We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest hotel in Greece in 40 years of visits...”
Review of Sea Horse Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Molyvos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Horse Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Molyvos
Certificate of Excellence
Nice, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Nicest hotel in Greece in 40 years of visits...”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Over forty years I have been a repeat visitor to Greece innumerable times, and I truly can’t remember a nicer hotel than the Sea Horse. It could not be more beautifully situated than right in Molyvos’s charming and colorful harbor. What a delight to watch the fisherman in their brightly colored skiffs putt-putt-putting around or look from overhead at the amusing wharf scene. The owners did a major renovation last year and everything about it has been well done: the tile floors, nice wood furniture including a good desk, the fixtures, everything. I worried that the harbor scene might be too noisy at night but not at all. You don’t hear it unless you step onto the balcony, and then it’s Greece’s background song of fishermen and restauranteurs doing their thing with the mellow plucking of a bouzouki in the background. From the balcony you see nothing but quintessential Greece: old village buildings, a colorful harbor, the blue blue Aegean, and the coastline of the island fading into the distance. Could not be a better romantic getaway or writer’s retreat.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WolaWola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    38
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
78
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tromsø, Norway
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This charming family owned hotel is situated right down at the harbour. You eat you breakfast on the pier and can enjoy the silence and the calming waves. The family who run the hotel is pleasant and welcoming. The room has ocean view and is clean. I’m going back this summer. I can’t wait.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruckner70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

IS there a nicer hotel in a more idyllic location anywhere in Europe? If there is, please let us know.
We spent two glorious September weeks at The Seahorse and, quite simply, we couldn't fault it.
Imagine going out on the balcony each morning to see small, brightly coloured fishing boats leaving the harbour to head for the open sea, then returning each evening with their catch - all this less than 50 yards from your room.
If harbour watching and people watching are your thing, you will be in heaven here. Breakfast is served right on the edge of the harbour with the fish "begging" for scraps of bread.
Dimitris and Stella, who run the hotel, seem to be working flat out from dawn to the wee small hours, yet exude an infectious happiness despite all the problems facing Greece.
The hotel is b and b, with a continental breakfast (or any kind of breakfast you wish for an extra charge). But the cobbled area between the hotel's entrance and the harbour edge bustles with activity throughout the day as a snack bar, and, in the evenings, for full meals.
The menu is wide ranging and the food we had was as good as any we have had in Lesvos.
We loved The Seahorse so much, we came straight home and booked three weeks next year.
Frank and Sheila Wood, Bury, England

Room Tip: Most rooms have balconies overlooking the harbour, but there are just a few which don't. You mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Sea Horse Hotel is a beautyful little hotel in the harbour of Molyvos. Our room on the 2.floor had the best view to the sea. A simple hotel, but very charming. Dimitri, the owner will do his best for you. Aproximately 10 minutes to the beach. We will be back.

Room Tip: Top floor had the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CateMunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We were actually staying outside Molyvos at the Sunrise Hotel but when we booked a boat excursion to Skala Sikaminias, the taxi strike meant we had to stay in town not to miss the boat so-to-speak the next morning. We had a spacious room with good A/C ,
double bed softer than the usual slab of cement-like mattress, a small refrigerator and a decent-sized bathroom with a combination bath/shower. Room was clean and quiet even though it overlooked the harbour and restaurants. Loved sitting on the balcony, watching the action down below. The view of the harbour was beautiful and very soothing in preparation for a good night's sleep.

The only thing I liked a little less was that the room entrance is in a dark alley which was unnerving at first but seemed safe (Room 12).

Breakfast didn't blow me away but overall, was very happy with our choice.

As for the travel agency next door, I was not as satisfied. The explanation of the Skala Sikaminias boat tour was very vague. Despite repeated questioning, I never got a straight answer and so we missed the swimming part of the excursion which we only discovered later.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Just returned from a week in Molyvos (MIthimna) staying at the Seahorse Hotel on the harbour. Can't say much else other than excellent! We had a beautiful clean room on the top floor with a private balcony overlooking the harbour and beyond the Aegean... This made for a lovely romantic spot to enjoy a glass of wine as the sun went down and the fishing boats putt-putted out of the harbour.
This is a lovely spot and a delightful traditional hotel. Be aware that it's not "the Hilton" so don't expect a wealth of facilities but do expect a warm welcome and kind, generous service during your stay (this is a family run hotel).
As mentioned, the location is excellent, with a wide choice of tavernas on the harbour and a short walk away in the town itself. The louder nightlife seems to be based on the other end of the town next to the beach (where the Olive Press hotel is). That end of town had all the car rental firms and felt like 'tourist central' - the harbour is much quieter.
The hotel also serves great Greek food so definitely worth a meal there too. We also had breakfast included, which usually consisted of some bread or croissants and eggs or yoghurt with honey, all served on the waterfront, making for a pleasant start to the day.
Idyllic setting and great hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PSKR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

The Seahorse Hotel in Molyvos (or Mithimna, the local name for the port village), is right on the waters' edge in the village of Molyvos. Access to the hotel by taxi is not easy, as the roads around the port itself are closed in the late afternoon, as the port tavernas, bars and restaurants come to life. Try and arrive during the earlier part of the day, especially in high season. The hotel is comfortable, the rooms are good, and most of them have a view directly over the harbour. HOWEVER, there are a few rooms that do not have a full view of the harbour, but look out over a small cobbled side-street. I have published a photo showing the balcony of the room I stayed in having a few of this side-street. At times, especially very early morning, I found it noisy from all the activities down below, but in the evenings it was relatively quiet. I loved the fact that I could sit outside on the balcony and overlook the activities happening below..... a taverna downstairs' kitchen door faced this ally, and often the cook and his assistants would sit outside preparing the meals for the evening, very enchanting. I did not find this to be a distraction, and didn't feel short-changed in any way for getting this room. The hotel has a restaurant on site, the food of a reasonably good quality, although I never ate at one restaurant\taverna for the entire time I was there. The breakfasts (as in most Greek establishments) were most disappointing. The quality passable, but nothing to reminisce about.... As far as the location is concerned, bear in mind, the distance between the airport\and port in correlation to Mithimna\Molyvos. 75 euros taxi fair one way was incredibly steep. A suggestion would be to hire a car at the airport, and return this at the end of your stay, at the airport (huge saving). The room had a very good air-conditioner, a small fridge, and very basic kitchen facilities. I am not sure if all the rooms have these facilities, but mine did. The bathroom had a bath (shock!) which was a welcome relief after having to shower for an entire month in Greece.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zeekoevlei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Molyvos
0.9 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel
Aphrodite Hotel
#1 of 12 in Molyvos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Molyvos 1
Hotel Molyvos 1
#7 of 12 in Molyvos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.2 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#3 of 12 in Molyvos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Delfinia Hotel & Bungalows
0.9 mi away
Akti
Akti
#9 of 12 in Molyvos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
27.8 mi away
Theofilos Paradise Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Horse Hotel

Property: Sea Horse Hotel
Address: Molyvos 81108, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Molyvos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Molyvos
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Horse Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Sea Horse Hotel Molyvos, Lesbos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing