We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Cretan Dream Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cretan Dream Royal
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Stalos
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The Cretan Dream Royal is a lovely hotel just across the road from a sandy beach. Entertainment is limited, sorry, that should read non-existant while we stayed there. If you want evening entertainment, Platanias is a 10 euro taxi ride away, with bars and night life. Try the Rock House. Food is very nice at the hotel and the rooms are excellent with a small kitchenette. George, Mano and Efi at the bar are excellent fun. It's worth having a car as there's lots of places to see, and turning right out of the hotel, drive to the major traffic lights and turn left, it will bring you to a number of secluded sandy coves.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gthehornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    149
    40
    13
    11
See reviews for
120
274
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Just returned from this excellent hotel -the value for money was exceptional-the staff were helpful and friendly.Food in the supermarkets was very expensive so if you go half board you get value for money-we toured Crete and found the people very friendly -petrol was very dear -176 Euros .Yes the bathroom is badly designed but I would not let that put me off returning-

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kennetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Would recommend this hotel and would def go back there again next time we visit Crete. The rooms were very nice and had a lovely hide away kitchen, with all that you needed. We had a view of the sea and yes the road was quite busy but you didnt here any noise from our room. The rooms were cleaned every day and the maids made a lovely arrangement with our towels and put flowers on them every day.
The rest of the staff down to the receptionist, waitresses and bar staff were so friendly. There is plenty to do in the area and loads of restaurants but we stayed half board and plenty to eat. Lovely sandy beach which went on for miles with loads of places to eat and drink if you need too.
Chania bay is just lovely, loads of shops and places to eat and boat rides in the bay. Weather was really hot but last 2 days a bit more overcast but still very hot when the sun appeared.
Enjoyed every minute of it and wished we had booked longer than a week.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Following the reviews on trip advisor we can only say we were Overall we were a little disappointed. When we checked in as there is no porter we had to lug our suitcases up serval flights of stairs, after a long journey,not the best of greetings. The room is spacious and very clean. We had a 4th floor room and it had a sea view. The bathroom is unbelievably small for the size of the bed room. The shower has no curtain so you need to have the water flow on very low or risk flooding the room.
We were on half board so the evening meal is served outside if you choose. The service is buffet style. The food standard is good although the buffet set up is very cramped so it does involve queueing and the chaifers are so close together that only one person can get their food at any one time. When you finally get your food we were very disappointed that it was all luke warm.
We went towards the end of September when we expected the resort to be open. The hotel closed their beach so as all the sun beds were either reserved or taken we had to pay for beds on a nearby beach at a cost of 6 euros. They had also cancelled all evening entertainment. There were still adverts for the cretan evening but on the night it just did not happen. Lots of disappointment.
Whilst we were here one of the bedrooms was broken into and a necklace was stolen. Be sure to rent a safe although we do feel at a cost of 15 euros is a bit high. Not what is expected of 5 star!!!
The staff were very friendly and work very hard.
Overall we enjoyed our stay here although we do feel that some of the reviews do not paint a true picture.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wiganduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Really great hotel, not too big, rooms clean, maid putting fresh flowers in daily for us! Rooms had a little kitchenette with a full size fridge and full size kettle which was good. Road busy in front of hotel but no noise at night to disturb you. Beach right across the road and first cafe you come to after you cross is great. Service fantastic and greek salad made fresh for you 5 Euro. Infinity pool at the hotel really lovely looking out to the see. Some entertainment but not great but we didn't go there for that. Hotel small enough for staff to chat to you and made everyone feel very friendly. Eat out on the terrace at night and sit until you want to with a nice bottle of wine, no rish very relaxing. Breakfast the same self service but plenty to eat, lots of choice.
Would definitely go to this hotel again.
Nice taverna called Marias just down the road for a change of scene, with own veg garden, great welcome and good value.
Bus stop right outside the hotel to go to Chania, old harbour very pretty but watch the resturants on the front price high , quality not great. Some of the ones in the little back alleys were great however. Worth a trip to see Chania.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms face the sea or pool and the hotel is only 2 or 3 stories high. Sun on the balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Cretan Dream Royal aspires to be a very nice hotel. Our main problem with this hotel was our bathroom. The first day we checked in (late afternoon) - we had issues with the toilet. It would not stop running - it wouldn't flush - just continuously ran a small amount of water. The front desk explained that maintenance had gone for the day - but recommended we turn off the water to the toilet. This meant we had to use the bathrooms in the lobby. The other major problem was with the tub. It was a jacuzzi tub - but we only used it as a shower. The first time my husband took a shower, water leaked all over the floor. At first we thought water was escaping around the small shower curtain, but water continued to profusely leak, despite our best efforts with the curtain. We again called the front desk - we needed more towels as we had used almost every towel we had to mop up the floor. The next day they had placed 2 towel mats in our room, but the problem still continued. What we discovered was the caulking between the tub and the wall was the culprit. The strip of plastic that should have been caulked tightly had come loose, so water was getting between the wall and the tub and coming out from underneath the tub.

I will say that we found the staff to be very pleasant. However due to the problems, I would not choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haegele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I went to Cretan Dream with my wife and 17 year old daughter in July 2011 and we had a wonderful two weeks there.

The staff is excellent; very friendly and service-minded. The pool area is spacious and clean. We thought that the breakfast buffet was very nice.
We had dinner at the restaurant a few times and the food and service was very good. We also tried the buffet one night and that was OK as well.

Our room did not have a view. It was spacious and clean but really not a 5-star room. We tried to do an upgrade before we traveled but they said it would be 35-45 Euros extra per night which we thought were a bit expensive…

In the evenings we did not spend too much time in Stalos but rather took the bus or taxi to Chania. It is a nice city with many good restaurants and some shopping opportunities.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wwwhef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalos
0.1 mi away
Renieris Hotel
Renieris Hotel
#1 of 22 in Stalos
563 reviews
2.3 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#12 of 109 in Chania Town
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#5 of 109 in Chania Town
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Creta Palm
Creta Palm
#4 of 22 in Stalos
245 reviews
3.1 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort
Minoa Palace Resort
#1 of 69 in Platanias
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cretan Dream Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cretan Dream Royal

Property: Cretan Dream Royal
Address: Manousou Koundourou, Stalos, Crete 73110, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Stalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stalos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Stalos
#4 Family Hotel in Stalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cretan Dream Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cretan Dream Royal is a new 5-star hotel, 6 km from Chania towards Platanias, in Kato Stalos,offering luxurious accommodation.Cretan Dream Royal is opposite (20 meters) of the beach of Kato Stalos and has access to the beach through an underground tunnel.Another feature of the Cretan Dream Royal hotel is the main fine-dining restaurant as well as an informal tavern with an a al carte menu. There is also an elegant pool bar with outside seating so you can enjoy a cocktail along with fabulous ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cretan Dream Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cretan Dream Royal Hotel Kato Stalos
Cretan Dream Royal Chania
Cretan Dream Royal Stalos, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing