We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel was TOP just like the name!”
Review of Top Hotel Chania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Top Hotel Chania
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Stalos
Certificate of Excellence
hoensbroek
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This hotel was TOP just like the name!”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

When we arrived at the hotel it felt like a warm bath. Sophia, the manager and owner (together with her husband Andreas) of this hotel is so warm and acurate, just wunderfull! She does not nows the word 'no'. Just ask and she will do her best to get or organize it. Clean, safe and just quiet enough hotel to get this holiday feeling. Only 1 point, the beds were to hard for me.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JacquelinSalassaTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    28
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
45
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to see the Chania area on a budget. The view is spectacular overlooking st. Theodore island and the shoreline. The pool bar area is nice and would be ideal for families with children. The only part about the room I enjoyed was the balcony and the view( ask for sea view). The decor was very outdated(pink n grey dingy) The kitchenette old and the refrigerator a bit rusty. But all worked and were doable. Hot water was available whenever we needed a shower. Honestly I was disappointed ..a bit of paint and updating could have made all the difference. But it was a great base for exploring the west coast and very close to Chania, agias marinas n platanias for the evening. After receiving my key, I didnt see anyone in the reception area for about 3 days so I actually had to look for them to pay. We stayed about 14-15 days .Half the time the elevator didnt work. The staff was very friendly when I saw them. THis is definetely the place if you want privacy. Didnt spend much time at all in hotel. I would go back if place were renovated a bit. It was one of the best trips ever as the area is amazing. And it is a good base to explore the island, providing you have a car rental. I wouldnt recommend this hotel without a car. Also one good piece of advice do not order take out from the tavern at the bottom of the hill...2 reg spaghetti dishes..20 euros and inedible. go into town to eat either direction..or better yet..drive towards the smaller villages...the food gets better as you leave the tourist areas! :) Enjoy!

Room Tip: good value vacation...grat base to explore Chania area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank towelrnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

The real name of the hotel should be Heaven, because as soon as you get there, you feel like you are in Heaven. The hotel is placed on a top of a hill (probably one reason the hotel is called Top) and faced towards the see and the island of Lazarettes. Another reason for the name of the hotel is that it offers you Top services. Sofia, the owner, is like a Good Fairy and with her magical wand makes all your wishes come true. Whatever you need, she’ll get to you. With her warm smile and her big heart, she will make you feel like home, spoiled and loved.

The room has everything you need. It’s like you took your home with you, in small edition. Rooms are pretty big for a three stars hotel, cozy, well arranged, with a small kitchen endowed with everything you need to prepare a coffee/tea, a salad or even a full meal. You have a fridge, an electric stove, air conditioning, tv set, radio, a big closet for your clothes and last but not least, a balcony with a wonderful view towards the sea. And yes, it’s worthwhile to pay the small price difference to wake up and go to sleep having this wonderful view.

It is advisable to have a car or a bike at hand, but if not, as I was saying, Sofia can make the necessary arrangements for you to get to the beach and come back. This in case you can get away from the pool, the bar and all the comfort of the hotel. At the beginning of the hill there are few good tavernas where you can try the tasteful Greek cuisine, a small supermarket and a bus station for the bus taking you to down town of Chania.

Among other facilities of the hotel is the wonderful swimming pool with the view towards the sea, a pool bar, a small playground for kids, and few other surprises Sofia is working on right now. There is also a bar next to the reception. And a dining room where you can serve a wonderful breakfast. You know the usual continental breakfast? The one is always the same that you get bored even within 6 days of vacation? Well, forget about it. Sofia wants you to feel special so she prepared a special breakfast for you, with few small Greek surprises you will never forget and which are never the same twice. And no, you cannot persuade me to reveal them. All you can do is to get over there, to Top Hotel and enjoy them as we did.

Everything in the hotel is squeaky clean, the towels and the bedsheets are changed every other day (if not daily), you find a place to park your car or bike, you are very close to the sea, but somehow in the middle of the nature, not so hot or noisy like in a resort, there are no mosquitoes, you have wireless connection for free and also a computer in the reception, silence and peace as I said, like you are in Heaven. What you don’t have is the patience to get through the next year, until you will come back to enjoy all these again. And again.

Few tips: reception phone number is 9 (in case you need anything), the hotel offers you the small soaps, but you might need your shower gel and the hair dryer. As an idea, check out the photos I attached.
What else?!? Yes, get to Top hotel as you can still find a room. You will never regret it!

Room Tip: room with a view towards the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tinergetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Went to top hotel in June 2010. Had a very nice stay at the hotel. Lived in a two room apartment in the top floor with a balcony fronting the ocean. The hotel offered everything we needed: A great pool. A great children’s pool. A small playground. A great view. No noisy discos near by. Besides that the hotel staff was very friendly and we had a lot of fun with Sophia and the rest of the staff.

Things to consider:
It’s highly recommendable to rent a car if staying at this hotel, as it’s located in the hills pulled back from the busy Platanias. We rented a car at www.speed-rentacar.gr. They are cheap and in ok shape.

The only things we could have been without was a neighbours dog which was barking a lot in the evening, but this was stopped.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hammerstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalos
0.1 mi away
Renieris Hotel
Renieris Hotel
#1 of 22 in Stalos
564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pegasus Hotel
Pegasus Hotel
#5 of 22 in Stalos
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cretan Dream Royal
Cretan Dream Royal
#2 of 22 in Stalos
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#19 of 109 in Chania Town
369 reviews
0.6 mi away
Creta Palm
Creta Palm
#4 of 22 in Stalos
245 reviews
6.6 mi away
Artemis Apartments
Artemis Apartments
#6 of 22 in Stalos
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Hotel Chania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Hotel Chania

Property: Top Hotel Chania
Address: Stalos-Chania-Crete, Stalos, Crete 733 01, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Stalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Top Hotel Chania 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top Hotel welcomes you to the beautiful island of Crete and the cosmopolitan city of Chania! Our hotel is located upon the hill Psathi of Stalos village. We are just 10 minutes drive from the city center of the most romantic city of Crete, Chania. Here you can realize why Crete was chosen by the Gods. We offer you the most picturesque and relaxed holidays you ever had. The beautiful sun set combined with the sound of the sea makes your dreams come true! The hotel consists of 30 rooms which are divided into 20 1bedroom Apartments sea view and garden view till 3 persons and 1 baby cot, 2 2bedroom Apartmets panoramic view till 4 persons and 1 baby cot, 5 stoudios panoramic view till 3 persons and 1 baby cot and 3 stoudios garden view till 3 persons and 1 baby cot. All the rooms are fully equipded with kitchenettes, air conditions, TV, music system and telephone. Moreover, TOP HOTEL offers a number of facilities for our guests confort such as 24hours reception, free WIFI at public areas, free mini bus transfer from the hotel to the beach of Stalos and back, pool snack bar and traditional cuisine for dinner, greek and cretan breakfast, free parking and pool for children and adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Top Hotel Chania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Chania Stalos, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing