can imagine, having paid to be upgraded and then not to get that room and after a lack of sleep it did make us very annoyed. The hotel agreed to refund the 3 days upgrade money and assured us we could move in 3 days time. I was annoyed that the situation had not been explained at check in and I suspect they thought that we may not notice that the room was not the right one !!
Following that incident we did have a comfortable stay, the weather for 10 days was amazing and the pool very inviting although cold as it is not heated. On our 10th day, we awoke to torrential storms and a severe power cut which affected everything in the hotel until about 1.30pm when the power was restored and everything returned to normal (except the weather of course !!) Unfortunately, the management took this opportunity to turn off the circulation for the swimming pool and for the next 4 days it was still and full of wasps and flies. This was a shame because we did get half a days sunshine before we left and it would have been nice to use the pool again, but there was no announcement or notification to the guests staying that the pool was not to be re-established.
The BBQ night was fun and there was so much food which was fresh and tasty. Nikos makes the place really, he is funny and charming and runs the bar efficiently. Joanna (Mum) is very friendly but struggles with English. The cleaning staff were very good and very friendly.
The breakfast was continental, and there were a few days when the toasters were not working properly but there was always plenty of fruit, cheese, greek yoghourt, eggs and ham.
Our bed was huge and very comfortable but was at the front of the hotel so there was a bit of noise from the road and bar. The self catering facilities to be honest are lacking but are enough if you just want something basic. Unfortunately, the rooms 301-305 (honeymoon and superior rooms) have not had their bathrooms upgraded and they are not as nice as the smaller rooms, however saying that the family admit this is a problem and intend to upgrade this winter.
Finally our holiday would not have been so enjoyable if it had not been for the company of two elderly Geordies namely Win and Bill who kept us entertained and also Gwyneth and Peter who were very helpful. Places to eat .............Paradiskeo near Alykes wqas first class and Vrisaki not 500 yards from Plessas. You have to try the horse and carts they are so much fun ! This hotel gets a lot of repeat business and understandably so, however one couple announced they had been coming there for 15 years sometimes twice a year !!!!!! hmmm not sure about that one !!
Would we return ............yes most definitely but slightly earlier in September and probably only for a week.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view at the rear of the hotel or one overlooking the pool its quieter, and if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mirpenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Electrical appliances dangerously close to the sink. Cooking facilities is also inadequate for a couple. For a family, it is very difficult. The cooking facilities was designed to force the holiday maker to eat out at the local restorant.
I have enclosed some photographs to illustrate these shortfall

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAYEN-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.5 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#3 of 8 in Alykanas
243 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clear Horizon
Clear Horizon
#4 of 5 in Ammoudi
88 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 18 in Vasilikos
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#3 of 26 in Argassi
290 reviews
5.5 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grapevines Hotel
Grapevines Hotel
#5 of 8 in Alykanas
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plessas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plessas Palace Hotel

Address: Alykanas Main Road, Alykanas 290 90, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Alykanas
Price Range: $50 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plessas Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Plessas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plessas Palace
Plessas Palace Alykanas
Plessas Palace Hotel Zakynthos/Alykanas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing