We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So not what we expected.......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grecotel Mykonos Blu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Psarou
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So not what we expected.......”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

Having just spent the most incredible time at Santorini Grace Hotel for the first part of our honeymoon we were on a high but we came crashing down when we arrived at Mykonos Blu. Such a bad choice of hotel. We picked it as it was in the Quintessentially Guide to top hotels. How wrong they got it! The beach was rubbish - all this fuss about it being the best beach in Mykonos ? I'd hate to see the worse beach. It felt like one of those naff all inclusive hotels. Nothing special at all. The room was so small and pokey but then had a massive terrace, which was nice but nothing out of the ordinary. Shame the room wasn't as big as the terrace! Bed was small and uncomfortable, bathroom really unremarkable. In fact this whole hotel was average. I had a pregnancy massage - again nothing great here and so expensive. The pool was nice and big. Breakfast really not good. They couldn't even boil an egg properly. Just don't go here ! Go to Mykonos Grace instead - which we should have done ! Definitely not value for money -very expensive and when we look at how much we paid for Santorini Grace there was little difference in price but my God the hotels are in different leagues !Such a shame as it ruined our honeymoon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank REH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    85
    39
    21
    17
See reviews for
82
277
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
465 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

The hotel is minutes to 10-15 away from the airport. Meet once on home hospitality, without pathos. The symbol of the hotel is a blue donkey. His sculptures in a variety of designs scattered about the hotel.

The room was very large and spacious, with traditional Greek design, white and blue colors.
From the fact that everything is white, the feeling that merges space, but in fact it is very relaxing. And the bed too quickly plunged into the realm of Morpheus.
Technique Bang & Olufsen, a dvd player and a wine refrigerator
Bath interesting. What we liked - two washbasins, shower and bathroom.

The room has a private terrace.
Here you have a small pool. Swim in it does not work, but here lie with a sea view is great.
Immediately there is a Wi-Fi access.

They say this beach is very famous, almost the whole world. Personally, I beach did not seem anything special, I would even call it below average. The beach is small and pebbly, Grekotel divides it from another hotel.

Dining at the hotel half board as possible, that is, breakfast meal, but instead of the usual buffet style, here are practicing a la carte, that is, choose from several options and are prepared specially for you. Frankly, anywhere in the world I have not tried it so delightful dishes of meat and fish. The food even better than in other hotels Grekotel network.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irunchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We just spent a week at the elGreco hotel Mykonos Blu and it was not more than average. I'm actually surprised by all this positive recommendations...
We arrived to a tiny room that smelt strongly of mold, the sheets were moist and unfriendly, the bathroom old and worn down, the sea view (I guess if you look past the house in front of you, you could call it sea view), the next balcony so close you can sit elbow on elbow with your neighbor. We complained and they upgraded us to a way nicer and bigger rom.
Staff friendliness was average, nothing special and for sure people wouldn't walk the extra mile for you.
Pool was nice, also a gym is available and a spa where a pedicure costs 50 euros....
The beach is beautiful, the water turquoise and very clean, downside is that the hotel tries to make the most of the beach and squeezes as many lounge beds on the small area as possible. End result you are almost lying on top of each other, your feet in the face of the people in front of you. Big applause for the lounge bed/umbrella/towel boy, he really did a wow job.
Breakfast choice was decent, dinner was really nice.
All in all an ok stay, we were not impressed and we will not come back or recommend further.
Nothing special....

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ManuelaRonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

We were in awe of the service and attention to detail by the staff. The hotel is an oasis in blue and white. The room was oustanding, champagne , wine , waters and on my birthday they actually sent a cake that was made on site... Wow... how did they do that... my finance did not say a word... someone over heard our conversation..and that was that...
Taking it a step futher they gave us the best seat in the out door dining area , it was perfect! Service, scene, food fantastic...
What sets the Mykonos Blu Hotel apart from others on the island is the people .. they truly love what they do and take such pride in the hotel... On our last day, we had an early departure and wanted to have breakfast( unreal each day), unfortunately the kitchen was closed.. well no problem , chef came in cooked us and a few others a basic breakfast and fresh coffee to go en route to the airport ( on their shuttle jeep)
We are planning our next stay for 9-12 Cheers ! Tom and Stella McDermott

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking bay are all wonderful.. try to get one on higher level..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank TNSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

The resort the beach the rooms the breakfast is excellent. The place makes you feel pampered all the time. Staff are nice. Lots of little treats brought to the room at the strangest times. Only issue is transport if you want to go to center or paradise. So rent a quad bike for your time and your set. The bed was noisy but everything else was stunning. Would come back for sure to a great fun island and lovely resort with it's own private beach!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwikimchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed in Mykonos Blu Hotel in Psarou beach with my partner for 4 days and I wish we would have stayed longer!! This hotel is truly a gem!!
Firstly the location is outstanding. Psarou beach is the most beautiful beach in Mykonos and the hotel has got sunbeds and umbrellas in one part of it. Namos reastaurant on the beach is super trendy with amazing menu.
The hotel itself is a heaven for design minded travellers with true attention to every detail
and genuine minimal Greek ambience. The lobby bar is the perfect place for a pre dinner coctail or a night cap. The Aegean Poets restaurant has got a breakfast buffet which can satisfy the most discerning guest!! Really enjoyed the greek pastries, delicious!!

Our room was decorated in white and blu, with lots of soft cushions and a comfy bench by the window. The most amazing part though is the view which is breathtaking!! We most enjoyed sitting on our balcony enjoying the beautiful sea view and the ever changing colour of the sky.
The bathroom amenities and the fully stocked mini bar added to the quality of the room.
The maids were very discreet and the cleanliness of the room impecable.

The friendliness of the staff and the exceptional service made our stay even more memorable!!
Mykonos Blu is a place were you can only imagine in dreams and defenitely recomend it to everyone who wants to have a holiday of a lifetime!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterHoteljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at the waterfront bunglow, the room...the view......and the layout was exceptional. Each and every hotel staff makes you feel at home. Before the start of our vacation we were about to cancel our booking even though the terms of booking did not allow. Nikos the reservation manager was most gracious to offer a refund. Once or twice we wanted to travel within Mykonos and the hotel gave us a ride in their own SUVs free of charge. The beach is within 1 minute walking distance and well organised. Refreshments are available from the hotel and an eatery nearby...but stick to the hotels catering. And do take time out to laze on the beach chairs at night...very romantic and relaxing..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandeepberi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psarou
0.2 mi away
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel
0.1 mi away
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
#1 of 25 in Platys Gialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#2 of 25 in Platys Gialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cavo Tagoo
Cavo Tagoo
#15 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
4.0 mi away
Rocabella Mykonos Art Hotel & SPA
1.6 mi away
Boheme
Boheme
#1 of 82 in Mykonos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Mykonos Blu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Mykonos Blu Hotel

Property: Grecotel Mykonos Blu Hotel
Address: Psarou Beach, Psarou 846 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Psarou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Psarou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Mykonos Blu Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grecotel Mykonos Blu, the best luxury 5 star hotel in Mykonos over Psarou beach, welcomes you totally fresh and redesigned in perfect white & ambient blue tones with new Suites. This luxury hotel is built in traditional Aegean style and decorated by internationally acclaimed interior designers. It is incredible; Like Mykonos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grecotel Mykonos Blu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grecotel Mykonos Blu
Grecotel Mykonos Blu Platys Gialos
Grecotel Mykonos Blu Hotel Psarou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing