We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff made our holiday memorable and special :)”
Review of Cretan Dream Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cretan Dream Royal
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Stalos
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent staff made our holiday memorable and special :)”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Fantastic hotel and excellent staff!
By chance we stopped for lunch and loved the hotel and service so much we stayed for three nights. Resturant and poolarea are fabulous with nice view of the sea and surrounding area.

We stayed two nighs in a familysuite with private pool and the last night in a familyroom with garden view. Nice spaceous airconditioned rooms with equipped kitchen.

We travelled together with our 10 month son and the hotel provided babybed upon arival.

If you travel alone, as a couple or as a family we can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    150
    40
    13
    11
See reviews for
120
274
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The staff of this hotel is sooo helpful and so nice that they make you forget the poor breakfast. Always willing to help, friendly and honest. The hotel is really clean if you especially have children. If you do not have high expectations, for example there is no conditioner in the bathroom, then this hotel is really good. Its only some details that they make it not a 5 star hotel. But believe me I had a beautiful time with all those people there (special thanks to Kiki and Rena, Manolis at the bar and the cleaners)
Elena - Cyprus

Room Tip: There is no Fitness centre nor a spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilenamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two weeks: two adults and two children. We really enjoyed our experience in the hotel. Overall, this is a high-end hotel with very good service, the personnel is really attempting to work hard in order to make hotel guests enjoy their time there. The cleaning was done very well. The rooms were spacious and nicely furnished (we had a double room with a separate bedroom for the adults).

Next to the hotel, there are a lot of restaurants in Kato Stalos -- we particularly enjoyed good food and family atmosphere in Dias, which is the first restaurant down the road from the hotel.
We had a couple of lunches in the hotel, but they did not turn out particularly well -- even simple salad and pizzas were taking more than an hour to prepare and on one occasion the food was partially cold. So we ate out most of our meals and didn't have a single disappointment.

The breakfast in the hotel was really good -- really wide choice, including fresh fruits. There were also some changes in foods, so it was rather easy to find something. The staff was extremely helpful and always listened to the kids' preferences regarding the fruits they would like to have.

Once a week, there is a Greek party taking place in the outside dining area. It can be an interesting experience. However, the party ended around 11 pm, so if you want a more quiet room, you might want to ask for a room not very close to the dining area. There is also a weekly oriental show, but that's further away from the dining area and most rooms.

The pools are nice, there is a children's pool and a bigger, eternity pool, which our kids also liked very much. The water in the pools is a little bit cool (to our liking), but good anyway -- the kids were spending really a lot of time in the water. The pool was never crowded and there were always free chairs next to it.

There is a good minimarket in the hotel and several minimarkets in Kato Stalos. Moreover, there are a couple of car rental places very close to the hotel. Please, use the chance to do some sightseeing as Crete has really a lot to offer.

If you prefer the beach, it is just on the opposite side of the road of the hotel -- please, use the underpass as it is safer. Our suggestion is to turn left from the underpass and go to the next row of umbrellas / chairs -- the bottom of the sea is much nicer with almost no stones (there are some more of those, if you pick the place to the right from underpass). The beach is very good with nice yellow sand.

Overall, this was an excellent hotel with really great staff and with the exception of couple of small things (lunches), we really enjoyed our experience there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Terhi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed for six nights at this hotel, when it was at full occupancy, but regardless it did not seem cramped or too busy not to be relaxing. The location is excellent, right opposite a beach and a 15 minute bus ride to town (EUR 1.60 each way or EUR10-15 for a taxi). There are a variety of local restaurants within a 2-10 minute walk and plenty of mini-supermarkets.

We found the service to be very good. Manolis, the Maitre D and his staff are pleasant, friendly and always helpful. The restaurant has an extensive menu, with both Greek and International food at reasonable prices and quality (the same as you would pay at the local restaurants down the road). The wine may be a bit more expensive but we felt better quality.

The amenities were excellent for adults and families, there are two pools including a children's pool with fabulous views. The pools are big enough to cater for numerous playing children and adults. The rooms are clean and simple. We had a view to the sea, and the room was quiet. The kitchen is basic but we felt not sufficient to cook anything substantial. The shower is prone to flooding but was a minor issue for us.

There is a car hire 2 minutes walk away from the hotel which was cheaper than what the hotel was offering and we drove to Elafonisi for the day (1.30-2 hours drive each way).

The hotel seems to cater the best for families but our party of two adults enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwimissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

All in all we had a great stay. They do not have a fitness centre, which they will build before the 2013 season. However nothing can beat a jog along that beach.

Neither a spa, which I do not miss at all.

But the location is great, with a really nice pool area overlooking the beach. The latter is easily accessible through a tunnel under a road,

Stalos has a more quiet, nice feel than some of the other resorts along the coast.

If any misgivings, service in the resturant was quite slow and the food not the most exiting. But that goes for all the hotels as far as I can tell.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HGravklev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in July after reading great reviews and loved our week here. Although we would class this more of a 4 star and rooms comparable to a 3 star, this had everything we needed for a perfect relaxing holiday. The grounds were beautifully maintained and there were always enough sun loungers at the pool. The staff were excellent at reception and breakfast and our rooms were kept so clean by the lovely girls who came in each day. There was also a shop on site which stocked everything you needed at the same price as a supermarket and the girl who ran this was also a delight to deal with. The rooms were quite basic but beds were extremely comfortable and the small kitchenette was an added bonus. We had a very relaxing holiday here. It is in a quiet area, but the bus stops outside the hotel and provides a very reliable, cheap and frequent service into Chania. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and hope to return again in the future. We also loved Maria's restaurant 5 minutes away and ate there several times on our holiday. A big thank you to all the lovely staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowTravelbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
720 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I have recently returned from 2 weeks here on a B & B basis. The whole place was very clean and the gardens well tended. The two receptionists were very helpful and spoke perfect English. We were in room 403 which looked over the outside dining area, the pools and the sea. We really liked this room. We could sit on our balcony and watch the sunset. Even on the Cretan night when the entertainment was right below us, the noise had all stopped by 10.30. This was the only night we ate in the hotel at 18euros each. It was ok but we did enjoy our evening meals out and about more. There are numerous places to eat if you turn left from the hotel and walk a few minutes. We booked a trip to Elfonisi through the hotel and it was half the price of the Thomson one. There is a file in the reception area with all things about the hotel which told you about the trips. There a couple of computers in the bar and the games room which are coin operated. One euro gets you 20mins but they are very slow.
The recycling takes place about 5.30am which woke us some mornings. About a 20 min walk right from the hotel is a little harbour with a church at the end and a van doing meals. We had lunch and a beer there. Breakfast was ok. Plenty of choice. The bus stops right outside the hotel. We went to Chania and Platanius. I do feel charging 15 euros a week for the safe is a bit tight and we also had to pay 5 euros each for pool towels which we changed every few days at reception. In hindsight we should have bought some down the road for about 6 euros and brought them home. We did enjoy it here. The staff were all friendly. We had a few short power cuts and one evening we were without water for about 15mins. The towel art got us down in the end. I like a towel when I get out of the shower to be in the bathroom not rolled up into something on the bed.

Room Tip: We were happy with 403. Nice to be able to watch things from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalos
0.1 mi away
Renieris Hotel
Renieris Hotel
#1 of 22 in Stalos
564 reviews
2.3 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#12 of 109 in Chania Town
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#5 of 109 in Chania Town
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Creta Palm
Creta Palm
#4 of 22 in Stalos
246 reviews
3.1 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort
Minoa Palace Resort
#1 of 69 in Platanias
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cretan Dream Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cretan Dream Royal

Property: Cretan Dream Royal
Address: Manousou Koundourou, Stalos, Crete 73110, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Stalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Stalos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stalos
#4 Family Hotel in Stalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cretan Dream Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cretan Dream Royal is a new 5-star hotel, 6 km from Chania towards Platanias, in Kato Stalos,offering luxurious accommodation.Cretan Dream Royal is opposite (20 meters) of the beach of Kato Stalos and has access to the beach through an underground tunnel.Another feature of the Cretan Dream Royal hotel is the main fine-dining restaurant as well as an informal tavern with an a al carte menu. There is also an elegant pool bar with outside seating so you can enjoy a cocktail along with fabulous ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cretan Dream Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cretan Dream Royal Hotel Kato Stalos
Cretan Dream Royal Chania
Cretan Dream Royal Stalos, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing