We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our first time at the Elpida, we will be back next year, loved it :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elpida Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elpida Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our first time at the Elpida, we will be back next year, loved it :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed at the Elpida Hotel from the 11th-25th August, this was our first time and will definately be back next year! Spiros and his family are lovely, always got a smile on their faces making everybody welcome. The rooms are kept clean, clean bedding and towels and bins emptied regular, the cleaners work so hard.
The grounds are very well looked after. My 2 children aged 6 & 10 loved it in the pool. The food from the hotel was great especially the English breakfast and my daughter loved the omlettes which come with a mountain of chips.
You must try the Mythos beer from the bar at the Elpida, comes in an ice cold glass mmmmmmmmmm just what u need when it's red hot weather.
All the bars/restaurants are in very close walking distance, did not have one bad meal, such a great atmosphere everywhere you go in Alykanas! The beach is a must, so sandy, lovely, clean and the sea is nice and warm.
Spiros and his family we will definately see you next year coming back on the 7/8/14 for 2 weeks, already sorted our family rooms out with Spiros, booking our flights too :)

Room Tip: We stayed in studio 348/349 which was up at the back in a quiet location of the hotel, definately re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 555tracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    59
    25
    14
    13
See reviews for
102
100
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Returned yesterday after another lovely holiday at The Elpida, this was our 3rd year staying at this hotel. Spiros and his family are such nice people, they can never do enough for you :) nothing is ever a problem. The rooms and grounds are kept clean and well maintained, and offer a gorgeous view of the mountains! Everyone is very friendly and the atmosphere around the pool and bar are very welcoming, it's a perfect location away from all the noise but a short walk to the bars and restaurants.. We saw a lot of familiar faces from the previous years which shows that many people return year after year. The food from the pool bar is very good value for money and the english breakfast is just what you need in the morning ;) Thanks to Spiros and his family for making our stay enjoyable once again, hope to see you all next year x x

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Soddyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We got back last night after spending 2 weeks in the very lovely Elpida Hotel. Spiros and his mum and dad looked after us so well, They made my family feel so welcome we would highly recommend there Hotel/apartments to all, i have a baby of 20 months who loved sitting on the bar stool having his sippy cup filled up ! and i felt he was safe in the pool and around the apartments to toddle about, then a teen boy and girl who loved bantering with spiros and had fun in the pool. We had an amazing holiday! Apartments and grounds are are kept clean and tidy and you can see the pride the family have in there Hotel. We had amazing views of the Mountains and enjoyed stunning sunsets, its a short comfortable walk to the beach and plenty to do in Alykanas for young and old alike. We enjoyed hiring a car the first week and went off exploring the Island, Spiros gave us loads of advice on where to visit ect.. he also makes a great Fry up!!! :), Everything we wanted all are needs and request's where met.......... PERFECT.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naomijennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This review is based on Room 327 and my top tip would be to ask for a room at the block at the back (away from the main road) as these rooms are more modern.

The room was quiet too as no road noise and no nearby noisy bars etc, although I am sure that anyone who has stayed in this area will be more than familiar with the barking dog at night and that blinking cockerel! However, in a way, those rural noises (bar the dog - grrr) are part of the area's charm (our second visit to Alykanas, but our first at The Elpida - we had cockerel noises at the other end of the strip the last time we came, too). I have yet to stay anywhere on a Greek island for this price where the beds are super comfy! They are always hard (which I prefer to soft) and we did ask for extra pillows and got them. It's just the way it seems to be so we are used to it- I don't think it would be any different anywhere else on this budget.

Air Con was 50 Euros per week and we always budget this in, for Greek hols. Nice simple basic furniture that was modern enough, as was the wet room (standard bathrooms for Greece- remember to remove the loo roll before your shower!!). Shower was pretty good for Greece in our room - sometimes we have literally had a hose! I think the rooms do vary, block by block though....I thought the rooms were cleaned to an above average standard compared to other places we have visited in Greece - done every other day (loo roll, beds tided!). Clean sheets and towels once a week if I remember rightly. Safe in room is large enough for things like I-pads etc (30 Euros for a fortnight). Greek accommodation is of a certain type and you have to know a bit about what to expect to give a fair review, I think.

The Elpida is run by a friendly family and Spiros speaks excellent English so you can have lots of questions etc answered if you need to and communication was not a problem at all. I tried to learn a bit of Greek too!

The supermarket on site is very convenient (who wants to lug 6 bottles of water far in that heat?!). Sells everything you need for lunch and so forth.

The pool was a good attraction for us. The child/baby pool, I thought, was particularly generous compared to other hotels nearby (as I had a look when we wandered around). It's 0.6 metres deep and would be one of the main reasons we would return. The main pool does get suddenly quite deep but this is not unexpected. Showers just outside the pool didn't work though. The family put a very pretty fountain with coloured lights in it at night, which made sitting by the pool in the evening, pleasant. I think the pool could have been a tiny bit cleaner in parts (tiling etc) is my only minor gripe, but I did see the dad checking the water every day- can't remember how clean other pools in Greece are by way of comparison? There is also a trampoline (6ft I'd say) and very small play area in the shade for little ones, too.

The snackbar was reasonable and as one would expect - all the usual fare.

It's not too far to the beach, but is not directly on top of it either, but we prefer the pool in some ways to the beach. Having said that Alykanas beach is lovely and not too crowded (5-7 Euros for a sunbed and umbrella). You may want different accommodation if it's important to you to be very close to the beach.

The restaurants we particularly liked were The Lemon Tree (horse and carriage at 10 Euros will take you up there as it's not on the main strip and they do a free mini bus back to your apartments at the end - go on a Thursday when it is live music etc - don't miss this taverna as it's not on the main strip). Memories was nice too (near Elpida) but I did get a bit tired of the friendly, but slightly pushy woman outside. She was nice, but I always felt we had to run the gauntlet as we passed! Maybe it's because they're at the end of the strip so have to pull in the trade? Cosy Corner (tucked away, right at the other end - near the White House Studios and behind Bonkers Bar) is well worth a visit if you're craving a burger! We thought the Chinese was over priced and a bit disappointing.

In summary, The Elpida was exactly what we were after - it's ideal for families in particular and is very fairly priced. Alykanas is a lovely resort and you know what you're going to get - lovely beach, simple but reasonable Greek accommodation and a good pool. I think you could book Alykanas, say last minute, and not be disappointed as it is a lovely place. We would return to The Elpida.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room at the block at the back away from main road (we had room 327 - ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kenobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Well what can I say this was a surprise for us as we wernt supposed to be staying here.But glad we did Spiros,Denise&Dennis were lovely,always happy considering they were always on the go 24/7.At first I was a bit daunted as haven't been in a room with no shower curtain or a 2 ring hob to cook on.But who cares they had food to eat whenever&reasonable.Supermarket was handy too.Room was ok although could do with upgrade,beds were very uncomfortable so bit more softness on mattresses would be nicer.Pool was smashing,thumbs upto the family's hard work.As for cleaners could clean a little better.Was a bit annoyed with some guests who placed towels on beds but didn't return to use them hours later.So some of us couldn't use them.If ya want quiet this is the place good for families.Anyway overall great take note no entertainment but plenty on the way down.Go easy on the free shots ure offered yuk!!Yes I was bad after.But hey hi it's part of the fun I suppose.Lots to do,eat etc.Quad bikes are cheap to get around the island £20 for 24 hours.Lovely gift shops too reasonably priced.So enjoy!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nadster_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I enjoyed my time at this hotel despite its many problems with the shower spraying everywhere and the bed breaking and the air conditioning having to be paid on top as an extra for 50 euro a week it was still a lovely pool and nice bar. The owners are lovely and the shop supermarket being next door was convenient and helpful as being self-catering you don't have to walk far to get it back to your room and the whole area where this place is set in is peaceful and away from the roaring drunk youngsters. OVERALL BASIC BUT AVERAGE IN TERMS OF ITS RIVALS.

Room Tip: away from main road is preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tgorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here from 14th July for two weeks. Rooms were very basic, but very good value for money, cleaned every other day with clean sheets & towels. Spiros greeted us with a very friendly manor when we arrived, and that continued throughout the holiday ! he was a great help arranging taxis and restaurant bookings for us ( we were a party of 15 )

Thank you Spiros for your hospitality ...... The 15 friends from Bristol.

Room Tip: This is Greece! basic, clean, good value and friendliness is what you will get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzielimejuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.5 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#5 of 7 in Alykanas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#4 of 7 in Alykanas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grapevines Hotel
Grapevines Hotel
#6 of 7 in Alykanas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Sirena Apartments
La Sirena Apartments
#15 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Litsa Studios & Apartments
Litsa Studios & Apartments
#2 of 19 in Alykanas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.0 mi away
Koukounaria Hotel
Koukounaria Hotel
#2 of 27 in Alykes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elpida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elpida Hotel

Property: Elpida Hotel
Address: Alykanas 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Alykanas
Hotel Class:2 star — Elpida Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Elpida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elpida Hotel Zakynthos/Alykanas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing