We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous family hotel”
Review of Renieris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renieris Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Stalos
Certificate of Excellence
Kissonerga
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous family hotel”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Have been here a week now an the hotel is fabulous. George and Stella have been fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble. Will definitely come back here. Small 22 room hotel on a hill overlooking Porto Stalls only 7 k from Chania. Service and rooms are excellent. Have met lots of repeat clients while we have been here and we will join their ranks.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    83
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
79
377
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Firstly - have to agree with a previous reviewer - the shower cubicle is a tiny bit compact, can't think of any other downsides.
The hotel is in a wonderful location - up on the hill with a magnificent view - well worth the extra for the sea view. Everything is immaculate, from the bedroom to the pool via the gardens the whole hotel is spotlessly clean.
Georgios and his mother are perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble and they are always around, friendly and helpful. Breakfast is on the terrace near the pool where you can gaze out across the sea, enjoy the sun and Stella will cook your eggs to order.
There's not too much going on in Stalos except for the beach but Chania is a lovely town easily accessible by bus, 10 mins away 1.60 euros. with plenty of places to eat.
Georgios is also quite happy to arrange excursions, we had two excellent days out, a day trip to Knossus and walking down the Samaria Gorge - this last one is a real experience and when we arrived back at the hotel Stella was happy to take our order and have a lovely meal ready for us after we had showered and changed.
Thanks you Georgios and Stella for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Choose a Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlandmoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have enjoyed a fantastic 10 day break. The hospitality and service was excellent, we (I) managed to loose a very important gold ring on our last day but within a short time we received an
e-mail from the hotel to say that it had been found, such honesty is so refreshing. The location is ideal for exploring the west of the island and the owners are very helpful with recommendations.

Room Tip: Sea view are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romania_peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pontypool
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife and I have just arrived home after a fantastic 2 week stay at this hotel. I booked it purely on what fellow reviewers have said and boy we were not disappointed in any way. I have never in my life thus far experienced such a good nights sleep in any hotel room. We had room 16 sea view which overlooked the road but the double glazing really worked too.

There is nothing to fault with this place whatsoever. Trust me. The views are stunning.

Only warning : If you do as we did and book transfers to and from the airport using resort hoppa or similar, they will drop you on the main road below the hotel as the access road to it is not bus friendly. We found ourselves with 2x large and 2x hand suitcases at 0130hrs and having to climb the 97 steps up to the hotel. I can assure you, although my wife hated the steps, I never moaned once as long as I was suitcase free.

Georgio will collect your bags and drop them back down for you but I wouldn't expect this kindness at unreasonable hours. I would get a taxi from the airport next time or hire a car. Resort hoppa also offer private transfers.

Staff are fantastic and are always busy whilst at the same time being extremely attentive and friendly. Breakfast selection is quite vast and eggs done fresh to order at the counter.

In fact we also had quite a few other meals in too. Nothing is too much bother, we got into afternoon snacks of beautiful sweet fresh tomatoes crusty bread cheese slices olive oil which is awesome. Yum missing this already. This was not on the menu but just an indicator of what they will do for you.

When you go, and you must! Local road trains do some great trips up into local villages and attractions. We did Grand Canyon & Seven villages one at 17e each.

Chania harbour is a must too. Stunning.

Avoid bus tour of Chania rip off I thought. Local flyers had stops at Souda Bay War Memorial but it didn't as operators altered routes. Advertised as 24hr ticket with 13 stops hop on hop off but I only saw two official stops on tour and they charge 15e each.

They give you cheap earphones to listen to commentary one ear didn't work and volume was useless with crackling.

Oh and mind you dont get injured on top deck as sides are open and they go down some narrow roads with branches actually hitting you if you're not careful.

Only good thing was view climbing mountains looking back down over Chania for photo shoot and dropping down into Souda Bay.

Eating out, Marko's is a must and different experience.

Maria's alright but a tad hit & miss tbh. Dined there four times. First time was average and unfortunately so was our last meal. Not warm enough and old soggy fries.

Piramis which is part of Rose hotel very good. Then further up managed to find Italiano which was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for any with a sea view. It's worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcb180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Well, what more can be said! Hotel has the most stunning views with beautiful sunsets from your balcony (sea view room, well worth the extra). Never found the steps down to street level any problem, in fact helped to work off all those calories from the lovely food found in nearby restaurants. Never met such nice hosts as Stella and Georgious, keep up the good work you two!! Breakfast was always plentiful with eggs cooked to order, speciality coffees also on request. Food/snacks also available all day, Stella's home made chips are the best, also offer same snack menu as room service, with no extra cost, first hotel I've visited that does that. It was our first visit to crete, 17/05/14, but certainly won't be the last and would not hesitate to stay at the Renieris on our next visit. What are you waiting for, go ahead and book, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maria495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is superbly well kept. Every thing is absolutly clean and in order: the room, the garden, the pool, etc... We had a nice surprise at our arrival: we were offered the suite for 3 days. What a treat! The view from the rooms and balcony is astonishing. Breakfast is free and very good: you can ask for extras (special coffees, eggs, etc...). Very nice staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GilbertMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Melford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Firstly the cons, a small shower cubicle! That's it!!! The pros are endless but here are a few! It's run by the hardest working family you are ever likely to meet! Giorgos, the son, does almost everything, reception,cooking,maintenance,local guide, nothing too much trouble. Stella,mum, works morning to nite cooking delightful food. The hotel is located high on a cliff with nearly 100 steps down to main beach and road, but with super views to Chania and west to Stalos and beyond. The whole hotel and outside areas are spotless and when you put the whole package together it ain't 2star so go and have some real Cretan hospitality!!! Not suitable for children.

Room Tip: Either mountain or sea views but would ask for the upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caz35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalos
3.5 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
101.0 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.3 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cretan Dream Royal
Cretan Dream Royal
#2 of 22 in Stalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.3 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
30.9 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 165 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renieris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renieris Hotel

Property: Renieris Hotel
Address: 1 Psathi Hill, Stalos, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Stalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Stalos
#1 Family Hotel in Stalos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stalos
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Renieris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renieris Hotel in Kato Stalos sits upon a hill with a spectacular view of Kato Stalos beachfront, the Theodorou island and the blue Aegean Sea and only 200 meters away from the sandy beach. Enjoy beautiful sunsets while bathing in our custom pool with a separate children's pool. Our amphitheater-style design captures sea views in almost all of our rooms. Our hotel is family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renieris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renieris Hotel Kato Stalos
Renieris Hotel Stalos, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing