We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plessas Palace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

My partner and I spent 11 nights here this year from 30/06. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by the family and this personal touch carried on through our holiday. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt welcome and well looked after.
Nikos is hilarious and works his backside off to run an excellent bar, great music and great food cooked by his mum too. Andy Murray won the Wimbledon final while we were there and this was an event in the bar with extra TV's so everyone could watch. The new bar area has replaced the shop, its a great addition, very modern décor, light and airy,and comfy seating.
The rooms are spacious and spotless, cleaned every day with towels and sheets 2 or 3 times a week. The beds are heaven for Greece, being memory foam.
Fab beach and great food at the Mill bar next to the beach.
We have already booked for the same time next year and can't wait, counting the days!

Room Tip: If you want a fridge, choose self catering a room only you would have to pay for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    118
    38
    20
    13
See reviews for
91
207
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed for two weeks over the end of September. This was a first time to Zante and my first time in Greece so I didn't really know what to expect. Firstly I need to explain that I booked the whole holiday independently and saved about 200-300 pounds on the quoted package from a reputable company. The communication with the Hotel's website for booking was very good and we paid up front for our room which originally was a Studio mountain view double with Aircon included as well as complimentary breakfast. About two weeks prior to arriving I asked the hotel if they had the Honeymoon Room free for our two weeks and was told it was free and it would cost us an extra 140 euro for the two weeks. In light of the fact this was meant to be the best room in the house we paid the extra. On arrival we were exhausted after having been up for over 29 hours and were told by Joanna (Mum of the family) our room was not quite ready but she became flustered when I said "Honeymoon Room". She checked with Pigi (her niece that does marketing and internet booking stuff) and told us we would be in room 304. On entering the room I knew at once this was not the room we had booked..........it was a superior room but not the Honeymoon room !! I went back to reception and luckily Nikos had arrived as he speaks pretty good English. I was connected with Pigi who informed me they had double booked and that the Honeymoon room would not be available for 3 more days. As you can imagine, having paid to be upgraded and then not to get that room and after a lack of sleep it did make us very annoyed. The hotel agreed to refund the 3 days upgrade money and assured us we could move in 3 days time. I was annoyed that the situation had not been explained at check in and I suspect they thought that we may not notice that the room was not the right one !!
Following that incident we did have a comfortable stay, the weather for 10 days was amazing and the pool very inviting although cold as it is not heated. On our 10th day, we awoke to torrential storms and a severe power cut which affected everything in the hotel until about 1.30pm when the power was restored and everything returned to normal (except the weather of course !!) Unfortunately, the management took this opportunity to turn off the circulation for the swimming pool and for the next 4 days it was still and full of wasps and flies. This was a shame because we did get half a days sunshine before we left and it would have been nice to use the pool again, but there was no announcement or notification to the guests staying that the pool was not to be re-established.
The BBQ night was fun and there was so much food which was fresh and tasty. Nikos makes the place really, he is funny and charming and runs the bar efficiently. Joanna (Mum) is very friendly but struggles with English. The cleaning staff were very good and very friendly.
The breakfast was continental, and there were a few days when the toasters were not working properly but there was always plenty of fruit, cheese, greek yoghourt, eggs and ham.
Our bed was huge and very comfortable but was at the front of the hotel so there was a bit of noise from the road and bar. The self catering facilities to be honest are lacking but are enough if you just want something basic. Unfortunately, the rooms 301-305 (honeymoon and superior rooms) have not had their bathrooms upgraded and they are not as nice as the smaller rooms, however saying that the family admit this is a problem and intend to upgrade this winter.
Finally our holiday would not have been so enjoyable if it had not been for the company of two elderly Geordies namely Win and Bill who kept us entertained and also Gwyneth and Peter who were very helpful. Places to eat .............Paradiskeo near Alykes wqas first class and Vrisaki not 500 yards from Plessas. You have to try the horse and carts they are so much fun ! This hotel gets a lot of repeat business and understandably so, however one couple announced they had been coming there for 15 years sometimes twice a year !!!!!! hmmm not sure about that one !!
Would we return ............yes most definitely but slightly earlier in September and probably only for a week.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view at the rear of the hotel or one overlooking the pool its quieter, and if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirpenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge U.K
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Electrical appliances dangerously close to the sink. Cooking facilities is also inadequate for a couple. For a family, it is very difficult. The cooking facilities was designed to force the holiday maker to eat out at the local restorant.
I have enclosed some photographs to illustrate these shortfall

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAYEN-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 weeks from the 2nd sept. Its exactly what we needed, relaxing and comfortable. The rooms are spacious and have all you need for self catering breaks. We were on the top floor but it was no problem as their was a lift. The pool was where we spent most of the hol and with plenty of sunbeds to go around relaxation was the order of the day. The new bar and snacks with plenty of choice with prices very reasonable it was all you could ask for. We enjoyed it so much, all being well we intend to return in september 2014. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: As far as I could see, rooms are very muh alike, so no concerns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

we arrived at plessas palace to a very warm welcome!! it was quite late tuesday evening and starving after our flight, nikos and his family FILLED our table with food from the bbq (which had allready finished) we thought it was very kind of them to go to that all that trouble to keep us happy. over the week nikos helped us on numerous occasions, with our flights, food, making phonecalls for us, he is very friendly and works extremely hard down in his beautiful bar, where they serve lovely food and a great variety of drinks!!! we stayed on the top floor in the room with the broken door handle (no problem just a bit loose) we told nikos about the handle, and he had it fixed right away.
our room was perfect, the views are just stunning!!! the bed is extremely comfortable and we fell asleep as soon as our heads hit the pillow! and did not get woken by the dogs and cockerall?? and the room was fully equipped with everything we needed, pots and pans for cooking and a little kitchen stove which we cooked breakfast on every morning. The new bathroom is beautiful, very clean and modern, a fantastic week! beautiful hotel! stunning surroundings! lovely family! highly reccomended for a romantic get away!! we cant wait to go back in may and september next year!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank micha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakynthos, Greece
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Just got back from staying at the plessas palace with my partner had a wonderful time,room was very spacious and excellent bed with memory foam mattress.Nothing is too much trouble from the wonderful family that run the complex especially nikos top class barman.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gifttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wednesbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

absolutely brilliant , just stayed there for 2 weeks , Niko is an absolute star, rooms are clean and the bed we had was brilliant king size with a miracle foam mattress (in every room ) would recommend this place to anybody and you must pay a visit to busters bar over the road Ollie and Anna are brilliant just be aware of the free shots they are lethal

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.5 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#4 of 7 in Alykanas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
6.3 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
9.0 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
8.9 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#5 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 19 in Vasilikos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plessas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plessas Palace Hotel

Property: Plessas Palace Hotel
Address: Alykanas Main Road, Alykanas 290 90, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plessas Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plessas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plessas Palace
Plessas Palace Alykanas
Plessas Palace Hotel Zakynthos/Alykanas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing