We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious traditional greek food, lovely family run restaurant.”
Review of Vagi's Taverna

Vagi's Taverna
Ranked #24 of 35 Restaurants in Alykanas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
“Delicious traditional greek food, lovely family run restaurant.”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

we go to alykes/alykanas on a regular basis and can honestly say most of the best meals we have every year are in vagis. The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient, and we cant wait to get back there this year.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynseyjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    43
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent as ever”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Have been regular visitors to Vagis for last 8 years. Nikos and his wife Vagis built and run this business. Food always fresh and good value and always a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Certainly recommend you give it a try. Nothing flashy just good decent friendly value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank itfc1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“our favourite taverna”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The staff at Vagi's were so friendly, doted on the children. we ate in a few tavernas around Alykes/Alykannes and this place had the best food waiting times, offered bread every time & was the best price. We needed hot water to heat the baby food, was provide with ease everytime. Portion sizes were not huge, but filling and satifying. Food choice was great, lots of greek/english choice. Mousakka was my fav, along with klefitko & spagetti in the oven. Lovely place, thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“alright”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Food was just piled on the plate and didn't look very appetizing.
There was nothing wrong with the taste but service very rushed and didn't get the Greek feeling when in this place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank abbiegeorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice..”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Decent all-round restaurant..put off a bit by the name!!..walked by for the first few days..only tempted in by the offer of a free glass of wine.. meal OK.. nothing earth shattering, but equally not the worst meal we had.. worth a try..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaMerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vagi's Taverna also viewed

Alykanas, Zakynthos
 
Alykanas, Zakynthos
Alykanas, Zakynthos
 

Been to Vagi's Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing