We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a perfect holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eleni's Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eleni's Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a perfect holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

this is the second time my wife and myself have stayed at the excellent eleni garden studios and would not stay anywhere else in alikanas. the rooms are immaculate and cleaned every other day with everything in them you could ever need. all have amazing views of this beutiful island. the whole complex itself is finished and maintained to the very highest standard and the grounds and surrounding gardens are wonderful. the pool area is amazing,very clean with a good size pool and a smaller shallower one which is ideal for young children. it also has a toilet and shower area near the pool for you convineiance.there is also a pool side bar and snack area were delicious meals can be brought (i know of no one who can cook eggs as good as eleni can) all fresh from there own garden,which lastly brings me to the owner.,eleni and nikos are without doubt the nicest people you could want to meet,nothing is to much trouble for them, i badly cut my thumb on some rocks and nurse eleni as we now call her was on hand to bandage me up,if you need anything all you need to do is ask and if its whithin there power to help, then they will. in conclusion i would not hesitate to recommend these excellent apartments for a fantastic,peacful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mikenjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    19
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
24
77
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

This was exactly the holiday I had in mind when booking 10 nights, for my boyfriend and I, and we were not dissapointed. it is a small quiet family run hotel with only 12 rooms so your never short of sunbeds. Breakfast is served at the poolbar, we had this included and ordered full english which also came with cake and fruit or we were surprised with alternative fruits & sweets which was lovely, it was abit like a three course breakfast which was available whenever you were ready to get up and order it, but probably not if you get up at 5pm. Room service is not applicable as it was just bed & breafast. the pool was lovely and not too deep and it dsent get packed so many holiday makers would do casual lengths up and down the pool. The surrounding at scenery is of olive groves, mountains and hills, there are a few swallows nesting and sparrows that fly around the pool occasionally but they dont disturb any holiday makers infact they added to the tranquility and were lovely to observe. The rooms are cleaned out every couple of days and although the owners English is limited they are always welcoming and any help you should require they will always do what they can. the bathrooms are quite small but clean, it catered for what we needed. Hot water is available all the time but best time to shower is in the morning or around 6-7pm it depends on when everyone starts to get ready to go out. We used the mosquito plugs in the room which must have worked as I only got bitten twice & I think that happened when we were out in the evening. 'Mojos Cafe Bar' (follow the road and its about 5-10mins on the right) was fantastic the brothers who run it have created a great atmosphere there, Dimitris-the older brother & Antonis plays the guitar and is in a band, any advice needed for eating out just ask them. Our favorite place to eat was 'Vrisaki' a short distance from the bar or 'Memories' there are so many more places to go and more to do on the Island but we ran out of time so we will be back... We met a few couples who had been coming back to the Island for a number of years & one was there to attend a wedding. We look forward to going back....

Room Tip: There are only 12 rms, 2 of them are with double beds- the 6 rms on ground level are closest to pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank josegray70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

Eleni and Nickos were very friendly and if you had something wrong with anything there they will fix it. The rooms were very clean and had everything you need. They had beds, a wardrobe, a bathroom (which towels are supplied for), a kitchen and a balcony with a table and chairs on it.
The food was delicious and was ready quickly. The pool was quiet so me and my family usually had the pool to ourselves which was great! It is in an area close to the lovely beach and close to the restaurants and bars where I met some great new friends.

If you are going to a bar there I would recommend going to the 'Cuba Bar' (owned by a man called Nickos and his wife) and if you are going to a restaurant I would recommend 'La Vante' (owned by a man called Demetri and others).

Go there! It's a great place to be!

Room Tip: Just ask Eleni or Nickos if you want something.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank greecezante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

We really fell on our feet at Eleni's - large,airy studio, good beds, frequent linen change, adequate cooking facilities ( and anything lacking, as we were thefirst in of the season quickly provided;) 15/20 mins to the beach, but who cares with such a great pool? We don't do breakfast, bur guests who did said the pool bar breakfast was marvellous value.
Fantastic view over mountains and Kefalonia, fields all around. Near the main road, but we didn't find this a problem.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jan842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

Stayed here for a week. Easy booking, very low cost. The rooms are basic but advertised as such. Comfortable and clean. The beds were all twins not doubles. The bathroom is tiny - especially the shower but everything worked and the rooms were cleaned every other day. Towels provided. The walls are thin so you may hear noise from other rooms but other residents were mostly older couples so not noisy.
The hot water can run out at busy times (6-8pm) so get in early. Swimming pool was crystal clear and clean. Owners greeted us but kept a low profile.
From one of the previous reviews - they mentioned raw sewage coming up through the drain - that photo is not of raw sewage it's the bubbles from your shampoo coming back up through the floor drain!
Highly recommended restaurants nearby - Olympic cuisine bar, La Caretta, Vrisakis. Very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElleEMcL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGarden, Owner at Eleni's Gardens, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Dear Guest,
We want to thank you for your visit to Eleni’s Garden and we appreciate very much for taking the time to give us your kind comments and points of view of our hotel. Hotels, traditional constructed in Zante as well as in whole Greece, consist of small two floor buildings. Such buildings require much less energy, water and other resource than large buildings which are not energy efficient. The Eleni’s Garden was built with an obvious sensitivity towards the surrounding environment and respect for the island’s eco architecture. Therefore the room’s size is not so important, but some basic facilities (beds, closet, bath and WC, besides of a/c). However, it is our pleasure to inform you that we are working hard to make our studios even more inviting and beautiful, so as to succeed our client’s expectations. Thank you very much for your honesty, and we will very happy to welcome you once again in a short future.

Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed in an upstairs room at the Eleni's Garden Studios back in June 2010 and had a fantastic time. Our room was basic, but everything we expected in Greece and for the excellent price we paid. It was clean, had the basics and the balcony overlooked the pretty gardens out the front. There is a road going by the side of the balconies but it is a quiet road splitting off of the main road so never got noisy.

The pool area is the best feature. There were plenty of sun beds, all with umbrellas and it's out in a huge wide open space so gets the sun all day long. It's surrounded by green fields and you can make our distant hills in the background, so it's all very nice. There's a bar too for some basic snacks and bottled beer. Sadly, no draft Mythos available! It was quiet all day whilst we were there and as the there aren't many rooms at the Eleni's Gardens, it would never get over crowded.

The location was perfect, as it's only a 5 minute walk to the busier part of Alykanas. On the way, you'll pass a bunch and restaurants and there are more on a street to the right as you head into town. Once in the town, there's a choice of restaurants and bars to choose from, as well as gift shops, mini supermarkets and car rental places. At this point, I'd have to say everywhere that we ate was fantastic and we loved all the bars we went to. Keep heading into Alykanas without leaving the main street and you'll head into Alykes along the riverside. Here, I have to recommend the Paradosiako Taverna. It's on the left side of the river heading toward Alykes and is just fantastic. Best Greek food I've ever eaten. I'd also recommend Mantalena in Alykanas and Neraida Restaurant on the far right side of Alykanas beach. Neraida was superb at anytime of the day. A must eat!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haywardian23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGarden, Owner at Eleni's Gardens, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your post in which you give an honest opinion of our hotel. We are simply trying to offer you a quiet and relaxing holiday in a friendly and informal atmosphere at a good price. In the matter of fact, the hotel has basic furniture; we will keep working hard in the improvement areas for 2011 (replacing kitchen in all downstairs studios) and getting new add values (2 totally renovated studios with modern decor) to make this place more enjoyable for our clients. Wishing to welcome you in a short future, we remain at your complete disposal.

Sincerely Yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

i had a brilliant holiday but I most definately would not stay at this hotel again.

Firstly the bad points. the owners were probably the most unfriendly people i have ever met. we paid for a safety deposite box in the room and when it came to collect our deposite back before we left he made out that he couldn't understand us. Funny that he was able to understand us when it came to collecting the money in the first place!

The appartments were generally dirty, raw sewage came out the drain on the floor in the bathroom, the toilet bin wasnt emptied for 3 days. The shower was tiny and the shower curtain was filthy, everytime you had a shower it flooded the whole bathroom.

Plug sockets hung out the wall which i considered slightly dangerous. these appartments were definately a lower standard than a usual 3 star hotel in greece.

Now for the good points, the appartments were in a great location and had a lovely quiet pool. It had a pool bar that sold snacks and drinks that were quite nice but were expensive.

There are many much nicer hotels that are just as reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flopsymillington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGarden, Owner at Eleni's Gardens, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
It's always sad when someone is not happy with our hotel but this is life and we accept not to be able to please everyone. And we are not surprised if you complain even if the room where you stayed you didn’t like, but because you complained only on trip advisor and not with us during your stay.
We are a small, family run, hotel and we apologize if the staff was not polite as they should have been and because was not able to provide what you needed; on the other side you didn’t understand that safety deposit box was not included in the room price and was offered under request with extra fee per week. So, there was not reason to ask for your money back before you leave.
It is correct to express your disappointment if there is something that doesn't work in your room but in this situation you could have asked us why the toilet bin was not emptied regularly, or why the shower curtain was stuck. The plug sockets were not broken but simply a little loose depending on the socket and we apologize for that - if you have told us it could have been fixed while you were here. We have already scheduled to replace plug sockets in all rooms with new.
We are focused on the job we love and we will try to improve our services and facilities in the future.
We are very glad that you liked our location and overall you had good time in Zante.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alykanas hotels
0.6 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#5 of 7 in Alykanas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.6 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#4 of 7 in Alykanas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Danny's Hotel
Danny's Hotel
#1 of 7 in Alykanas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grapevines Hotel
Grapevines Hotel
#6 of 7 in Alykanas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zantegarden Apartments
Zantegarden Apartments
#4 of 19 in Alykanas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Litsa Studios & Apartments
Litsa Studios & Apartments
#2 of 19 in Alykanas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eleni's Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eleni's Gardens

Property: Eleni's Gardens
Address: Alykanas 29100, Greece (Formerly Eleni's Studios)
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Alykanas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eleni's Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Eleni`s Gardens Hotel Alykanas
Eleni's Gardens Zakynthos/Alykanas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing