We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, gorgeous location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grecotel Mykonos Blu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Psarou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed at the Mykonos Blu hotel two weeks ago with my mother. It it such a gorgeous location with amazing views and loved the hotel too. The staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much for their guests and the breakfast every morning was amazing. It was relaxing and enjoyable from start to finish. If I had to say something negative, there was a bit of a lack of attention to detail e.g. crisps on the floor, the sofa covers were creased, these are minor things but do make a difference. Overall, a lovely hotel with fantastic staff and a great location, would love to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaH882013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MykonosBluGrecotel, General Manager at Grecotel Mykonos Blu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Emma,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a memorable stay with Grecotel Mykonos Blu. We are looking froward to welcoming you back in our hotel in another occasion.

Kind regards,

Stelios

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 591 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile


The hotel is rated 5 stars, priced definitely at 5 star level, but, unfortunately our experience was not.

We stayed here for 4 nights for family holiday (my wife + our 7 yr old son).

Positives:
- great location
- own beach
- nice views from all levels
- food quality at lunch and dinner good
- free wifi, including on the beach
- friendly staff

Negatives: quite a long list, most of them related to service levels and housekeeping.

Service levels / food

- Service is consistently very slow. We were kept waiting 20, 30 even 40 mins for our drinks in the bar area, sometimes with no other guests around. Similar experience at lunch and dinner, between drinks, starter, main course, dessert.. We concluded it may be a cultural phenomenon, as we experienced a similar service at restaurants outside the hotel, Interni and Koursaros. Even if it is, this should not happen in a 5 star hotel.

- quality/taste of drinks and cocktails varied from day to day and from restaurant to bar. Some good, others not so much.

- Breakfast quality quite average and just an adequate selection. I'd expect 5 star hotels to have better choice and quality. They should look at what 5 star hotels in other places (Dubai, Istanbul, London) serve.

- Tea /coffee. Barely warm (we thought water not boiled at all) and had an unpleasant smell to it. It seems the tap water has the same strange smell. Not sure why that was the case.

House keeping:

- Our room telephone did not work. Reported it 3 times over 2 days. No-one cared to fix it or explain why it was not working. I gave up in the end, had to use own mobile on roaming to call reception on three occasions.

- Asked for a roll-away bed for our son. This was provided as frame + mattress only, no sheets, blanket or pillow. Had to request these separately.

- We requested an extra blanket, it was taken away from the room next day, so had to request again.

- No mattress cover on the main bed. Just a single layer of bed sheet. Had to request that too.

These things must not happen in a hotel like this.

Others:

- one night extremely loud music from a nearby beach club (or was it a boat?) going on until 3.30am made it hard to sleep. Complained to reception, they said many people had complained but unable to help.

Finally, as others have also mentioned, the need to use many levels of stairs to reach the rooms and the beach may make it inconvenient for families with infants and toddlers, and for people with limited abilities.

So overall experience not a too bad, lots pf little issues, but not 5 star quality.

Hope it is useful to you. If the management sorts out the service and housekeeping issues, the hotel can be great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hankali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MykonosBluGrecotel, General Manager at Grecotel Mykonos Blu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Hankali,

We would like to thank you for taking time to review Grecotel Mykonos Blu on Tripadvisor.

We are very sorry to find out that your expectations have not been met on this occasion. We assure you that this is not the standard Grecotel Mykonos Blu delivers.

We deeply regret to find out that the service such as the housekeeping, and the music played from the beach restaurant next door prevented you from enjoying fully your holiday experience.
At the same time we are really glad that you commented positively on our team,
the food quality (lunch and dinner), our location and the views that one enjoys when staying in Grecotel Mykonos Blu.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Grecotel Mykonos Blu in a future occasion and provide the experience we promise.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to discuss your experience further or decide to visit again as I would like to oversee your reservation myself
- skoumantakis@grecotel.com -.

Kind regards,

Stelios

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Our group was so looking forward to this portion of our trip to celebrate two birthdays. We had heard so much about the hotel and it's great location. First of all upon booking I was surprised at the price but was told that the property went thru a huge makeover and was now worth a five star price. Since we had birthdays the group felt fine and decided to book the three bedroom suite. Which upon arrival we discovered was only two bedrooms. This was a big misunderstanding and bad start. We also discovered the phones don't work and were told to use our cell phones. That works well if you are calling internationally(not a great answer). At night there are a lot of black beatles that can look like a cockroach who try to come into your room. Not fun when there is no where to put your clothes other than your bag on the floor. The service in the restaurant is poor. The bright spot for the hotel is the staff at the front desk. They are very nice and eager to try to help. This is a Three star property trying to charge a 5 Star price. I travel all over the world and have stayed at some of the true world class hotels. All I can say is buyer beware. You will not get what you pay for.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank Awb7bar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MykonosBluGrecotel, General Manager at Grecotel Mykonos Blu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Awb7bar

We would like to thank you for taking time to review Grecotel Mykonos Blu on Tripadvisor.

Allow us to express how sorry we are that the experience you received was not up to par. We assure you that this is not the standard Grecotel Mykonos Blu strives for.

We deeply regret to find out that there was a misunderstanding in your reservation and you did not get the 3 bedroom suite, that you have expected. We truly understand your disappointment.

A blackout caused unpredicted technical problems to our telephone line that unfortunately could not have been fixed immediately. Due to these problems and the dissatisfaction with the service, we can totally understand that your expectations have not been met. We would like to apologize for all these inconveniences.
At the same time we appreciate your kind words about our team at the front-desk and the location of our hotel.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Grecotel Mykonos Blu in a future occasion and provide the experience we promise.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to discuss your experience further or decide to visit again as I would like to oversee your reservation myself
- skoumantakis@grecotel.com -.

Kind regards,


Stelios

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have just experienced a fabulous week at this wonderful hotel. The view is fantastic, the hotel is gracious with understated elegance. The Manager Mr Stelios is incredible and the whole team are truly outstanding. They are always on hand to ensure all your needs are met. The breakfast was a very lovely buffet and the dinners in the restaurant were very good. We will be back!!! Christos and Maria - Australia

Room Tip: Sea view absolutely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MykonosBluGrecotel, General Manager at Grecotel Mykonos Blu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Christos and Maria

Thank you very much for your touching words in regards to your experience in Grecotel Mykonos Blu. We are so happy to hear, that you had a wonderful time with us. Greetings to both of you and great Australia, from all of our team. We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Stelios

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed in Grecotel Mykonos Blu Hotel summer of 2013. Hotel is the best I stayed in mykonos. I stayed in a couple of other hotels just to try them out. This was the bes. They have a private beach. Suitable for couples and families. Very relaxing atmosphere.

Room Tip: Get the rooms that are first row, facing the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MABA7ITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MykonosBluGrecotel, General Manager at Grecotel Mykonos Blu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear MABA71TH,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. It makes us more than happy to hear, that you had a great and relaxing stay with us. We hope to have you with us again soon. Greetings to the UAE.

Kind regards,

Stelios

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The setting of this marvelous 5* hotel at Psarou Beach, probably the most beautiful bay of Mykonos is fantastic. The food is extremely good, each diner was a gastronomic experience.
Staff is very friendly. We would not recommend this destination for families with young children. Older and/or less mobile people will not be able to access the beach (lots of stairs), the pool area is accessible by elevators.
We would like to go back.
Benny & Christine

Room Tip: The hotel is constantly improving and rooms are being renovated with respect for the original concep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bietie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MykonosBluGrecotel, General Manager at Grecotel Mykonos Blu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Benny and Christine,

Thank you very much for your kind words and honest feedback.

We are really happy to hear, that you had a memorable stay at Mykonos Blu, a Grecotel Exclusive Resort. Keep the precious memories of the wonderful view overlooking Psarou Bay that you mentioned. It was so nice to have you staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Greetings from Greece to beautiful Belgium.

Kind regards,

Stelios

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Mykonos Blu is a beautiful contemporary hotel perched above Psarou beach. The staff are excellent and incredibly helpful and friendly. The blue and white decor is simple and very Greek. The food is excellent . Having a G&T on the bar balcony watching the sun go down is truly wonderful. One tip : quite a lot of loud of music from Psarou beach at times so be prepared.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeekendWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psarou
0.1 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#1 of 26 in Platys Gialos
913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel
0.1 mi away
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
#2 of 26 in Platys Gialos
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Rocabella Mykonos Hotel & SPA
Rocabella Mykonos Hotel & SPA
#1 of 9 in Agios Stefanos
1,564 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mykonos Princess Hotel
Mykonos Princess Hotel
#2 of 9 in Agios Stefanos
340 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cavo Tagoo
Cavo Tagoo
#19 of 83 in Mykonos Town
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Mykonos Blu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Mykonos Blu Hotel

Address: Psarou Beach, Psarou 846 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Psarou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Psarou
Price Range: $254 - $1,186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Mykonos Blu Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grecotel Mykonos Blu, the best luxury 5 star hotel in Mykonos over Psarou beach, welcomes you totally fresh and redesigned in perfect white & ambient blue tones with new Suites. This luxury hotel is built in traditional Aegean style and decorated by internationally acclaimed interior designers. It is incredible; Like Mykonos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grecotel Mykonos Blu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grecotel Mykonos Blu
Grecotel Mykonos Blu Platys Gialos
Grecotel Mykonos Blu Hotel Psarou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing