We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutey excellent place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plessas Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“absolutey excellent place”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Fantastic holiday, Both rooms we had were excellent and very well kept. Ideal location to take in the stunning scenery of the area and close enough to loads of very good restaurants. The staff go out of their way to make to feel comfortable and happy during your stay. Will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GavinH71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    124
    40
    23
    16
See reviews for
102
223
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My family and I had a great time at Plessas Palace! The family running the hotel was very nice and very friendly. The rooms were clean and the view from our patio was soooo relaxing! beautiful mountains and open spaces, there is even a family behind the hotel that owns a few goats and roosters! it was great fun watching the goats in the evening while getting ready for dinner. A big thank you to Nikos!
Oh and Dennis for the sweet serenades my sisters and I received at the bar :) hehehe will def miss this place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cali409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watchet, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Just back from 2 weeks at the Plessas Palace and had a very enjoyable holiday. The resort of Alykanas was just about right for us and the weather was fantastic.
Nicos who runs the place was always cheerful and helpful and it seemed like all the other holiday makers were also having a really good time. There is quite a mix of nationalities who stay at the the hotel.
The rooms were plenty big enough and the view we had was great.
One negative thing that only i experienced was that the people above our room did appear to stomp around the room and seemed to be packing their suitcases each night and unpacking again in the morning. I cannot fathom why someone needs to continually walk up and down their room for ages. I did speak to other guests on the same floor as us and they did not have any problems. Perhaps the people above us were a tad overweight and kept walking to the fridge for some munchies.
I would go back to this hotel again but i would ensure that i had a room on the top floor.
There are plenty of tavernas in the resort and the prices are very good and you normally get free wine with your meals.
We met some lovely people over there and did not want to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kevin1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We had a great holliday in the period 23-30 of June 2011.We booked the room directly from the site of the hotel,honestly we didnt expect too much due to the price 22 Euro,breakfast included,but as soon as we arrived there we realised that the place is much better than we expected and the family who runs the hotel is great,welcoming.Our holliday was perfect!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgabri_ella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Great value for money acommodation - as others have mentioned rooms have recently been refurbished. Furniture, beds and bathrooms are all new and very comfortable. A pair of curtains appeared during our stay so it seems like they are contiuing improvements. Plenty of hot water night or day - no shower curtain yet so water tends to go eveywhere but rooms were cleaned every day without fail. Fresh sheets and towels every 2nd or 3rd day too. The pool bar is very pleasant, set in a pretty garden and serves good reasonably priced food and drinks. Lovely views across to the mountains. The owners are extremely friendly and obliging. Location is good too - about 5-10 minutes walk from the beach with lots of good tavernas nearby. Walking distance to Alykes so you have a choice of places to spend your time. Eating out is not expensive here but supermarkets are - it's hardly worth self-catering. Take plenty of sun cream with you - it's really expensive unless you go to a proper supermarket in Zakynthos town. Lovely island with beautiful scenery - well worth getting a car for three or four days.

Room Tip: Bigger balconies on the ground or first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marie19a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We had a wonderful stay here in a studio. The beds were the best we have ever had in greece. The owners are very friendly, if we ever go back to Zante we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank richcoll54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We read a lot of good reviews for this place and when we found out that it had been refurbished during the Winter were happy that the majority of negative comments would have been sorted. We were right! The rooms are spot on, and the shower was as good as any we have had in Greece, although it does lack a shower curtain at the moment. We had a King size double bed in our room although they are all different apparently. If you want one then room 107 is a good spot, away from the bar, on the ground floor and not too close to the pool either.

Nikos at the bar is a star and his Mum and Dad, Uncle, Brother and a few others all add to the friendly approach here. Very relaxed, typically Greek and nothing is too much trouble. The bar food is fine, the bar prices are really good and the pool is excellent. It did get busy a couple of times and Nikos did promise to replace a few broken sun beds, and get new cushions, as soon as he gets the time but overall it was excellent.

The beach is a decent walk but generally worth it although it did get windy a few times. Mostly it was a bonus as it is already around 30c plus most of the time but it did get a bit much at times and even too windy for the beach brollies and sea sports. We hired a scooter for 3 days (15 Euros a day) and had some great fun although a car might be safer if you don’t have any experience on 2 wheels.

There are plenty of supermarkets and they do vary a little in price but the one at the Plessas is fine for most things and saves a lot of walking in the heat, especially with the big water bottles (2 Euros for 5 Litres), bread rolls, fruit juice etc.

The resort itself is fab. Loads of places to eat and pretty quiet with horse and cart rides available although they can be a little pricey. Not many bars as such but the Plessas bar is great after the evening meal anyway and we had many a good night with a pint and a glass of wine costing only 4Euros and lots of free shots with Nikos as well.

Best of the restaurants as far as we are concerned were Al Caretta (The Turtles), The Alykanas, Poseidon and Memories all are really close to the apartments. We found the prices to be cheaper than we had expected and did not pay more than 30Euros for a meal, most of which included a starter (shared) 2 main courses, a dessert (shared) and a litre of house wine. We did visit the Cosy Corner and had a really good meal there. The food was freshly cooked and the staff friendly but it was a bit of a walk from where we stayed, although definitely worth a visit.

Overall this is a place we will visit again without doubt. There were at least 4 groups of Nan and Granddad, Mum and Dad and little one and we would certainly love to visit with our grandchildren in the future. Nikos is planning to continue the improvements, which need to include a toaster in the room and better self catering facilities, even if like us you don’t use them a lot. Roll on next time!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms away from the bar are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrandadSouthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.5 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#4 of 7 in Alykanas
227 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clear Horizon
Clear Horizon
#4 of 5 in Ammoudi
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zante Village
Zante Village
#13 of 13 in Alykes
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#14 of 73 in Laganas
455 reviews
4.2 mi away
Eco Resort Zefyros
Eco Resort Zefyros
#1 of 1 in Agios Kirikos
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zantegarden Apartments
Zantegarden Apartments
#5 of 19 in Alykanas
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plessas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plessas Palace Hotel

Property: Plessas Palace Hotel
Address: Alykanas Main Road, Alykanas 290 90, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plessas Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plessas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plessas Palace
Plessas Palace Alykanas
Plessas Palace Hotel Zakynthos/Alykanas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing