We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 weeks in Alykanas”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alykanas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alykanas Beach Apart-Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Alykanas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We spent 2 weeks here in early September; our previous visit was 14 years ago. Although the resort had grown somewhat since our last visit, we did not feel it had been spoiled. The hotel staff were excellent - extremely pleasant and helpful at all times. Rooms were cleaned daily and linen changed twice a week. The cleaner could not speak much English but we coped with sign language! She did an excellent job. The beach adjoins the hotel grounds so we were but a few steps from the swimming pool or the beach. The pool bar served good lunches and a variety of drinks. I would definitely recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the bar next door (not noisy) but next time would request a room with sea or poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorcesterPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 859 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

2nd time at hotel and we forgot how good it was, right on the beach with good views. View from room was over the sea and pool. Staff were great, especaily one of the maids, Rula.
We did the trainacia at night up to Sypros tavarna for a graak night, realy great value and a fantastic night, its a must to do.
We will definatly be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henry_dobbie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This Hotel is a 3 star ...you get exactly whats on the tin with this one ...but the hotel staff have a very high standard of cleaniness ...the rooms are basic but are kept clean , towels changed etc ....
Everything seemed to work ok ...no problem getting a sunbed by the pool or on the beach
The Barstaff were always very quick to come and take your order of food or drink ...and have some friendly banter with you ...
The Hotel position is a big plus ...right on the Beach , and very near the villages centres , for bars etc etc ...
Everyones idea of a perfect holiday is different but for us this one was a very laid back and relaxing one ....with a very good hotel , resturants , Bars
Thank you everyone @ Alykanas Beach Hotel .
Steve & Lin ....Room 219 ...September 27 th til October 4th ( Bristol )

Room Tip: Top Floor ....3rd floor away from Bar Area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have just returned from 11 nights of sun and relaxation! The setting is excellent so close to the beach, about 15 feet away from the pool! All the staff from the cleaners to the bar staff and the staff serving snacks etc were always smiling and always polite. The rooms are very basic but we did not spend that much time in them anyway, and we only ever made a cup of tea and a slice of toast on a morning. We were on the 3rd floor which was a bit of a struggle sometimes as I have a dodgy knee and the steps were a bit of a hike at times. I suppose we could have asked to move but never bothered. The showers could do with a bit of an update as you had to hold the shower head as it didn't fit on the holder, but none of these issues were problem.
I think the hotel could be very noisy in peak season as the rooms are quite close together, and we could hear the people in the next room. ( We couldn't hear what they were saying it was more of a mumble). We could hear the singer when we were in bed but to be honest it didn't keep us awake for long after all the sea air, but again I reckon it would be quite noisy in high season. We have been to Greece many times but have never found a hotel so close to the beach before. I have no complaints about our stay and would recommend it, but just bear in mind if you want a quite holiday avoid peak season. There are lots of cats roaming around but they never really bothered us. The sellers on the beach are not pushy and even though there is an endless stream of them they accept the words no thank you and just go away. All in all a brill holiday at a fab location with happy, friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coconutjoBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks. The first night we arrived we were given a room by the pool bar. After a overnight flight and staying up all day we wanted to go to sleep around 11 PM however the hotel had other ideas the music from the pool bar was so loud our bed may aswell have been in the bar. I was told that nothing could be done until the morning. So after 2AM we got to sleep (even tho the music finished around 1 by the time people had finished running up and down the corridor) In the morning i was told to speak to the rep i had to tell the rep that if they didn't change my room they could change my hotel!!! Just to get some sleep. The rep found me around 30 minutes later to tell me i could move rooms. The receptionist was then unhappy that i said we needed 20 min to pack up the room!!! We were offered no help to move rooms. Given no apologies and no compenstation. NOT great customer service!! The room itself was clean and typically greek style. No frills. We never used the self catering facilities but there was basic facilities provided. To be honest there is little to say about the room it was average and for the price we paid it was expected. The room was very hot and the air conditioning was 45 Euros a week in the heat of the season air conditioning is essential so if you ask me they were ripping people off knowing they could charge a ridicolous price as people would pay it!!! The pool area was nice and the property is right on the beach there is a beach bar next door it is 5 Euro for 2 sunbeds well worth it. People often put there towels out very early although there is a rule no towels before 10 AM this was only reinforced twice during our stay so it was often hard to get a sunbed around the pool. The food hotel was below average standard of the area and a bit more expensive. You only have to walk down the road to find better food. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the resort Alkyes which is much the same Alykanas but worth the change. Most resturants serve the same standard and similiar food. The hotel that you get too on the horse and carriage is lovely and worth the extra money. Also there is a resturant on the road going to Alykes this is the best resturant in the area if you go no where else go here the food is great. Our flight home was early morning we got picked up at 4 AM however we had to check out at 12 the day before we were told there was no late check out avaiable despite asking a week before we departed! However we then discovered other people got a late check out room on the same day and only asked the day before (maybe this was the receptionist getting her revenge as we asked to move rooms). We approached the rep about this who said he would sort it out but we ended up doing the work ourselves and staying at crazy corner which was small and clean but adequadate for our needs. Also breakfast here is good and a reccommendation. Overall i wouldn't return to this hotel again and i have complain to my tour operator. I would say look at other hotels in the area as we enjoyed our holiday here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cub_and_Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel was exactly what we expected. A good sized room, which was spotless, no frills. Kitchenette was two rings, fridge, kettle and toaster, but again this is what we had expected. The communal areas were well kept. Lots of sun loungers by the pool and at the beach.
Initially I was a little disappointed when I realised we over looked a car park, however, there were never any cars, we had a partial sea view and this kept us clear of the noise from any of the hotels entertainment. We managed fine with out A/c in the room, Which was an extra if travelling with Thomas cook.
For 40 euros we got to stay In our room an extra day as our flight pick up was 2am! Best 40 euros spent!
Good location for restaurants in alykanas and alykes, we spent most of our time on alykes beach as it was so quiet, and not even a 10 minute walk.
We really enjoyed our trip and I'd say this place felt like good value for money.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank batman071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Rooms are very light and airy and really spacious. Our bathroom felt a bit worn (broken toilet roll holder, a few chipped tiles) but acceptable. Kettles and toasters supplied, which was handy.
Beds are comfortable and decent pillows.
The complex is well maintained and very clean.
The pool area has some modern seating areas which are nice, the pools themselves look a bit dated.
Alykanas attracts a large number of British tourists.

Room Tip: Rooms are very big and airy. High floor (there's only 3) gives good sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northern83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.2 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#3 of 8 in Alykanas
243 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#6 of 8 in Alykanas
441 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clear Horizon
Clear Horizon
#4 of 5 in Ammoudi
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#3 of 26 in Argassi
290 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amoudi Studios Apartments Hotel
13.8 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 18 in Vasilikos
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alykanas Beach Apart-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alykanas Beach Apart-Hotel

Address: Alykanas 29090, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Alykanas
Hotel Class:3 star — Alykanas Beach Apart-Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Also Known As:
Alykanas Beach Apart Hotel Alykanas
Alykanas Beach Apart-Hotel Zakynthos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing