We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with a fantastic view from the pool”
Review of Cretan Dream Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cretan Dream Royal
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Stalos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I had a great time at this hotel, stayed here for 3 nights in room 217. As we went in May the hotel was quiet. The pool area and the view from the pool was so gorgeous, best parts of the hotel in my opinion. They also have a bar next to the pool. The outside of the hotel, the hotel grounds and lobby are really impressive. However we had a pretty standard room with a table, kitchenette, one double bed and a couch/bed with a balcony. Furniture and bedding were ok. The view from the balcony was pretty much non existent as we were right at the edge of the hotel. The room was large enough for three people. However the TV was very old and the hotel does need to update their TVs. The bathroom amenities were replenished everyday, the room was very clean and the different towel arrangements they left every day were delightful to come back to.

Breakfast was really nice, buffet style with loads to choose from. Dinner was ok, a little bland at times and I preferred the breakfast more. The staff were really nice. Food replenished quickly.

The downside to the hotel is that there is very little to do around the hotel and only a few shops nearby. The hotel itself also has a little shop and the items were cheap however watch out for the closing times so you are not caught out like we were. There were bus stops right outside the hotel and the receptionist was kind enough to give us a timetable. It was easy enough to get around by bus and fares cheap even if the bus wasn't always on time. Although next time, I would prefer to have a car so we could go out more in the evenings.

The beach which is right across the road from the hotel wasn't the best and could be described as a little dingy. If you are looking for a beach type holiday then this beach isn't for you. However for a few hours in the sunshine it was ok.

I really liked this hotel and I think the one thing to bear in mind is that although it is a 5* you are not going to get that luxury feel. I had a lovely relaxing time in Crete and the hotel was good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FNL1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NIKOS K, Manager at Cretan Dream Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear customer,

thank you for writing a review about our hotel.
especially we thank you about your notices, that will make us improve and be better.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you once again in our hotel.

From the hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 542 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed for 1 week in aug 2012. Hotel is lovely, grounds great, rooms spotless. We were on first floor facing the road/sea. We stayed half board Food was good plenty to choose from however we always ate tea at 7pm when it opened as the serving trays wouldn't keep it hot for long, this wasn't an issue at breakfast as it was replenished quickly. All staff were friendly and helpful. Only downside was there wasn't much nightlife unless you went to chania, also in my opinion nothing for kids to do. Loved the sea t was so clear and clean, there were a few pebbles but once you got knee deep there wasn't an issue. It was a great relaxing break!

Stayed: August 2012
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NIKOS K, Manager at Cretan Dream Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear customer,

thank you for writing a review about our hotel.
especially we thank you about your good wards , that encourage us to continue our efforts to offer our guests the best service.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you once again in our hotel.

From the hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here in August 2012 for 10 nights. Family of 4 with 2 pool crazy girls. Waitresses incredibly friendly. It was an extremely enjoyable stay. We are from London and Brits are in a minority here surprisingly - lots of Scandinavian holiday makers seemingly. We booked half board. The food was fantastic and we were all incredulous at the picky reviews on here. You sit facing the sea, set back with a stunning view. White tablecloths, it feels lovely. At breakfast there were 6 types of bread, 12 different teas, endless fruit, fresh coffee served at your table, plentiful tasty hot choices, fruit juice choices....spoilt for choice we felt! The evening meals were varied, tasty, delicious and always a enjoyable. We felt the food was a good high standard. We even had lunch daily next to the pool, very reasonably priced food and drinks, fabulous service. The rooms are kept spotless and we preferred the balconies not facing the main road and did move rooms. Margarita our maid was so hardworking and friendly. The beach was ok but we only went once...had to pay for sunbeds on our own beach which seemed odd. Bus to Chania took about 11 minutes...Chania is amazing, loved the old town. The local village was nothing to write home about, loved eating at our hotel and did not see anywhere locally to compete with hotel meals. We took a taxi to the water park which was excellent fun. Wall to wall blue sky for 10 days, we all thoroughly enjoyed our time here and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: I would choose the rooms set back from the main road and a high floor...but high floor not essential...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Me and my husband spend an amazing honeymoon in Cretan Dream Royal. We had only a week and we wished we had a few days more. The hotel, the weather and Crete itself were just one great unforgettable break from cold Norway. We booked this hotel last minute and we had a great price.

When we arrived, we got offered a room on the ground floor and we actually spent our first night in there. I guess, this was our only disappointment -- the room smelled and felt very humid. But the staff prepared so many treats for us as newlyweds!! A wonderful surprise! The next morning we just asked for a room exchange and it was no problem at all. We got the best possible room with an amazing view, little balcony with the chairs to watch the sunsets.
All the staff was actually very helpful and friendly, they do really make you feel like home! Our stay was very relaxed. We also really enjoyed the pool area, everything was really convenient. The beach was just across the road but we didn't cross any highways, simply used the underground passage.

The rooms were cleaned well and the towel sculptures were just pieces of art :-) We enjoyed the breakfasts but we were glad we didn't order dinners, we really got to experience local cuisine.
In my opinion, this hotel suits for all kind of people. It has got a great location but you need to take a bus or rent a car to get to Chania. The bus trip is pretty short though and costs just a couple of euros. The hotel is great value for money.

Crete is truly magical! We can't wait to be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alla_Fironova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We travel lots (as you can see from reviews) and all I can say about this hotel is that we had a good and relaxing stay. I would go back but would make sure to rent a car and wouldn't sign up for dinner package. I will tell you both bad and goods and let you decide for yourself:

Goods:
- I won't give it the stars that they claim; however, it is generally a nice clean hotel - totally acceptable for the price we paid! All and all we had fun and that's what matters.
- The pool area is nice with infinity water view
- we had ocean view room, which was roomy and clean
- staff were nice
- the breakfast buffet was good (always important for me as I love my breakfast!)
- If you have a car there are nice city centers on both sides that offer nice restaurants and fun lounges. There was a lounge in front of the hotel, which we tried once and was cool.
Bads:
- The free beach in front of the hotel is not impressive at all. The sand color is brown and to access it you have to either go through a scary looking tunnel (we didn't risk it) or risk running across a high traffic road, which is what we did as we figured cars are better than the tunnel. There is a beach club that offers a better beach alternative but it is not free! We drove away everyday to other beaches on the island and discovered gorgeous white/pink and golden sand beaches! Drive around and you will love this pretty island!
- Not sure if this is usual for all Cretan hotel but they requested us to not flush your paper towel. Really? that was a bit too gross for me!
- You need a car! To go to restaurants, to go to better beaches and to experience the island. If
we didn't have car I would get depressed in this hotel as it is not that big of property and kind of in the middle of nowhere!
- We did the half pension thingy (package to include breakfast and dinner) and regret it later as we didn't find the dinner buffet to be good and it was boring. People visiting could order nice stuff from menu but it wasn't an option for us who were on the package. We got quickly bored of the food and although we had already paid we ate mostly outside.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VeryPickyLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights with no regrets. The staff make you fell like at home and always willing to to serve you. We booked the half board option (inadvertently), food was just ok, you will find better and not-pricey options nearby. We went with our 2mO baby and the waitresses were pleased to look after him so we could go to the buffet. The hotel is very clean and well maintained, we tried going to to the beach in front of the property but was just disappointing, we turned back and asked to one of the waitresses which beach she used to go and got a very nice recommendation (2hrs driving btw, but no complaints). The main building-restaurant and pool area are stroller friendly. Do not book this hotel because it has a beach in front (as we did), but be sure that if you stay here you will receive a royalty treatment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGBueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Got this at a bargain price in October and was very impressed with the value for money. Wouldn't go for the half board option as it's easy to find alternative local places to eat nearby and also in Chania. Clean, nice bathrooms and lovely little balcony. Excellent facilities and very easy to catch bus from, super friendly reception staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontyCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalos
0.1 mi away
Renieris Hotel
Renieris Hotel
#1 of 21 in Stalos
602 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#13 of 111 in Chania Town
566 reviews
13.2 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kalyves
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Creta Palm
Creta Palm
#3 of 21 in Stalos
324 reviews
11.9 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cretan Dream Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cretan Dream Royal

Address: PEO Kissamou Chanion 3, Stalos, Crete 73110, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Stalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stalos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Stalos
#3 Family Hotel in Stalos
Price Range: $99 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cretan Dream Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cretan Dream Royal is a new 5-star hotel, 6 km from Chania towards Platanias, in Kato Stalos,offering luxurious accommodation.Cretan Dream Royal is opposite (20 meters) of the beach of Kato Stalos and has access to the beach through an underground tunnel.Another feature of the Cretan Dream Royal hotel is the main fine-dining restaurant as well as an informal tavern with an a al carte menu. There is also an elegant pool bar with outside seating so you can enjoy a cocktail along with fabulous ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cretan Dream Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cretan Dream Royal Hotel Kato Stalos
Cretan Dream Royal Chania
Cretan Dream Royal Stalos, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing