We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OVERBOOKING - NIGHTMARE!!!! - food mediocre!”
Review of Cretan Dream Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cretan Dream Royal
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Stalos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

we have just got back from 2 weeks in Crete at Cretan Royal Dream which turned out to be a bit of a nightmare! we arrived after midnight to be given a story that a man had had a heart attack & his family needed the room we should have had till the following day. We were shown a room in the reception area (normally used for showering in during the day), which had narrow twin beds in & a shower room this had no windows at all & no air conditioning. We were hot & tired so I went in for a shower ( we were not happy as we had paid & booked for a double bedded suite with side sea view for 14 days not 13!) I then got locked in the shower room as the lock was broken. We decided that it was totally unacceptable as it was claustrophobic & went back to reception to ask to be sent to another hotel the male receptionist argued that it would only be for a few hours, only till 12 or 1 LUNCHTIME! so we said no & a taxi was booked to take us to another hotel approx 2km away. At approximately 11am we were rang up & told a taxi would collect us and our room was ready. we were then given a double bedded room with a sea/poolview. After 2 days we got talking to another 2 couples from Scotland who told us that they had to share a room for the first night as a child had had an accident & the parents needed their room for an extra night???? this made me think that we deserved at least an apology so I asked to see the manager, we were given an appointment to see Sofia the reservations manager, we went in and she said the reason we had no room on the first night was because she wanted to allocate us an upgraded room (better view) this was the only difference. I mentioned man with heart attack & she said that wasn't the reason. we were given no apology & were assured that the holiday would make us forget the first night...... it didn't! we didn't even get a drink or a meal to make up for it. Sofia was most unhelpful & had a very patronising attitude! obviously her skill as a reservations manager leaves a lot to be desired. We also had an altercation with the owner who was shouting at the staff in front of the guests & upsetting them, he did apologise for that & sent us a drink over. On the plus side we met some lovely people, the situation of the hotel overlooking the sea is lovely, the day time barman Mannalis was funny, helpful & very knowledgeable to talk to, the girls both around the pool & in the restaurant were delightful & the lady who cleaned our room was excellent (cleaned every day & towels arranged artistically on the bed daily). DON'T book half board the food is mediocre, cold & more or less the same menu weekly. Fresh fruit & yogurt good in the morning & salads good at night the rest was pretty bleak. this hotel does not warrant 5 stars at the moment, it is a 3 star hotel!!! We wont be back.

Room Tip: we had 404 EVENTUALLY! which had a great view. block on restaurant side much nicer as other block lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 538 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

The hotel....
The Staff were excellent as far as service was concerned,and the maid service kept the rooms as you would expect ,added extra with the towels won't, go into that as this was a pleasant surprise.
Bar staff excellent very courteous as with the staff serving meals..etc

On arrival we were told that a young lad had an accident and had to go to hospital and the parents had to stay in the rooms (we were allocated) for an extra stay,which meant we did not have a room on arrival..either go to another hotel or wait till they sorted you out .....the management put us up in a private suite with a pool, which meant being a party of four and two would have to sleep on the couches which they had made up prior to our arrival...this put us to a great inconvieniance stress and the loss of two days...... as we were only there for seven days...after debate for about half an hour we decided to stay in the room for the night and would not accept being moved to another hotel..it was (2.00pm the next day we got a room with an upgraded sea view )...it is quite sad that a five star hotel has to make excuses that people have been in an accident and taken to hospital to cover up being over booked .
This also happened to another couple and they said that a person had taken a heart attack and had to stay for an extra period in their room and they were taken to another hotel but there was further inconviniance to these people which was worse than our situation..

Evening meals:
Food very basic (mediocre) and luke warm and not pleaseant at times.. On a half board basis we had to go out on three occasions which put extra cost on the holiday.

Area:
External to the hotel has quite a bit of graffitti and abandoned premises . beach approximatelty 500 meters, but not recommended.. not very scenic and very rocky.

Apart from the above we made the best of our holiday and enjoyed what we had left.

Room Tip: Do not except any excuses on arrival about no rooms available and make sure that it is on the 3300/4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank norrie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We are family of three and we spent almost two weeks in this hotel at the end of August, on half board basis. We chosen this hotel based on customer reviewers. It was excellent value for money.

First of all many comments suggested that this is a good 4 star hotel rather than 5 star, as advertised, and we could not agree more.

Despite that we had quite enjoyable 12 nights at Cretan Dream Hotel.
Hotel design and size alone we found particularly nice to our taste.
Room was decent size, regularly cleaned and I would rather say spotless. Small but very handy, clean kitchenette. Nice size balcony.
Hotel exterior area was always well maintained, swimming pools (main and kids) regularly cleaned. Would mention nice view from infinitive pool and bar area. Bar was kept in order at all times.
Maybe a bit more night entertainment, live music etc, since not much to see around hotel.

Most of the day we spent at the sandy beach, 5min walk from hotel. Beach was basic but clean, looked after by lifeguards, some restaurants and bars, quite enough for our needs.

Breakfast and dinner served in outside restaurant we found very pleasant experience. Again, all very clean. It is self service restaurant. Good selection of Greek local wines at reasonable price. Could argue that food variations could be slightly better and self serving area improved and better organised.

Chania is 10min drive by bus (1.6 EUR one way), night bus running all night. Taxi 13 EUR.
Close to hotel would recommend restaurant Amethystos and Manousakis vinery in Vatolakkos village.

At the end would mention all hotel staff whose hard work was really appreciated by us. Many thanks to Cristina, Kiki, Rena, Nickie, Maria, Manoliss-restaurant manager, Manoliss and Nikkos-bar tenders, Hara, Andrea, Silvia, Valentina-room maid and receptionists Eleni and Joana.

Cheers

Family from London

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoran123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a great hotel, 5 star apart from the food!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Also concerns re over booking in hotel. This did not apply to our party, but to two other groups during our stay. Phone and make sure there is no problem with accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janice c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We could not ask for more from the room and facilities and the staff who guided us throughout our 10 days trip.The restaurant through is quite basic for a five star hotel with repetetive choices and poor service.Kiki and the rest of the team are the exception of the rule along with Ioanna and Eleni from reception.Thank you all :)))

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ioannaDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in the Cretan Dream Royal.

It is a big and beautiful resort hotel overlooking the sea. The architecture is great. The infinity pool is amazing. Our room was huge with a nice balcony over the pool. The location is very convenient : the beach is across the street, and the beautiful old city of Hania is 10 minutes away by car. There is a minimarket and an arcade games room in the hotel.

HOWEVER, a lot of details were quite disappointing regarding what we expected.
The staff was on average rather bad. They never said hello or goodbye when we walked through the hallway. Never got a smile from the waitresses of the restaurant or room service. One of them pretended we had ordered fresh orange juices in our breakfast (were we supposed to specify we wanted bottled juice??) and tried to charge us more money for that. The receptionist would not side with us and we had to bargain 20 min not to pay these imaginary extras.
I must say that Nikos the barman, the housekeeper, the valet and the young lady delivering drinks around the pool were nice and friendly though.

Furthermore, we got some out-of-date jam in the delivered breakfast (and got no flatware or napkins with it). I got mold on a tomato in my sandwich once. We had a leak in the bathroom creating a puddle around the toilets. A least 4 of the sunbeds around the pool were broken and hardly useable (these were also located in a muddy part of the grass). There were skin flakes in the pool (probably someone that peeled after a sun burn). They charge you 2$/day to use the safe in your own room (never seen that before). Etc...

This is just not what you expect from a luxury hotel, when you pay 200$ or more per night. As one other review said, you should not have high expectations. This hotel is clearly declining. I understand times are difficult, but a smile is free.
You can still go for the view and the location. I will not come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CatherineC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have just returned from a week's holiday at the Cretan Dream Royal and have nothing but praise for it. From the staff who cleaned our room (lovely smiling Maria, thank you) to the girls at breakfast and dinner (the warm and welcoming Kiki, Rena, Christina) and the two lovely poolside staff - ever so friendly and happy to help Manolis and Nikki.
Add to this a fabulous environment, pools, grassy areas for sitting in the shade, lovely bar and restaurant area. Spot on! The breakfast buffet every morning was abundant and delicious - eggs, bacon, tomatoes, Greek pastries, croissants, fruit, yoghurt, cheese, ham etc etc. Dinners were good, especially if you stick to the Greek speciality on offer ie moussaka, patischio, sousoukakia, always lots of salads to eat. This really does tick all the boxes for a wonderful and deeply relaxing holiday.
Located opposite the beach so you sit at the pool and look out to sea, with the island of Stalos in the distance. Bus rides into Chania take about 15 mins and cost 1.6 euros per person. Chania is a wonderful mix of Venetian architecture (the port area is beautiful) and modern Greece with some decent shops (Zara, Pull and Bear etc). We spent a couple of mornings exploring the back streets just behind the harbour front and found some wonderfully quirky shops.
We wished we could have stayed longer and we hope to return next year, maybe with our children. Many many thanks!
One more thing, we met some fab families who were staying at the same time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joannaheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalos
1.1 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#13 of 111 in Chania Town
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renieris Hotel
Renieris Hotel
#1 of 22 in Stalos
601 reviews
0.7 mi away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#6 of 31 in Agia Marina
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Domes Noruz Chania
Domes Noruz Chania
#1 of 11 in Kato Daratso
254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Panorama Hotel - Chania
2.3 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cretan Dream Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cretan Dream Royal

Address: Manousou Koundourou, Stalos, Crete 73110, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Stalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stalos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Stalos
#4 Family Hotel in Stalos
Price Range: $90 - $663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cretan Dream Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cretan Dream Royal is a new 5-star hotel, 6 km from Chania towards Platanias, in Kato Stalos,offering luxurious accommodation.Cretan Dream Royal is opposite (20 meters) of the beach of Kato Stalos and has access to the beach through an underground tunnel.Another feature of the Cretan Dream Royal hotel is the main fine-dining restaurant as well as an informal tavern with an a al carte menu. There is also an elegant pool bar with outside seating so you can enjoy a cocktail along with fabulous ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cretan Dream Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cretan Dream Royal Hotel Kato Stalos
Cretan Dream Royal Chania
Cretan Dream Royal Stalos, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing