We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very enjoyable holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alykanas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White House Studios
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very enjoyable holiday”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have just returned from a very enjoyable weeks holiday at these apartments.Although the accomodation is typically basic as with most greek studios they were very clean and more than adequate.We were able to cook breakfast on the small hob and enjoy on the balcony every morning although maybe cooking a full meal may be a little adventurous!!The pool area and bar were kept spotlessly clean although our personal preference was to spend our days on the nearby beach,no more than a 5 minute stroll away.A supermarket was directly opposite the studios and no more than a few cents dearer than the larger one just up the road.We had lovely food in a different restaurant every night,and you really should take a horse and carriage ride,we went out to the lemon tree and had a very good meal.Cosy corner next door is very good value for money and my husband would definately recommend the 'Ecky thump burger' comprising of four 2oz burgers,two pieces of black pudding,three rashers of smoked bacon and fried onions!!!All in all a very friendly and chilled out resort and accomodation complex and would recommend you give it a try.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    13
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Yet another fantastic holiday at the White House. Its mine and my sisters 4 th visit, and my parents 3rd visit, and my parents have already booked again for next year. We love it so much that my sister and I are returning again next year with friends.
We stayed here from the 31st Aug until the 14th Sept, we had a fantastic time, and fantastic weather, Pav and Karen where again fabulous hosts, the cleaner never forgets us, you cant ask for much better to be honest, everything you need, clean room, clean pool and bar area, easy walking distance to the beach and resort centre. Lovely resort for both families and couples.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lollipop1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed at The White House for a week 4th to the 11th September 2012. This is the second year we have stayed there and it was as good this year as last year. There were 4 of us (two couples) and we were not disappointed with anything. Karen and Pavlos were the usual excellent hosts, nothing being too much trouble for them. The apartments were spotless as were the snack bar and swimming pool area.
Alykanas in itself is a lovely resort with everything you need for a good holiday within walking distance. Even Brenda on the little train remembered us (not sure whether this is was good if she remembered the amount of wine we all drank up at Spiros lol). The only sad thing about this years holiday was that the usual couple who run Redskins cafe/bar weren't there so unfortunately there was no ice cream to try.
Will we go back again? You bet we will !!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

In all, we have stayed in Alykanas 8 times (3 times at the White House) so have a bit of experience of the resort - and we love it.
Pavlos and Karen were excellent hosts as usual and the complex was spotlessly clean thanks to the tireless work of Camelia who has been with them for many years now. Ivan seems to fill an assortment of roles from clearing tables to fixing aircon and was cheerful and helpful throughout our stay.
The pool is the main attraction for us. It is immaculately cared for, the water is always crystal clear and debris free and is deep enough at 2.3m for careful diving - even though the standard signage prohibits it - whilst providing a good environment for younger or less capable swimmers. As stated by others, the early morning rush for sun beds is not required because there are plenty to go around - this is not necessarily the case after lunch when people come in from other apartments and hotels. The only disappointment around the pool is the number of sun umbrellas that were unserviceable and either could not be kept open or required bits of paper and/or lots of juggling to keep them up/open. See conclusion.
The rooms have always been basic - as in many similar resorts across Europe - but they are now becoming shabby and the equipment outdated. The beds are on the firm side but suited us, not so the pillows which are thick and unforgiving. The kettle was temperamental and would trip the electric at any point in use, or when not being used. The toaster had electrical tape where the flex had been damaged but not renewed. Both these devices were connected to an extension lead that went behind the water taps and had to be used either on top of the cooker or on the draining board within inches of the sink! Although this is not unique to these apartments, it is potentially a lethal mix of water and electricity. There is no worktop which makes cutting bread, buttering toast etc. a bit of a balancing act.
The toilet in our apartment made a noise like a spitfire taking off when flushed, next door had to aid flushing with a saucepan of water. Although it sort of did the job, the shower didn't shower, it poured water from a height, a few euros on a new shower head would have sorted it.
A quick look around the area reveals loose paving tiles that have been that way for several years, a few dried-up plants and no effort at landscaping. But, the shade provided by the fir trees and the ever busy colony of sparrows is some compensation.

Would we return? Definitely, because there are so many plus points: Pavlos & Karen, the immaculate pool, cleanliness, excellent aircon (and price), friendly and efficient staff, great catering and bar standards/prices, located close to Andreas's shop/Letsos Supermarket etc. and well placed for the best restaurants, peaceful and quiet most of the time and generally a place where we feel comfortable and at home. The proximity of the White House to the outstanding Shoestring Beach is a major plus point

Can it be improved? Although it is obvious that investment is difficult at this time in Greece, the answer is yes please. Refurbishment of the poolside and the apartment kitchen/bathroom areas is overdue if the balance between service and facilities is not to be tipped to the point where returning customers are drawn elsewhere by accommodation of a higher standard at a similar price. This would be a tremendous shame because the White House is a jewel in Alykanas's crown, albeit it lacking a little lustre at this time.

Will we return? It's high on our list for next year!

Room Tip: All balconies face the pool and, as far as we are aware, rooms are fairly similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Guitarman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We would like to thank Pavlos , Karen & co for the wonderful hospitality we just received whilst staying at the White House Alykanas Zante.
Nothing at all was too much trouble. The service and food were excellent.
The bar and hotel rooms were maintained to the best standards possible for the hotels grade.
The apartments are 5 minutes’ walk from the beautiful beach. All other restaurants and bars are within 5 -10 minutes walking distance along the main road for Alykanas or the other way to Alkynes.
Look out for the small train that will take you up into the hills for a trip you will really enjoy. You will visit Spiro’s' family museum and small church. Then have lunch in the Taverna. Excellent value for money. Say hello to Annemarie and Brenda who will be your guides on this trip.
Big plus at the white house you DO NOT have to get up at the crack of dawn for a sunbed! There are more than enough to go round.
For the ladies! Try the "weekend relaxer” cocktail at Bonkers Bar (part of hotel) its fab.
A big Thank you to all at Bonkers/hotel from The Axworthy Family room 12 -Liverpool
(Lee & family) See you real soon x

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ariel1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed at the White House Studios for a week from the 24th to the 31st of July.

First Impressions were very good, large bar/snack bar area and a warm welcome from the owners. No messing around here, as soon as we arrived we were given the key to our room and taken there; help was given with our luggage which seems to be less and less forthcoming these days. The room was spotlessly clean, small kitchenette area with kettle. We wouldn't have wanted to cook on it, but ok for warming something up. Twin beds pushed together and a two seater sofa in the main area. There was plenty of hanging space and drawers. It had a larger than average balcony for this sort of property. The room was set far back from the bar area and we heard no noise in the room with the doors closed. Air conditioning and safe at an extra charge, this was a very reasonable price, much cheaper than I have paid elsewhere.

A large swimming pool and plenty of sunbeds. A lot of people from other accommodation were using the pool, but it was never overcrowded. Good service at the bar, basic but very good meals, fried breakfasts, baguettes, omelettes, that sort of thing. Prices were very reasonable, and very good cocktails at €4 a throw was incredible.

The overwhelming impression that has stayed with me is the incredible cleanliness of the place. The room was always cleaned to a very high standard, none of the detrius that seems to lodge behind the bathroom door even in the best hotels. The bar area just seemed to shine, it looked like the shelves and bottles had just been polished. In every hotel I've ever been to a dodgy area have always been the poolside toilets, but not here. They were gleaming at any time of day or night.

The treatment of the guests by the owners Pavlo and Karen was of the highest standard, nothing was a problem. This place gets a lot of repeat business and I can see why.

Plenty of tavernas and restaurants in the immediate area and further afield. We did not experience one bad meal; the competition was too strong for anyone to let standards slip. Prices were cheap.

Just out side the hotel was the rank for the horse drawn carriages. There is a clear tariff displayed so no nasty surprises when it comes to payment time. Returns can be arranged by the driver and I found them to be very reliable and reasonably priced. And don't worry about having to look around for horse droppings, there are none. The drivers are fined if they leave a mess so everything is cleaned up.

The Thomson rep, Alan, was very helpful. He lives in the area year round, so there's nothing he doesn't know. Excursions are available both from Thomson and in the local area, plenty of choice. There is a little road train that tours the resort and neighbouring areas. My advice for this? Take a cushion!

Nice beach just down the road only marred by the sheer amount of people showing you sunglasses, cd's dvd's, bangles etc. None of them are pushy, but I've never seen so many in a small area before, you're lucky if you get 10 minutes between them.

Overall a great holiday at a reasonable price and the peace of mind given by the owners and the Thomson rep made it a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank downwithrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed at the White House Studios in October 11, the apartments were very basic but very clean,the pool area was lovely and the bar was realy nice with a good selection of snacks and the breakfast was excellent, we found Pavlos and Karen to be great host and they both made our holiday even more special. During our two week break we had ten days of thunder, lightening and torrential rain storms and were without electric until midday for three days but these things happen in Greece so we made the most of it, as we say ( keep smiling ). It was our first visit to Zante and we found the prices far cheaper than the neighbouring island of Kefalonia and although Kefalonia is our favourite Greek destination we would definately return to Zante and the White House Studios.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.0 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#4 of 7 in Alykanas
227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#6 of 7 in Alykanas
415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Katerina Palace Hotel
Katerina Palace Hotel
#5 of 26 in Argassi
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Antonio Studios
Antonio Studios
#11 of 19 in Alykanas
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zante Flower
Zante Flower
#2 of 6 in Alykanas
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avra Studios
Avra Studios
#29 of 108 in Zakynthos
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House Studios

Property: White House Studios
Address: Alykanas 29 100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Alykanas
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
White House Studios Zakynthos/Alykanas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing