We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful short break!”
Review of Renieris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renieris Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Stalos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Well - what can I say?!

A couple of weeks ago, my husband and I decided to book a long-weekend. After looking at a weekend in London, we realised we could grab a Ryanair flight from Bristol and stay at the Renieris Hotel in Crete for an extra day, and for less money!

We've never been to Crete before, so this was a good "taster" trip to see if we liked it.

We were NOT disappointed!!!

We arrived (with ResortHoppa) in the early-hours of Sunday morning. The hotel proprietor - Giorgios - had left our key behind the reception desk for us, as he'd previously confirmed via email.

The room (27) was spotless - similar to a room in a Travelodge - with a balcony, sea view (plus a spectacular view of the small island Agios Theodoros), wardrobe, fridge, air con and LED TV.
Comfortable bed and linen. A safe is available for 1 Euro per day if required.

Breakfast is served in a small covered pool-bar area, by Giorgios and Stella. Fresh bread, jams, eggs, a range of cereal and fruit and salad items are on offer, along with tea, coffee and fruit juices. Plenty to choose from, and all nice quality. There is also a lunch menu available, and (lovely) tzatsiki, pizzas, omelettes, salads etc. are on offer at very reasonable prices.

As for Giorgios himself...well - just read the other reviews. They're not wrong. He is - without doubt - the friendliest, most accommodating hotelier I've ever met. Nothing is too much trouble, his English is impeccable (as is his German!), and he just adds to the lovely atmosphere of the place. Other hoteliers should go and learn from him!

We relaxed as soon as we got there - and that was the idea of the mini-break! The weather was variable, but that meant there was a good opportunity to get over to the old town of Chania - just E1.60 on the local bus, which runs every half hour or so throughout the day. Chania is a lovely old town with plenty of tavernas and cafes along the harbour.

Kato Stalos itself is a reasonable place. It was quiet when we went...in the evenings, we didn't pass a soul walking to or from the town! There is clearly some development going on in the area, but it doesn't look like it's going to be overrun with hotels.

In all, we had a fantastic time, and we wouldn't hesitate to go back to Crete, to Stalos, or to this hotel.

I hope we have the pleasure of meeting Giorgios again in the not too distant future! Thank you for making our short break a very happy one!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have some very nice views...ask for one with a covered balcony in case of rain!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Julie-Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 601 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Renieris and would highly recommend it. Our holiday was in October and despite the lateness of the season there were still enough guests to give the hotel some atmosphere.

Location is on a hilltop with great views over either sea or mountains. Not great for the mobility challenged as there are lots of steps to get down to the taverna and shops of Kato Stalos, or the bus into Chania. A car is recommended to get the most out of the area.

Pretty, well kept gardens surround the hotel and the pool area has wonderful views, although can be windy. Spotlessly clean, the room was basic but comfortable - bed a bit hard!

Breakfast was plentiful and includes local produce, which is fresh and includes Cretan specialities. We sampled the room service too which, despite the limited menu was tasty and great value for money.

The very best thing about the Renieris is the cheerful and efficient service of your host Giorgos, Stella and the staff. Nothing is too much trouble and Giorgos is a mine of useful information. There is so much to see and do within easy reach and advice can be invaluable.

Looking forward to visiting again sometime.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank hirstilini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed in Creete at this hotel and we were very satisfied. The position is optimal with a great view; the hotel is run perfectly, simple but clean rooms and well organized. Private parking. Good breakfast with different choices. From here we were able to go to different beaches on the island easily. The price is extremely convenient, we were trated with kindness and we were surprised it was rated with only two stars it sure deserves more. Perhaps just one minor problem was the bed that was a bit small but considering the price it was more than ok.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DebbieMartire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We needed somewhere to stay near Chania airport and chose this hotel. Not really near but we had a car, so no problem. There is parking in the grounds but limited space and up a steep incline to the hotel. The obvious advantages of being in an elevated position means cooler air and lovely views. There are steps down to the street, turn left at the bottom to walk 10 minutes into the town. Work off the calories after dinner by walking back.

Room Tip: Most have a balcony over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Misheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgios R, Owner at Renieris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guests ,
Thank you all for your kind words and feedback this year once again ! There is no greater satisfaction, as a customer service professional, than receiving kind words from valued guests. Providing good and friendly guest service is a hallmark of our property and I am especially pleased to read that you felt this commitment during your stay.

It was my pleasure to share your positive experience with our team. They truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you, and we all look forward to your return.
During the next two years we will follow a renovation plan in order to set a higher standard of services as we will apply for a three star registration .

For the new upcoming season we decided for some essential changes to improve our customer satisfaction:

New softer, thicker and more comfortable mattresses from one of the leading manufactures. All our rooms will be now on Twin beds rooms and we will have the possibility, if a client request for a double bed , to add a double bed topper.With this solution we will create the experience of a king size bed .

One brand new junior suite which will be located on the first floor where the former breakfast room was .This suite is 55 m2 big and it will be decorated with a fresh new look that we will adopt in all of our rooms in the future renovation .

New 32 inch LED Tvs with more satellite channels

More rich and more freshness in our Breakfast .It will be served in a new place near the pool at our pool bar .We will enrich our buffet with more products and we will get supplied most of our products,if not all ,from local producers and market .

New linen and towels from one of the oldest and leading companies in Greece (Athina -Moutalaski)

We will try to continue and focus to our aim : offering inexpensive and clean accommodation combined with a friendly family approach to our guests .

Thank you all for your time and wish you all the best !

Merry Christmas

Georgios Renieris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The Hotel Ranieris exceeds all expectations when you read the reviews and see the photos.

Yes it is up nearly 90 steps from the beach, but what a hotel.

the Ranieris is owned by Stella and Georgios Ranieris both of whom have excellent other language skills. They are friendly, welcoming to all their guests and for whom they cannot do
enough.

the Ranieris is on a hill overlooking the beach of Kato Stalos, with Chania to the West and the beach and mountains in front of and behind it. Glorious views.

The rooms are well furnished and very comfortable and so so clean. The whole hotel is clean and comfortable with a lobby with a small library and internet. The breakfast room has views over the sea, the village of Kato Stalos and the mountains. ~The breakfast is great.

The gardens here are lovely and full of flowers and shrubs with perfume. The pool is spotless and there is a small outdoor bar with food and again, those glorious views.

Room service is on offer here and the food is excellent and very good value for money too. I
recommend the Greek Salad and the Dokas with oven baked potatoes. Scrumptious.

The beach all along the village is directly across the road from the hotel and is reached via lots and lots of steps, the only drawback to the hotel. However, Georgious or Stella will drive you down if the steps are impossible.

the village of Kato Stalos is 5km. from lovely Chania and bus run along every 30 minutes like clockwork and are very cheap. The village itself boasts a great Taverna called Maria's which serves authentic Greek food and is very good value. There is also the patisserie and a pharmacy if one is needed.

The beach is lovely and clean as is the water here and in high season sunbeds and umbrellas are available for hire.

This hotel is definitely a good place to stay and the repeat visits year on year of clients is the proof of this.

We have booked our stay for 2014 already and looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view with evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniemike9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Reineris Experience

The warm friendly staff of Hotel Renieris made us feel very welcome for our whole week's stay. Nothing was too much trouble for Giorgiso or Stella.

The hotel is extremely clean, not a speck of dirt to be found and the view (from all rooms) is beautiful.

The breakfasts were yummy. A good mix of Greek (including local Cretan) food and more traditional breakfasty toast, cereal, eggs, etc.

The hotel amenities are basic, but really that was all we needed for the week. We swam in the pool a few times despite the freezing temperature of the water. It was only later in the week that we realised the sea (only 3-4 mins walk) was much warmer!

Aside from the incredible food (we loved the proper Cretan restaurants that serve local goat, seafood, etc), the lasting experience we had of Crete were the warm friendly people. The genuine smiles of the people we met. Proper full face smiles instead of the mouth-only gestures that you would get from a stranger elsewhere.

We cannot thank Giorgios and Stella enough for a great week. We felt like we made friends whilst we were there and we highly recommend Hotel Renieris if you are staying in the Chania area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicezeitgeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed here for 1 week in mid Oct on a late deal. This hotel is SPOTLESS, never stayed anywhere that's as clean as this! It's family run and they do all they can to ensure you have a fabulous stay. We stayed in a lovely room on the corner of the building, fantastic views from the balcony and room. They provide handwash and shower gel in rooms, and there's a mini fridge and safe (big enough for standard size laptops), the safe was only 1 euro per day. Air con was free for duration of our stay. The complimentary buffet breakfast was lovely and there's free tea/coffee on tap all day. Free internet (wi-fi in rooms and around the pool) and a PC in reception you can use also. Pool was lovely size, views amazing, grounds are spotless, and the pool bar is well stocked - the local white wine at 3 euros a carafe was fabulous! Great home cooked food available, the roast potatoes with rosemary out of this world! 10 min walk to restaurants (bars are further away in Aghia Marina & Platantias). The stairs down (around 95 of them) keep you fit but not suitable for those with walking difficulties. We hired a car from the place next to Maria's restaurant. Ate at Maria's a couple of times, nice wholesome food. All in all a lovely place to get away from it all.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing and have fab views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelittle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalos
0.1 mi away
Cretan Dream Royal
Cretan Dream Royal
#2 of 22 in Stalos
538 reviews
1.3 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#13 of 111 in Chania Town
553 reviews
1.3 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.8 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
3.5 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
567 reviews
30.9 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renieris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renieris Hotel

Address: 1 Psathi Hill, Stalos, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Stalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Stalos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stalos
#1 Family Hotel in Stalos
Price Range: $44 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Renieris Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renieris Hotel in Kato Stalos sits upon a hill with a spectacular view of Kato Stalos beachfront, the Theodorou island and the blue Aegean Sea and only 200 meters away from the sandy beach. Enjoy beautiful sunsets while bathing in our custom pool with a separate children's pool. Our amphitheater-style design captures sea views in almost all of our rooms. Our hotel is family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renieris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renieris Hotel Kato Stalos
Renieris Hotel Stalos, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing