We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we wont be back”
Review of Eriphilly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eriphilly Hotel
Reviewed August 6, 2011

simply put very substandard accomadation but if easily pleased it will suit but as a regular greek visitor it is very dated regards pool i did not let my 5 year old in after the first day you could not see the bottom it was of a milky colour the rooms are not fit for use if you have child with you the fridge is useless but the area is pleasant if you are going there use the pool area @ the diamanti apartments 100 meters towards molyvos very clean and top people

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eddy746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 61 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed at the Eriphilly studios/apartments from July 14 - 28th 2011. As mentioned elsewhere, the property is split into three blocks - we stayed in what is the oldest building of the three, the Makres block.

Our studio had two single beds (standard Greek s/c practice) which we pushed together, wardrobe (plenty large enough for two weeks worth of clothes for two people), drawer space and a kitchenette, comprising sink, cupborad space, assorted cutlery/crockery/pots and pans, fridge, kettle and two ring hob. The furniture and decor were a little dated but if you go to Greece and self cater, chanmces are you'll be using your room as somewhere to get your head down/change before an evening out, and little else, so the accomodation suited our needs perfectly.On the few occasions we did cook (light lunches), the facilities were perfectly adequate. The studio was cleaned to a good standard every day except Sunday with regular bedding/towel changes throughout our stay. Air conditioning is charged at 5 euros per day but we didn't use it, preferring to sleep with the balcony doors open.

Our studio (number 11) was located at the rear of the building meaning we had an uninterrupted view across open countryside to the castle. The balcony got direct sunshine from about 11am 'til sunset.

The Eriphilly is set in well maintained gardens which continue around the pool area. There was plenty of pace around the pool in our first week, however, in the second week both we and others did struggle for space around the pool on occasions so in school holidays it can be a case of "you snooze, you lose" - there are not enough loungers to accomodate more than perhaps a third of the guests at any one time and the pool can become crowded. People with children should also be aware that the pool is deeper than the 1.8metres stated - I'm six feet tall and was submerged by a good four inches at the deep end.

The pool bar area is set on a pretty, shaded patio. Drinks are reasonable priced and pretty much on a par with elsewhere in Molyvos (2.50 euros for a Mythos, 2 euros for a coke), and food also was comparable with elsewhere in Molyvos, with a reasonable selection of both Greek and more familiar dishes available. If you're planning to have a few beers on your balcony though, it's worth a trip into Molyvos, where you can pick up the same bottles of Mythos for as little as 1 euro each.

The family who own and operate the Eriphilly were friendly and always on site. We didn't have any problems or complaints during our stay but did witness Christos doing his best to help a customer who had left her sons medication on the transfer coach by offering to drive into town himself and pick up replacements from the chemist - typical Greek hospitality.

We met some lovely people at the Eriphilly - some first timers like ourselves, and others who had visited previously and decided to return. While we're not likely to return ourselves (it's a big world out there and we want to see more of it),, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Eriphilly or Molyvos itself to travellers looking to experience something a little closer to "real" Greece than you might expect from your average package deal. While Thomson and First Choices decision to only offer all-inclusive deals in Greece next year means they are unlikely to be going to Eriphilly, I'm sure one of the other operators will add this excellent value, beautifully situated gem to their portfolio.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonLonsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Travelled with First Choice/Thomson holiday company. Arrived at this accommodation with high expectations following reading the reviews on Trip Advisor site. First impressions were ok then we were shown to our studio in the Makres section of the complex. Room number 6 what a dump! Ex Manos property (had a couple of bad accommodations elsewhere with Manos in the past and purposely don't book with Manos any more) can you imagine our disappointment when above the sink was a sticker with the Manos logo on. Typical of our past experiences with Manos the room was very cramped and dated, the twin beds were shoved up against the wall meaning one person had to climb over the other one or out of the bottom of a wood surround bed should they want to go to the bathroom in the night. There was approx 20 inches of space between the bottom of the beds and the patio door and not much more between the bed and the wardrobe/sink/fridge area. The matresses were awful, springs poking you all over no matter how you tried to avoid them. The terrace was fairly small and chlostrophobic (like the room) on one side of the terrace was a broken sewer pipe so you frequently had the aroma of sewerage, the other side of the terrace there was a water boiler which when striking up (frequently) gave you the smell of the fumes from that. As soon as we walked into the room we asked if there was anything bigger as we were there for 2 weeks, unfortunately the owner said nothing was available until our second week. Reluctantly we said ok (would advise anyone being given this room not to accept it as it really put a damper on the holiday) and awaited our move for the second week. Well, we were given room number 9 which was upstairs and about a third bigger which seemed like a palace!! Unfortunately the bathroom was the same size as in room 6 - very small- and with no ventilation whatsoever, still got the fume smell from the boiler on the balcony. The Bar was very nice in keeping with the Erifylli section. The pool however for the whole 2 weeks was cloudy, so much that the bottom of the pool was never visible in the whole time we were there. WOULD ADVISE ANYONE WHO HAS BOOKED THIS ACCOMMODATION TO INSIST ON A STUDIO IN THE ERIFYLLI SECTION which is far more modern and spacious with far better facilities!!!

Room Tip: Insist on a room in the Erifylli section - contact your tour operator and request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jweb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Just arrived back from 2 weeks at the eriphilly/Makres. I agree with most of the reviewers that the apartments/studios are kept spotlessly clean and the grounds are beautiful with flowering bushes in abundance. The pool area was nice and the view of the caste was stunning. We stayed in the Makres block which was small & a bit tired looking and had a balcony overlooking the road. This wasn't a problem as we like most other people didn't spend much time in the room. What was a problem was having a fridge that didn't chill the water and wine adequately and an ice box which wouldn't freeze. There was clearly a problem with the fridges fan as it was always silent. I reported the problem to Costas (the owner). His wife who was there at the time asked if it was room 10 which suggested that this was something that they were already aware of. Even so no action was taken to rectify the problem. A couple of days later I mentioned it to him again and he said "Oh! It's stil not working?" as though he expected the problem to spontaneously sort itself out. I pointed out that we wanted to enjoy chilled water and wine and didn't want to risk illness through eating food that wasn't kept at a safe temperature. He seemed irritated by my complaint but said that he would arrange for someone to fix it the following day. On arriving back from the beach the following day we noticed that the putty that had previously been stuffed into the recess where the control should be had been removed. The drinks did seem slightly chilled after that but the water melon had an unpleasant taste not long after cutting.
Another thing that surprised us was busy motor bike (repair) business almost directly below our balcony within the hotel grounds. This could be noisy when we were in the apartment. It's fortunate that we weren't most of the time.
Dogs were barking all night every night which understandably affected our sleep quality. These were clearly not Costas' dogs and this problem was something beyond his control.
I would however recommend that he gets a new fridge for no 10 as it could potentially result in a bad case of food poisoning and a seriously marred reputation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NottinghamPoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Just back from our third consecutive visit to these apartments and they are as good as ever.
The complex is owned and run by a lovely family who are always on hand to help you but are never in your face.

From the time we stepped off the bus and were welcomed at the gate by Christos we felt as if we were visiting family.
We were immediately invited to the pool bar by Kostas for a refreshing drink which went down very well after our coach transfer.
Eriphilliy was also there and welcomed us like old friends.

The apartment was as we expected,spotlessly clean and nice crisp linen.Cutlery was adequate for our needs as we only ever have breakfast in the apartment.
The local supermarket will deliver your shopping to your apartment free of charge.

Apartments include an under counter fridge,two ring hot plate,kettle an a small flat screen TV which has mostly greek channels but also shows BBC news.

Bedrooms have a double bed with built in wardrobes and a " free digital safety deposit box" which you can programme yourself.

Air conditioning is available at a charge but we never needed it.

The living area has a sofa bed which converts to two single beds,one lower down than the other and there is a small table and chairs.
There are two small balconies in each apartment,one off the living area and one off the bedroom each of which have lovely views of the castle.

The cleaners are exteremly friendly and visit every day except Sunday and give the place a thorough clean.Towels and bed linen are changed regularly.

The pool area serves really nice food at good prices with cold glasses for that cool beer by the pool.The kitchen area is unbelieveably clean as is the whole pool area and it is such a relaxed place with no problem getting beds around the pool which has a small section for kids.

The pool is swept every hour for any insects that may drop in and the surrounding area is covered by flowers and olive trees.

The apartments are in a very peaceful area on the Molyvos to Eftalou road and are located far enough off the main road to make it seem as if you are miles from nowhere when in fact you are just a leisurely 15 minute stroll from Molyvos cente.
A furthter 15 minutes walk will take you past the restaurants and shops until you arrive in the lovely harbour area.

The Makres block is nearer the entrance to the complex and is all studios where the Eriphilliy section is nearer the pool and has studios on the ground floor and one bedroom apartments on the first and second floor.

There is a newer block of eight apartments behind the pool area but some of these are taken by scandanavian holiday makers and the remainder are let independently.


There is a bus stop right outside the entrance that services Eftalou,Molyvos,Petra and Anaxos.

Taxi fare is €5 from Molyvos rank and ,€8 from the harbour area.There are a lot of repeat visitors here including me and it is not hard to see why.

I have already booked for next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed at Eriphilli ( well Makres actually, there are two blocks very close together) and it was really excellent. As we were expecting the studios were small but perfectly suited to a Greek holiday where you just use it to sleep and change. Spotless and comfy !
The whole feel about the complex is so relaxed and the majority of people had been before, many several times which must say a lot about Eriphilli and Molyvos. It was so hot that we asked for Aircon for the last few days , I asked Costas how much he wanted and he replied
" Just pay me when you leave". Nothing was too much trouble, food and drink was good value. A great place for a holiday

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steamboatglossop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We booked a last minute holiday to Lesbos and stayed at the Eriphilly and could not believe our luck. The apartments and complex are extremely clean, they are in a quiet area, with a bus stop outside and yet within walking distance of shops, bars, supermarkets and restaurants. The people are friendly and the prices in the bar are the same as in town so you do not get ripped off if you eat and drink in the bar.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken503933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Molyvos
0.8 mi away
Delfinia Hotel & Bungalows
1.1 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel
Aphrodite Hotel
#1 of 12 in Molyvos
138 reviews
1.1 mi away
Akti Hotel
Akti Hotel
#9 of 12 in Molyvos
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Michaelia Hotel
Michaelia Hotel
#9 of 13 in Petra
52 reviews
1.9 mi away
Panselinos Hotel Apartments
1.5 mi away
Sunrise Resort Hotel
Sunrise Resort Hotel
#1 of 6 in Eftalou
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eriphilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eriphilly Hotel

Address: Molyvos, Molyvos 81108, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Molyvos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Molyvos
Price Range: $31 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eriphilly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ERIPHILLY Hotel is a newly renovated situated only 600 meters away from the traditional village of Molivos on the Greek island of Lesvos, among trees and flowers and it is ideal for relaxing holidays for you.The hotel provides excellent accommodation through comfortable Studios & Apartments.The facilities of the 50m2 Apartments The facilities of the 50m2 Apartments include:Air-conditioning,Sat TV,Terrace or balcony with stunning views,Bathroom with bath tub,Safe,Fully equipped kitchen,Coffee Machine,Ironing gear,Hair-dryer,ScaleFREE Wireless Internet.The facilities of the 35m2 Apartments The facilities of the 35m2 Apartments include:Air-conditioning,Sat TV,Balcony with stunning views,Bathroom with bath tub,Safe,Fully equipped kitchen,Coffee Machine,Hair-dryerFREE Wireless Internet,The facilities of the Studios of Eriphilly hotel of Molivos (Mithymna), Lesvos (Lesbos) island, greece The facilities of the Studios include:Air-conditioning,Sat TV,Balcony or Yard with stunning views,Bathroom with shower,Fully equipped kitchen,Coffee Machine,Hair-dryer,FREE Wireless Internet. Our Hotel's facilities include crystal clear water swimming pool, snack bar by the pool with terrace for your breakfast, omeletes, snacks or soft drinks, spirits & cocktails and FREE off-road parking. There is also a local bus service on a very frequent schedule.ERIPHILLY Hotel guarantees its guests an unforgettable & relaxing holiday.We would like to wish you happy holidays in Lesvos and hope to have you as our guest soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Eriphilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eriphilly Hotel Molyvos, Lesbos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing