We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you Trip Advisor!”
Review of The Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Droitwich
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Thank you Trip Advisor!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We decided at the last minute to take a W/E break in Cornwall, but with so much choice where should we start - trip advisor! The Valley looked great on their own web site, but TA reviews really sold the place, plus the fantastically quick replies we got to our Emails from Joss at the Valley - they even gave us a discount for taking the Mother-in-law.
Super welcome, beautiful lodge/cottage felt like it has just been built, free wi-fi, great showers, comfy beds, just brilliant. I think it would be easy to pick on little points that could be better, but that would really be picky in the extreme. It was an added bonus to have somewhere to drop in to after a day at the beach, have a swim (yes, the pools are quite small, but it isn't supposed to be center parcs - see what I mean, too picky) then a bite to eat, a chat & and a pint whilst the kids play in a safe environment. The benefits are too long to list from a takeaway service to morning papers delivered with a note with daily suggestions of places/things to do. Overall the place oozes quality and has convinced me of the value of a British holiday at such a well managed place with virtually nothing left to chance and a group of people have put a lot of thought & effort into creating a superb destination.
Thanks The Valley, see you for longer next time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DroitwichCaffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    30
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
105
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have just had a wonderful 10 day stay. The whole experience was so relaxing. The cottages are lovely, well equipped and spotless. The location brilliant, peaceful and within easy reach of everywhere you might want to visit. The staff could not be more helpful and they add lots of little touches that make you feel that they care. Toys, books, videos are available and great daily advise about where to visit. The pools, play area, restaurant etc. are great and enable you to relax on sight. The added touches of entertainment, face painting at the peak holiday season are great. Lucy Cotton the singer/musician is so talented and you will be in for a treat on the nights she is performing. A trip to Porthminster beach café St Ives, lusty glaze beach are the icing on the cake for what has been a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186356Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I sit currently in my cottage 2A at The Valley to write this review, especially as I have my free wireless Internet connection and having read one (just one) slightly bad review, I felt it was right and proper to readdress the balance...
This is our 3rd stay at The Valley and I can assure any visitor, this is an outstanding place to stay and thoroughly worthy of its 5* rating. Not only is it ideally located for visiting all of Cornwall's many beaches and quaint coastal towns and villages, it is a perfect retreat for absolutely any time of the year. For us, it is the best place to unwind and take away the stresses of daily life. Not only because you instantly relax upon arrival but the incredibly professional staff will answer any questions you may have and go over and beyond to make your stay perfect.
The facilities are excellent. For me, opening the kitchen cupboard to find eight Villeroy and Boch mugs all facing the same direction, is my kind of holiday cottage. The stylishly decorated living spaces are both clutter free and homely. But the main selling point for me is the fact that there is a separate bedroom and bathroom for my 4 year old daughter as well as a master bedroom that is up to any boutique hotel standard. For us, we get the feel of a 'couples' stay away at a hotel at the same time as a lovely family holiday.
Most importantly, the site and additional fantastic facilities such as heated swimming pools, play park etc are all huge selling points together with interesting activities for little ones to take part in and music in the evenings. However, should you prefer (like we do) to avoid organised entertainment, there is no dreaded holiday camp feel at The Valley... It is simply private, sophisticated and totally perfect for any family or couple. So, now I am off to the web page to book our next break here at The Valley...!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just returned from a 10 day stay at The Valley in Carnon Downs. We had a two bedroom cottage, The Gallery.
Never been to Cornwall before and this has spurred us to come again.
Truly everything was fantastic. Clean, very modern, comfortable cottages, very friendly helpful staff (Thanks Meg and team) and the facilities, Cafe Azur, pool and playground were second to none.

Great location for both north and south coasts and surrounding sights and important things like a chippy and supermarkets were 10 mins away.

Can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have just returned from our 4th stay at The Valley, and what a fabulous time we have had! We stayed in the stables at the top of the complex, it's great accomadation quiet and beautifully presented. We ate at Cafe Azur once, food was lovely and Ed the magic man was a massive hit with our 7 year old son! Tennis lessons were arranged for the children with an excellent coach and Meg provided really informative information every morning on places to visit and forthcoming events and menus on site.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teamdc64740406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We've just returned from a week staying in a Haven cottage, having paid full whack for it. The accommodation was lovely and looked brand new. The Haven cottage was slightly nicer and brighter than the Beacon (which we'd stayed in previously). But I'd happily stay in either again. The location of the complex is brilliant. It's really quiet but so easy to get to loads of places in Cornwall.

The food in Café Azur was nice - and we ate there twice (on our last visit it was so bad we vowed never to go again!). The atmosphere was lovely for small children.

I was going to give this a 4 rating but for one thing. Suddenly, without any warning, the indoor pool was closed for half our stay. We didn't get any apology and just turned up to swim and was told it was going to be closed for the rest of our stay for maintenance which they'd been waiting for fine weather to do. The outdoor pool was open but was too cold for babies (but in a sun trap so easy for them to burn). We'd purposely chosen the Valley for its indoor pool so we could all swim together but for the second half of our holiday we couldn't do this as our baby couldn't go in the outdoor pool. We accept that sometimes facilities have to be closed but an apology (and even some monetary compensation) and a warning would have been nice. This isn't the attitude of 5 star facilities. We'd paid a lot of money for this holiday and specifically wanted the indoor pool. We could have chosen a cheaper complex without a pool and had the same experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank personwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jublu, Manager at The Valley, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments about The Valley.
We are very sorry that we were forced to close the indoor pool for the latter days of your stay. As the weather was so beautiful and the temperature of the outdoor pool was only 2 degrees below the temperature of the indoor, we had not envisaged a problem. We were clearly wrong in your case and when we read of the problems it had caused you on the feedback sheet you kindly filled in for us, we immediately phoned and offered you a free weekend break to compensate for the weekend that the indoor pool was closed. If you had said you preferred monetary compensation we would have offered that instead.
All feedback is valuable to us and your comments are appreciated. Please accept our apologies again and we hope that you will take us up on the offer of the free holiday to prove to you that we can get it all right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in a Beacon cottage between 21st and 29th June. High standard of accommodation. Kitchen well stocked with equipment and cot, baby steriliser, stair gates, step stools provided free of charge. Nice little play area for small kids. Cafe Azur provides a nice menu with specials each night with kids under 5 eating free. Accommodating kitchen as meals adapted for special diets in party. Indoor pool lovely and warm. Nothing bad to report!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyHirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnon Downs
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
17.2 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
2.7 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
3.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Valley

Property: The Valley
Address: Bissoe Road, Carnon Downs, Feock TR3 6LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Feock > Carnon Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Carnon Downs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Valley is an exclusive collection of 5 star luxury cottages set within a scenic valley in the heart of Cornwall. Enjoy indoor and outdoor pools, tennis, squash and contemporary bar and restaurant, all within the security of a 13 acre gated environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Valley Hotel Carnon Downs
The Valley Carnon Downs, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing