We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent, Relaxing "Greek" Holiday”
Review of Elpida Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elpida Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just back yesterday from a superb, relaxing week at these very nice family run set of apartments.
Excellent two floor apartment on first floor with two beds upstairs and one down. Bags of space and cleaned regularly but don't expect overwhelming comfort as these are just good basic "Greek style" accomodation. But what you lose in sumptuous comfort is more than made up for in hospitality and charm from the owners as Spiros and his family made our stay very enjoyable (and everyone elses we knew), with a good bar, excellent snack bar and even a supermarket on site, so the dreaded lugging back of multiple bottles of water is in this place very simple and hassle free.
Great views of mountains and countryside make it very special.
It's a nice flat 20 minute stroll to wonderful Alikanas beach, a picturesque horseshoe bay linked with Alikes which shelves gently for ages so is brill for kids and sitting in sea warmer than some baths I've had.
Restaurants in resort are all good and competition keeps standards high - particularly liked Memories, Levante and The Olive Tree but every place we tried was enjoyable. The Family Grill House on our last afternoon for Pitta Gyros at the tastiest 1.70 Euros each was also worthy of note.
I would disregard all but the favourable reviews here - the poor ones must be from people that don't know how to live unless they are moaning for the sake of it as the Elpida is simply very nice and friendly indeed.
The only thing that was remotely annoying about the trip was the 9 hour delay on departure from Gatwick caused by Olympic Holiday's carrier Strategic Airlines quite simply not having enough planes to fulfil all their commitments. I will not be booking Olympic again all the while they use this joke of a carrier - the Manchester flight had their turn and got re-scheduled on the way home by 9 hours. Save yourself some potential problems and book via Thomas Cook or independently using EasyJet.
Thank god the place was so nice that the stress quickly dripped away.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Conrad1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 296 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

I was in this hotel for 3nights and I got one ground floor studio with kitchen,in the room was much space so there could be even next 2 beds and still comfortable,you could have breakfast next door in hotel`s small restaurant or to buy things for food in their small shop just next this restaurant,hotel has small swimming pool,there was little noisy because I had room just beside the street,shops,tavernas etc were relatively close,in walking distance,beach is about 15 minutes of walk far.just next to the hotel is bus stop.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michaela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

What can we say! Such a lovely holiday. Such a beautiful family run hotel, they can't do enough for you. From breakfast until a late meal, nothing is too much trouble for them.
Spiros, and his mum and dad are such lovely people.

The rooms are cleaned regularly, and to a high standard. The pool area is also kept very clean. If you don't want to eat at the hotel, although Spiros cooks a mean omelette or scampi and chips, there are nice restaurants nearby. (within 5 mins walk). There are also horse and carriages that will take you further, for the maximum of 10 Euro's. They make you feel very special.

What else can we say but the perfect holiday, perfect location and the perfect place to stay. But best of all lovely people.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have more of a breeze and you can see more of the beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryandSteve_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great Hotel/Studio .....Bar BriLL ..... Very Nice Pool /Lights At Night AmaZing !.... Great Views from Room of Hills Fields juzt reaLy Very Peace-FuLL , We wEar Round the Back ....Large Room , Great Beds ... Air Kon Super ... 10/15 mins to Beach ...Nice Place ...Book it

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bk04dav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

spiros and his family were very welcoming and met us at the gate when we arrived. The room was basic and the cooking facilities were also very basic no kettle! but we managed with the small pan.I prefer not to cook on my holidays so the facilities weren't a problem.The room was kept clean and we were on the 3rd floor. The noise from the hotel next door along the main road was quite annoying and I'm glad I took ear defenders as they are open very late. The walk to the beach was about 10 mins, the man on the beach at the end of the road was very friendly and went out of his way to get us a good spot under his parasol. There are loads of great places to eat and all very reasonable,We enjoyed the whole ambience of this resort and would reccommend it if you want a quiet relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mrstyne22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We have just returned from yet another visit to the Elpida in Alykanas, our second this year. We could not thank Spiros, Denise and Dennis and the Team enough for our lovely relaxing break.

We've been going for some years and each time we return, we see familiar faces of other guests who, like us, decide to go back and experience the wonderful service and hospitality. They really do make you feel like family.

If anyone wants to experience a really good hotel with great service and plenty of amenities, then go here; if not then you could try some of the other 'hotels' in the area; and be abused and badly treated as we once were...never again.

Biased; yes we are; and each time we return we enjoy it as much.

Helen and Steve.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank steveb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Hotel apartment extremely clean and spacious, though lacking basic's for s/c no kettle or toaster or grill, just to small rings, full size fridge good, no TV, would have been good to keep in touch with the news etc.Beds are a bit uncomfortable. Views from room stunning scenery both front and back. The sea was a bit of a stroll but beach sandy and suitable for all ages. Lots of restaurants close by, but the best by far was the Cosy Corner down near the beach in Alykanas, you will need a few bob in your pocket to eat out though.

Room Tip: All rooms have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mouse114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.0 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#6 of 7 in Alykanas
439 reviews
4.7 mi away
Planos Beach Hotel
Planos Beach Hotel
#23 of 51 in Tsilivi
322 reviews
4.6 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Phoenix Beach Hotel
Phoenix Beach Hotel
#14 of 51 in Tsilivi
352 reviews
5.4 mi away
Petros Hotel
Petros Hotel
#21 of 51 in Tsilivi
402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#3 of 7 in Alykanas
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elpida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elpida Hotel

Address: Alykanas 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Alykanas
Hotel Class:2 star — Elpida Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Elpida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elpida Hotel Zakynthos/Alykanas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing