We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay as long as you realise it's not a 5*”
Review of Cretan Dream Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cretan Dream Royal
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Stalos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Overall, a pleasant stay with decent service. Good pool, pretty good food and conveniently located.

I can't help but feel slightly short-changed though. The main website photo advertising a vista (see below) that didn't exist was misleading. And charging for Internet and entertainment just left us with a slight sour taste for what is supposedly a 5* hotel.


Rooms
- Clean and spacious.
- Maid comes daily.
- Double beds don't exist - two singles put together.
- Our bedroom had adjoining kitchenette area. This includes a fridge, hob and small eating area. There are saucepans, cutlery and glassware should you want to cook.
- Bathroom was shower-only. Complimentary shower gels etc included.
- Don't expect the TV to entertain you in the evenings - nearly all Greek channels.
- Air con though we never used it

Facilities
- The pool will be where you hang out most of the time and it's fine. As a previous poster pointed out - the website's photo of the infinity pool has been 'digitally enhanced' to remove the visible telephone lines and power cables. Cheeky if you ask me.
- There's a hotel shop selling drinks, crisps, sun cream, newspapers etc. Kato Stalos has a wide array of supermarkets within walking distance if you want to buy cheaper alcohol/food etc.
- There's a pool bar serving wide variety of food and drink. Salads are around €5. Cocktails are upwards of €6. It would have been nice if they'd offered happy hour early evening. Apart from the financial benefits, it would have been a great way for the guests to integrate more.
- Internet is chargeable on a pay as you go basis, connecting/disconnecting as many times as you want. 90mins for €5 or 200mins for €10. Either use one of their PCs or login wirelessly. iPhone users should steer clear though as staff reported it was a common problem to disconnect and therefore you'll use up all your remaining credit.
- There's a billiards and tennis table, as well as a number of amusement arcade machines and massage chairs. Everything is chargeable.
- For a 5* hotel, there should really be some gym/spa facilities. The hotel can order in a masseur/masseuse but it was expensive. €50+.
- Guest entertainment is limited here in the evenings. There's a Greek evening with music and dancing, plus a one-man singing show too. Would have been nice to have had a film, games or quiz night. For more evening entertainment, head for Chania.

Food
- Breakfast is buffet style and plentiful. Fruit, cereals, toast/croissant, egg/sausage/bacon etc. Only suggestion is would have preferred freshly a chef making freshly cooked eggs. Apart from tasting better, it would have also saved on their food wastage.
- Dinner is again buffet style with lots to choose from. Soup, toast, big mains, salads, desserts. Again would have liked to have seen them offering some fresh cooked food too. i.e. a BBQ grill or something outside.
- Nice touch was on our arrival late at night, the staff had put aside a plate of food in our rooms (we were in Half Board).

Location
- The hotel is located in Kato Stalos, a small province to the West of Chania. Don't be concerned that it's not in Chania itself - Chania is far from a sleepy fishing port so it's nice to avoid the hustle and bustle. That said, one thing the hotel's website cleverly disguises is there's the main beach road separating the hotel and the beach. Yes, you hear some traffic but the complex is big enough that you'd barely hear it. And as the majority of the hotels are by/near the beach, most hotels are in the same boat. Airport transfer is €40 one-way (30 mins). Bus into Chania is around €3 one-way (10 mins) or buy a return for a discount. There's a bus timetable in reception - buses are approx every 30 mins with last bus departing Chania around 22:30. Should you wish to stay in town late, a taxi is €12 one-way.
- Walking into Chania would take well over an hour.
- There are various tour operator folders advertising affiliated car rental agencies. Wander down the road and there are plenty of alternatives which we found were cheaper. Can't recall car hire but we hired a moped for €20/day or €35 for 2 days with petrol under €5 for 150km.

Chania
- Everyone heads for the old town down by the seafront. Plentiful supply of bars and restaurants. Mains are around €8, wine starts at around €12.
- Plenty of shopping here, especially for leather wallets and bags, as well as 'designer' clothing.
- The hotel could have done with some better town center maps.

Weather
- We stayed beginning of October and the weather was mixed. A few sunbathing days but even more overcast days. Make sure you take a jumper for the evenings.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nomadius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 542 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2010

Excellent hotel with excellent staff. Will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rubydubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

I stayed in this hotel with my daughter as a treat before she went back to University. On arrival I felt confident that we were going to have a good stay here, the reception area was large and airy and we were booked in efficiently. Our room lived up to our expectations with comfortable beds and an excellent sea view. The bathroom was big enough for the two of us but not huge.
The food throughout our stay was excellent with a wide variety of choice, we ate so much at Breakfast that we didnt need to have lunch! we had booked Half Board which was very good value, we were impressed with dinner especially the salads but were a little disappointed that there was not more seafood on offer.
The room was cleaned daily to a very high standard and we loved the way the towels were sculptured and left on the bed with flowers.
The hotel although on a main road was quiet and there was a bus stop outside where you could catch a bus to Chania which was about 10 minutes away. There were a few Tavernas within walking distance and a small supermarket.
The hotel was situated in lovely grounds with the huge infinity pool being its main feature, there were plenty of sunbeds in both sun and shade. The beach was just over the road but this could be accessed by a tunnel in the grounds, the sea was clean and very suitable for children. Boats could be hired on the beach.
The staff were extremely friendly and always welcomed us with a smile.
There was not much entertainment arranged for the evenings which could disappoint some, however we did enjoy the " Greek Night" even though they insisted we all joined in for the dancing!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elizabeth_parish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

we are a small group of Italian friends who are spending their summer's holiday in Greece for the last 5/6 years and every year at a different island.
During these years we found out that in general hotels in Greece are over-rated so we always stay at 5* hotel knowing that sometime the would end up in a lower quality hotel than expected by a 5*. We normally book bed and breakfast only as we would like to go out each evening and try different restaurant in the place we visit.
i have not posted any comments on previous trips in Greece but this time i decided to do so as this hotel has left good memories to all of us.
At Cretan Dream Royal all the staff is excellent, Rena at reservation gave us the right deal, Anna the reception manager was exceptionally helpful and sorted out all our issues always with a smile, Manolitis the metro hotel manager was always wormly welcoming us at breakfast preparing our large table every mornings. The barman at first istance looked little rude but as we went along it turned out to be the best person in the hotel preparing us his own very testing cocktails. Room was perfeclty cleaned. breakfast was excellent.
few small items to be considered: bathroom too small, shower too dark, television too old and too small. sea view only good if you are at top floor.
beach towel provided against refundable deposit and changed twice a week, safe in the room against a charge. in a 5* hotel you normally get free safe and beach towel changed every day.
this said when your are given special attention by the hotel staff, you would forget about these points.
The difference in this hotel is the people however Cretan people in general are more welcoming and more friendly than any other place we visited in Greece.
we will come back in Crete and at Cretan Dream Royal very soon!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank italian_traveller_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We spent a week in this nice hotel. Nothing to complain about, just the positives. Clean and nice rooms, kind and friendly staff and very good looking place with beach just across the road (u can safely access it via the underground tunnel right from the hotel parking). As mentioned above, I would also say it´s not full 5star hotel (missing gym, steam etc.), but very, very good 4star one.The only hitch to us was the fact (also mentioned above) the beds were twin and moved together... ;-) Anyway it´s definitely the place to go if you intend to spend really nice holiday in Kalos. :)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petrsvetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

If you are after a lovely relaxing holiday, fantastic hotel with a beach literally across the road, this is the one for you. Although I would say not a 5 star hotel, the service, cleanliness, food and swimming pool facilities are excellent. The location in terms of being close to the beach is second to none, however, there is not much to do in the 'resort', however, as we wanted a relaxing holiday, this did not bother us. Compared to other hotels closeby, this definitely seemed the one to be staying in!

I don't have any real negatives, but if I was being picky: drinks are not cheap, nor expensive though; a double room had two single beds pushed together.

Overall, excellent and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffwolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

I agree with many reviews below. It's nice place to stay in general, with no hidden pitfalls. Staff is very friendly, rooms clean and well equipped. Only, it was strange to have shower only (no bath), in our family room. And, TV set was back from 80-th. We had an issue with airconditioning, which was fixed quickly enough. Place is a bit off major tourist areas, so you need car or taxi to get around. Beach is sandy and very clean. Food was good, but too repetitive when you stay more than a week. And, it's mid-size hotel, so be ready you won't find some amenities you would expect in 5* resort like gym, daily entertainment (they have 3 shows and they repeat it every week), or kid's programms.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valery M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalos
0.1 mi away
Renieris Hotel
Renieris Hotel
#1 of 21 in Stalos
602 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#13 of 110 in Chania Town
566 reviews
13.2 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kalyves
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Creta Palm
Creta Palm
#2 of 21 in Stalos
324 reviews
11.9 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cretan Dream Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cretan Dream Royal

Address: PEO Kissamou Chanion 3, Stalos, Crete 73110, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Stalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stalos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Stalos
#3 Family Hotel in Stalos
Price Range: $98 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cretan Dream Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cretan Dream Royal is a new 5-star hotel, 6 km from Chania towards Platanias, in Kato Stalos,offering luxurious accommodation.Cretan Dream Royal is opposite (20 meters) of the beach of Kato Stalos and has access to the beach through an underground tunnel.Another feature of the Cretan Dream Royal hotel is the main fine-dining restaurant as well as an informal tavern with an a al carte menu. There is also an elegant pool bar with outside seating so you can enjoy a cocktail along with fabulous ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cretan Dream Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cretan Dream Royal Hotel Kato Stalos
Cretan Dream Royal Chania
Cretan Dream Royal Stalos, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing